1. Seriel

    OP Seriel Doing her best
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3,210
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey, is there a way to set up a Wi-Fi hotspot using my Laptop which is connected to WiFi?
    Also, it must be with WEP security so that my DS can connect.
     
  2. eosia

    eosia GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    You will need a second Wi-Fi card.
     
  3. TotalInsanity4

    TotalInsanity4 GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    10,811
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, you'll either need to set up a wired connection or get a cheap second card/USB dongle. Wifi devices can only broadcast or receive a connection at any given time, not both
     
  4. barronwaffles

    barronwaffles GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    Syria
    You can do this on *nix/BSD with a compatible wireless adapter - wouldn't have a clue if it's possible to set this up on Windows though.
     
  5. TotalInsanity4

    TotalInsanity4 GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    10,811
    Country:
    United States
    It is, through the network setup panel
     
  6. barronwaffles

    barronwaffles GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    Syria
    Then you might want to inform Jackus how.


    Edit :
    A cursory googling about hosting on the same adapter as a client for Windows seems to provide some stories about a software solution called 'Connectify' - but from what I understand that utilizes the built-in hosted network feature, so sadly it's probably WPA2 only.
     
    Last edited by barronwaffles, Dec 9, 2015
  7. TotalInsanity4

    TotalInsanity4 GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    10,811
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, sorry, I thought you meant hosting from a secondary card, I didn't even know it was possible to host a network from the same card you were recieving a connection from
     
  8. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,708
    Country:
    To the best of my knowledge, Windows only supports client mode, ad-hoc mode, and AP mode for network controllers. Hybrid modes for a single NIC isn't supported, only bridging between two NICs (so one in client mode to the router AP, and one in either ad-hoc or AP mode to other clients).

    I know Linux allows greater control over the networking stack, but I've never heard it allowing hybrid modes. But I don't know enough Linux to comment.

    I'm curious why the other clients can't just access the same AP your laptop uses. I would guess university or hotel WiFi, which might have stricter access requirements, but there are tools/dongles designed to help with those exact cases.
     
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - connected, Setting, hotspot