Setting up the EZFlash IV for DS Lite

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Diosoth, Jan 3, 2009.

Jan 3, 2009
  1. Diosoth
    OP

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    I have ordered this-

    http://www.realhotstuff.com/ezflash-size-p-294.html


    I selected Priority Mail. It shipped Friday morning, so I should have it Monday. I have a DS Lite and an Acekard 2. What, exactly, will I need to do to set the device up to work properly? Does the AK have its own slot-2 GBA cart loader? I've read the review here and an EZFlash wiki, but the setup directions for both seem a bit outdated, now that we have slot-1 cards out and no need for special loader devices.
     
  2. IceRentoraa29

    Member IceRentoraa29 Don't get in between a kid and his ice cream cone.

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    The Land of Wuz AKA: Kuromi
    Country:
    United States
    You don't need the Acekard to set it up at all. Before you do anything, however, make sure you charge the EZFlash 4's battery by leaving it in a turned on plugged DS for 6-8 hours. Meanwhile, download this loader and the EZ4 Client and make sure you format your SD card with Panasonic's SD card formatter to FAT. After the battery is charged, place the loader on the root of your SD card, place the SD card back into the EZ4 and run it by holding the R button on your DS while turning it on. After it's finished writing to the EZ4, you can start patching your games with the EZ4 client. Make sure your SD card is connected to your computer first, then have the client point to your SD card so you can write the games to it after patching.

    *If you're going to have more than 50 games on your cart, it's best to make folders to separate them so you'll be able to see them all.
    *Also make sure you rename your games with shorter filenames as to reduce the chance for save errors.
    *(For Pokemon players) If you want an error free Pokemon playing experience, make sure to do the following:
    • For Ruby/Sapphire, make sure you have a clean rom, remove the MUGS intro if necessary by applying one of the patches found here, *trim it, and apply the clock fix with GBATA but don't apply the SRAM patch with it!. Run the clock-fixed file in the EZ4 client, but don't apply the reset patch.
      For Fire Red/Leaf Green/Emerald, again, make sure you have a clean rom, *trim it with GBATA (make sure not to SRAM patch it!) and run the rom through the EZ4 client without applying the reset patch. (if your wondering why I'm telling you to run Emerald this way, it's because the clock fix can't be applied with GBATA on it and as far as I know there's no patch made for it yet, so even though you'll get the error message about time-based events at the beginning of the game, it will save fine.
      *trimming will allow you run the games through the PSRAM instead of having to burn them to the NOR first*
    Once you're done, place the SD card back in the EZ4, load it up, and everything should start up fine. Also, if you want to burn a large game to the NOR memory, select the game you want to burn and press Select and confirm with A (it's slow writing, but the game will load faster) then when you want to erase it, just go to the game you wrote and press Select and confirm with A. Enjoy [​IMG]
     
  3. Diosoth
    OP

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    All I can do until the mail arrives is to put the loader onto my SD stick.

    Any idea on how long a maximum file name can be?


    On a side question, any clue if Drill Dozer will run properly on this? The cartridge was specialized with a rumble motor. I know Boktai and others will be right out due to specialized cartridge designs, but Drill Dozer was just rumble.
     
  4. IceRentoraa29

    Member IceRentoraa29 Don't get in between a kid and his ice cream cone.

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    The Land of Wuz AKA: Kuromi
    Country:
    United States
    I think as long as you don't leave them the default names the client gives them it will be fine. As for Drill Dozer, I can't help you there as I've never played it.
     
  5. Diosoth
    OP

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    Drill Dozer runs fine on an emulator, so I'll try it.

    What I find unfortunate, though, is that my current list of 32 ROMs is only about 340 MB. Horribly underdone for my 2 GB card. Even if I throw in more games that I'm unlikely to play, I'd still be lucky to reach 500 MB. Wondier if I can sue the free space for other things? I know there is GBA homebrew...
     
  6. Diosoth
    OP

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    The device finally arrived today. I have it in the DS, turned on, to charge the battery as per your instructions. I will mess with the firmware and ROMs when that's done, roughly 11 PM EST tonight.
     

Share This Page