Hacking Shall I Update my Wii?

That-Guy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
82
Trophies
0
Website
www.chrislowthian.co.uk
XP
65
Country
OK my Wii is running 4.0 but was looking at upgrading to 4.2 to see if it will allow me to play all the newer games like Rock Band Beatles and Guitar Hero 5.

My Current Wii setup is:

- System Menu 4.0
- Preloader 0.29
- cIOSCORP 3.3
- Homebrew Channel

My Questions are:

I was going to update using the Nintendo Update, is this safe with the things I have installed like preloader etc?

Does the latest cIOSCORP work with 4.2?

I was going to follow this guide: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901 Can I install cIOSCORP after following this guide?
 

fishears

fishears
Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
696
Trophies
0
Website
code.google.com
XP
126
Country
That guide is great - I used it and it was flawless. I don't use cIOSCORP though so I can't comment there but for USB loading its all done for you in the guide. I upgraded using the official Ninty updater - no problems - if you're putting preloader back on after you upgrade then you don't need to do anything. Otherwise I'd recommend using nandclean to remove the traces left behind...
 

xzxero

♥bong milk does good for the brain♥
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
3,831
Trophies
0
Age
13
Location
SB
Website
Visit site
XP
322
Country
United States
run the cioscorp uninstaller

then use the safe updater 4.2

then reinstall cioscorp
but i suggest you dont just yet
it doesnt have the best compatability with newer games
so stick to neogamma until halloween when cioscorp 3.5 gets released.
 

Robj1969

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Location
UK
XP
43
Country
If you just want play GH5 and rock band....stick GH5 in and run the update from the disc and voila both games should play without having to faff about going to 4.2 FW

Did same thing on my mates 3.4E last night
 

ChambersNow

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 27, 2009
Messages
49
Trophies
1
XP
450
Country
United States
Tell me how it goes. I am currently on 4.1 and have the following installed;

bootmii
preloader .29
waninkoko's CIOS rev 12
HBC

Here's where my concern is that I haven't seen talked about in the guides. If I use the safe updater, then it installs the new menu which runs off a different IOS. If preloader tries to run the menu from the old IOS then I have a brick. So I guess what do I do first? Remove preloader entirely before doing anything? If so how do I even do that? Is there a preloader removal tool? That's my concern, don't really want a brick so I have been holding off
smile.gif
Let me know how you end up doing it
 

xzxero

♥bong milk does good for the brain♥
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
3,831
Trophies
0
Age
13
Location
SB
Website
Visit site
XP
322
Country
United States
ChambersNow said:
Tell me how it goes. I am currently on 4.1 and have the following installed;

bootmii
preloader .29
waninkoko's CIOS rev 12
HBC

Here's where my concern is that I haven't seen talked about in the guides. If I use the safe updater, then it installs the new menu which runs off a different IOS. If preloader tries to run the menu from the old IOS then I have a brick. So I guess what do I do first? Remove preloader entirely before doing anything? If so how do I even do that? Is there a preloader removal tool? That's my concern, don't really want a brick so I have been holding off
smile.gif
Let me know how you end up doing it
thats good that your taking precautions

when you run the safe updater
it will install the 4.2 system menu.

installing any system menu automatically removes preloader.

so your not going to have preloader when you finish updating
your going to have to reinstall it.

and the new preloader .30 have an uninstaller built in
just press - to uninstall
and + to install
 

That-Guy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
82
Trophies
0
Website
www.chrislowthian.co.uk
XP
65
Country
xzxero said:
ChambersNow said:
Tell me how it goes. I am currently on 4.1 and have the following installed;

bootmii
preloader .29
waninkoko's CIOS rev 12
HBC

Here's where my concern is that I haven't seen talked about in the guides. If I use the safe updater, then it installs the new menu which runs off a different IOS. If preloader tries to run the menu from the old IOS then I have a brick. So I guess what do I do first? Remove preloader entirely before doing anything? If so how do I even do that? Is there a preloader removal tool? That's my concern, don't really want a brick so I have been holding off
smile.gif
Let me know how you end up doing it
thats good that your taking precautions

when you run the safe updater
it will install the 4.2 system menu.

installing any system menu automatically removes preloader.

so your not going to have preloader when you finish updating
your going to have to reinstall it.

and the new preloader .30 have an uninstaller built in
just press - to uninstall
and + to install

That's great thanks.

So now I guess I should just wait for cIOSCORP 3.5 and will go ahead
smile.gif
 

xzxero

♥bong milk does good for the brain♥
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
3,831
Trophies
0
Age
13
Location
SB
Website
Visit site
XP
322
Country
United States
That-Guy said:
That's great thanks.

So now I guess I should just wait for cIOSCORP 3.5 and will go ahead
smile.gif
3.5 will be good
ive tried throwing many new games at the beta version and its working flawless.
def worth the wait.
 

That-Guy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
82
Trophies
0
Website
www.chrislowthian.co.uk
XP
65
Country
xzxero said:
That-Guy said:
That's great thanks.

So now I guess I should just wait for cIOSCORP 3.5 and will go ahead
smile.gif
3.5 will be good
ive tried throwing many new games at the beta version and its working flawless.
def worth the wait.

Excellent Stuff looking forward to it even more now. Has it fixed the mario kart not working problem that some people had with 3.4 (read that somewhere)
 

xzxero

♥bong milk does good for the brain♥
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
3,831
Trophies
0
Age
13
Location
SB
Website
Visit site
XP
322
Country
United States
That-Guy said:
Excellent Stuff looking forward to it even more now. Has it fixed the mario kart not working problem that some people had with 3.4 (read that somewhere)
yes it has
plus much more games too
like metroid prime triology and whatnot.
 

That-Guy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
82
Trophies
0
Website
www.chrislowthian.co.uk
XP
65
Country
xzxero said:
That-Guy said:
Excellent Stuff looking forward to it even more now. Has it fixed the mario kart not working problem that some people had with 3.4 (read that somewhere)
yes it has
plus much more games too
like metroid prime triology and whatnot.


Thanks mate you have been more than helpful will keep an eye out for cIOSCORP 3.5
smile.gif
 

ChambersNow

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 27, 2009
Messages
49
Trophies
1
XP
450
Country
United States
xzxero said:
thats good that your taking precautions

when you run the safe updater
it will install the 4.2 system menu.

installing any system menu automatically removes preloader.

so your not going to have preloader when you finish updating
your going to have to reinstall it.

and the new preloader .30 have an uninstaller built in
just press - to uninstall
and + to install

Aha! Well I guess that answers it, thanks so much xzxero ! I will then wait for the new CIOS 3.5 to be released and will start the update. That's much simpler than anticipated
smile.gif
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Damn