1. lufeig

    lufeig GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Brazil
    that's really weird... i mean, my case is weird.

    i do have a samsung s2 500gb hdd and it works perfectly with my wii. am i the only one here?

    i used it wbfs formatted flawlessly, now i'm using it fat32 formatted. no issues at all.

    wii: lu64, sysmenu 4.1u, softmodded, cioscorp 3.5, cios 222 & 223 installed

    s2 500gb: made in korea, october 2009, rated +5V 0.85A

    i live in BRAZIL, both items were bought in brazil, in the black/unnoficial/parallel market.

    i bought this drive mainly because its price, and because the white case with blue lights matched exactly the wii colors!

    maybe i'm just lucky? i didn't read any compatibility list before buying it...

    if i can help in any way, feel free to ask!
     
  2. bulldog36

    bulldog36 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Lufeig

    Did you install cios38 Rev 14? How did you install Hermes cios 222 & 223? Which WBFS program to format it?
     
  3. Sonic0509

    OP Sonic0509 Sometimes I'm Maryushi3
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Poland
    I've got cIOS38 newest from Waninkoko and v4 from Hermes(222/233). I've used many WBFS apps and no one works for me. I've also tried with FAT32 loading(HBC/USB Loader) and still don't work.
     
  4. BanditKing

    BanditKing Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Return it and buy another brand

    I used a toshiba external and it works great, even turns it self off when the wii is done!
     
  5. bulldog36

    bulldog36 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Can you tell me what Toshiba model you're using? Whether it is 2.5" or 3.5"
     
  6. lufeig

    lufeig GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Brazil
    yes, cios38 r14 is installed. i don't remember how cios 222 & 223 was installed, i used cios installer or multicios, i'm not sure... here's a guide any if needed: hxxp://gwht.wikidot.com/hermes-ios222-223/

    i used wbfs manager 3.0, but now i'm using it formatted in fat32. iso games are converted to wbfs using wbfs_file Simple Gui 1.0.9
     
  7. BanditKing

    BanditKing Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Simpletech

    3.5
     
  8. TeenTin

    TeenTin GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,246
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    I have Samsung S1 mini 250G.

    Exactly the same issue. Damn !
     
  9. Wizardtm

    Wizardtm Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've got the same problem. An Samsung S2 which isn't working at all [​IMG]
    Thought I've read that the S2's would work with the Wii but apparently I'm mistaken [​IMG]

    Nobody knows why the drives aren't working ? due to power or other issues ?
     
  10. BenieUK

    BenieUK GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Me too
     
  11. lufeig

    lufeig GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Brazil
    this is really strange, because the 3 S2 500GB hdd's i've bought (one for me, one for my brother-in-law, one for his cousin) work flawlessly.

    maybe there's something different in the batch that was sent to brazil, i don't know.

    hope i could help, but this doesn't seem to be software related...
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Samsung, 500GB,