Running a server for local access

SifJar

Not a pirate
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,175
Country
I want to setup a server on my (Windows) PC that can be accessed over my local WiFi network. [The reason for this is so I can have a script set to screenshot my computers screen every few seconds and put it on the server, then have an auto-refreshing HTML page which I can view on my tablet to display the image taken - at the moment I am using Dropbox, but that means each image takes time to upload to Dropbox and also unnecessarily consumes bandwidth]. The problem is I don't really know much about servers etc. I tried to setup Micro Apache, but got confused about how to set it up.

Basically what I would like is if someone can point me in the direction of a decent tutorial for setting up and configuring a server (I don't care what software it is, as long as it works and is free), or easier to set up software?
 

Zetta_x

The Insane Statistician
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
1,844
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
574
Country
United States
Would you be able to create one folder where the images are saved and then share it across the network?

Assign a username and password on the computer that will have this shared folder that you want to use (for security purposes).

Similar to a network drive or connecting to a server, the UNC name would be

\\PC-NAME\SHARENAME
Username: Designated Username
Password: Designated Password



Map the network drive onto any device you want to access (as if you had Windows Server or any other server operating system)
Then use the script to pull files from that mapped network drive.

The reason why this would be effective is that network drive will be active as long as the computer is not in hibernate and off, as long as it's taking screenshots, it should be neither.

Interesting idea though, are you trying to catch someone in their "dirty" activities?
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,175
Country
Nah, I don't think that will work. I need to have the image embedded in an HTML file for handy auto-refreshing. Don't think there is any easy way for me to even access an image from a shared network folder via my tablet (a BlackBerry PlayBook), let alone refresh automatically at regular intervals. Unless I misunderstand how that works.

And the main purpose of this is so I can easily monitor downloads on my laptop from elsewhere in the house/my bed. Nothing as exciting as trying to spy on others :P

EDIT: I may also at some point add another HTML page to monitor other stuff about my computer e.g. free RAM, CPU etc., almost just for the sake of it. Partly because maybe it could be useful, but mostly just to see if I can.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Zetta_x

The Insane Statistician
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
1,844
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
574
Country
United States
Ahhhh, sounds awesome.

That's what it would be, create an HTMl file that loads the image from:

"SomePath\picture"

Then when you load the html file, it pulls the file from SomePath\picture. As long as the picture file keeps being overwritten, you would have what you were talking about.

Unfortunately, a quick read on black berries; you won't be able to map the network path.
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
36,798
Trophies
3
XP
28,404
Country
United Kingdom
You could do this but why go to the hassle when you can just use a VNC instead and have the added bonus of being able to control your PC.
http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/45448/?lang=en
Works with TightVNC and UltraVNC which are both free and pretty awesome.

Still if you did want to make a server there are a few although I have not needed a lightweight server like this on a windows system in some time and it seems my old standbys are now payware nonsense. Not sure if http://www.voidtools.com/ is the sort of thing you want (it does a nice file listing/http server for it) and if you want to go overkill http://www.uniformserver.com/ (it is more or less a full server setup aimed at people developing websites).
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,175
Country
FAST6191: I have tried VNC before, couldn't get any free solution to work, didn't want pay for a better solution. Might try again. For now, I actually think this solution is "simpler", if far less useful.

Rydian: Thanks, I'll try that out.

EDIT: Didn't work at first, for the same reason it didn't work when I tried to set it up myself earlier. But I decided to actually fix it this time, and discovered the problem was that Skype was also using port 80, which Apache wanted to use, so I have changed Skype's settings to not use port 80. It's working now, on my computer at least. I'll try it from my PlayBook now, and then edit my script to make it all work nicely.

EDIT: Yeah, it is now working pretty much exactly as I had planned. Thanks Rydian.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Can't wait for the inevitable power outage where it's initially funny because I have half of my apartment on UPSes, then I realize I have literal minutes to start shutting down all of my servers.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    You must be north of me, Im in Ohio.. It been storming on off all day here, coming from the north
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    just barely maybe, more so just dead east.
    I'm in NJ
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Is weird looking at the radar, it is making a circle
  • Morganna @ Morganna:
    @BigOnYa well, starting with, idk which emulator should i use for switch, i got a gtx 1650, do you know which one would it better for my pc?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    The switch emulators on pc rely on your CPU mostly, and they only use a single core, so GPU not as important as a good CPU. I don't use switch emulator, but many here do, and willing to help.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    @K3Nv2 do you want to chime in, don't you use yuzu or ryujinx? Which do you prefer?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    @Morganna I'd say try them both, and see which work better for your setup, good luck, and have fun!
  • Morganna @ Morganna:
    i tried just yuzu so far, not even played, just open the game to see if it run
    +1
  • Morganna @ Morganna:
    By the way, is there any website you recommend to search for some roms?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    No you are not allowed to discuss them here, against the rules of the site. Sorry. But you can Google Nintendo NSP and there will be a few listed.
  • Morganna @ Morganna:
    @BigOnYa that was actually very helpful, thank you very much
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Game on!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Actually looking forward to that new m&ms song Friday
  • DTApple @ DTApple:
    Water is the Wii Startup Disc of the soul.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I won't listen till they bring back the purple ones
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    For every Nintendo question that gets asked I'll post a Taylor swift song in return
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Whatever happened to D12?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Split after their friends death but still friends
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    still waiting on my salsa lmao
    em you lied to us
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I remb that song, i just never knew that was what he was talking bout.
  • a_username_that_is_cool @ a_username_that_is_cool:
    the backwards d looks so weird
  • a_username_that_is_cool @ a_username_that_is_cool:
    like :D or D: is nowhere near as odd as ꓷ:
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    (: is just the text version of 🙃 no matter how much they want me to think it's 🙂
    BakerMan @ BakerMan: (: is just the text version of 🙃 no matter how much they want me to think it's 🙂