Running Wiikey

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by CPOStudios, Feb 5, 2008.

Feb 5, 2008

Running Wiikey by CPOStudios at 1:46 AM (992 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. CPOStudios
    OP

    Newcomer CPOStudios Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I installed a Wiikey, and I inserted the 1.2 Config disc, it doesn't recognize it. I burned all the other discs on this page, and none of them work:

    http://www.maartennaaier.nl/nintendo/133/w...e-download.html

    Is there a specific way to boot into the firmware or something? We tried reset button, but that just showed a black screen.

    -CPOStudios
     
  2. 0nyx

    Member 0nyx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    United States
    Type "wiikey gcos config disc" on google,click on the fourth link,download,burn and enjoy
     
  3. CPOStudios
    OP

    Newcomer CPOStudios Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Country:
    United States
    OK, I have burned every damn ISO on the internet to a disc. GCOS, Filechop, 1.3, 1.2, 1.9g, from different sources even. I used DVD-R, DVD+R, everything. I tried it several times. I restarted the Wii after each disc.

    Please explain how this works. Do you turn your Wii on, and it boots into the firmware? For me, it goes to the Wii main menu, the disc stops spinning, and it can't read the disc. All the "read me" docs from the ISO say "burn ISO, put in Wii" then it tells you how to navigate the disc.

    Here's my solder job, taken with a nice macro lens:
    http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/5881/img3476zg7.jpg

    I honestly have no idea what to do. I even tried running Smash, to no avail obviously. My Wii still plays NTSC-U Wii games (it's an NTSC-U Wii) and GCN games fine. Everything works, except the Wiikey.
     
  4. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm not a solderer, so I can't verify your install, but it sounds to me like it could be two things.

    A: Bad install
    or
    B: DOA Wiikey

    If your install is good, contact the store you bought it from and try to get a new Wiikey
     
  5. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    have you updated your Wiikey to 1.9G?
    i recall that the 3.0 update (of the Wii..) blocks some homebrew discs from booting, and that 1.9b "unlocked" that feature again? ( am i right?)
    try updating your firmware, then try the config disc again
     
  6. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    You may have put too much "solder" (don't know what's the exact term) on your Wiikey. It look likes you didn't heat soldering points so all your soldering wire stayed on your modchip

    Sorry for this explanation >
     
  7. CPOStudios
    OP

    Newcomer CPOStudios Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I updated right after install to 3.u.

    Shuny: I appreciate your help, but I don't want to get into that unless someone who really knows their stuffs confirms your observation. If others back you up, I'll definitely try a re-solder. Thanks. Does too much solder affect it really, if the solder isn't touching anything else?

    If someone confirms my install, I'm going to have a talk with the people who sold it to me. It's not a clone either, must be defective or something... God, I'm one of the few people who legitimately purchased a Japanese copy of the game and I get screwed over on the chip (hypothetically screwed over, if a good install is confirmed.)
     
  8. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    I understand [​IMG] But the chances to have a defective modchip are something like inexistant that's why i'm thinking about a soldering problem [​IMG]

    Anyway, good luck and nice picture btw, how did you do that ?
     

Share This Page