Rudolph's 3in1 Expansion Pack Tool v1.9d released

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Destructobot, Dec 2, 2007.

  1. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Rudolph has released v1.9d of his 3in1 Expansion Pack Tool. He seems to have added soft reset support for the M3 and G6 Real, though it's hard to be totally sure from a Google translation.

    Get it here: http://blog.so-net.ne.jp/Rudolph/


    Soft reset is now supported on the R4, M3 Simply, DSLink, AceKard (I think), AceKard RPG, Supercard DS One, NinjaPass X9TF, CycloDS Evolution, G6 Real and M3 Real.


    Edit: Can someone with a CycloDS Evolution please test this and see if it is actually supported?
     


  2. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Soft-reset support for what?

    I have Rudolph's tools on my R4 and I'd like to know this.

    ~Nero
     
  3. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
  4. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    WooHoo!
    Soft-reset in Rudolphs on RPG. No more patching for rumble. Note: If using rudolphs on sd side, make sure to have akmenu4.nds in root of sd.
     
  5. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    How do you Soft-reset in Rudolph's tools? Anybody?

    I honestly don't know. [​IMG]

    Is it during a GBA game, or what?

    ~Nero
     
  6. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    When you're in the loader, press start.
     
  7. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    Rudolphs tool uses a soft-reset to enable rumble and ram expansion. Selecting either function will cause a soft-reset. From that point until you next turn the power off, that function will be enabled for any roms that you run that can utilize them.
     
  8. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    Gotta love that rudolph.
     
  9. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The 3in1 ExpPack Tool allows you to use the 3in1 as a rumble or RAM pack by setting the cart to that mode, then soft resetting back to the slot 1 flashcart's menu so that you can run the web browser, or the game you want to use rumble with. This also allows for DS GBA game linkage without flashing the GBA game to NOR.

    Without soft reset support, the 3in1 ExpPack Tool only allows you to play GBA games on the 3in1.

    It's not possible to soft reset from a GBA game back to the 3in1 ExpPack Tool or the slot 1 cart's menu, and it never will be. This is a limitation of the DS; you can go from DS mode to GBA mode via software, but you can only go from GBA mode to DS mode by powering off the system.
     
  10. jsmith45

    Newcomer jsmith45 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure it has support for the CycloEvo. It looks like it does not. It does not have built in support for it, and
    the Google translation says " R4, Evo, AK, AK +, this method can not be reset." which implies to me that this meathod could not be used on those cards.
     
  11. 2dere

    Member 2dere GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Rest assured, the soft reset has being working on the R4 since the v1.9
    I only say R4 in my post because thats all I have. I'm not even going to bother looking at the post to see what you mean. Just seems odd how everyone else seems to have read it differently from you.
     
  12. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Maybe it's a bugfix or something. As in:

    Fixed the bug which prevented the R4, Evo, AK and AK+ from Soft Resetting.

    I don't know...
     
  13. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    There are apparently two different methods that Rudolph is using for soft reset. The old method just works with the supported carts. The new method that was added in this update seems to require a soft reset file of some sort to be placed on the slot 1 cart. I'm guessing "R4, Evo, AK, AK +, this method can not be reset" means that the new method won't work on those carts.

    The R4 and AK are definitely supported, but you may be right about the Evo. I was typing the list of supported carts partially from memory, and now that I look back through the blog I can find an entry about Rudolph recieving an Evo, but nothing about him adding support for it.
     
  14. DarthYoshi

    Member DarthYoshi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United States
    I don't get where it's telling you to "Please rename PASSCARD3_AMFE00.nds of the backup to SoftReset.g6ds and copy it." Where do I find that stuff? It's confusing me!
     
  15. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Is that also an acekard loader with support for slot 2 carts (ezflash i'm guessing) on the latest article?
     
  16. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That's what it looks like.
     
  17. skarthebloodchild

    Member skarthebloodchild Keep It Old School

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,215
    Location:
    Greece
    Country:
    Greece
  18. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,925
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Don't know, but i think not [​IMG]

    Never tried it
     
  19. Kellicros

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    I do know two game will not work with the generic rumble patcher, EBA and Hotel Dusk, on R4 at least, which is the only SLOT1 cart I own.
     
  20. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    Tried it. Replaced rpg folder with 4.02 and used the .nds from rudolph. No changes. Maybe theres more to it but I got no results.
     

Share This Page