ROMs not recognized by Acekard

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by spontan, Oct 23, 2010.

Oct 23, 2010

ROMs not recognized by Acekard by spontan at 5:57 AM (1,859 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. spontan
    OP

    Newcomer spontan Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    This is more of an informational for people that got stuck in a boat like me. I used to not have paddles, but I have found some and wanted to spread the information because this drove me up the wall for a while until I hunted down the information. You might say, what a tard, this is simple, but I did not know it.

    So I recently purchased a Acekard for my DS-lite. Next I found a place and downloaded around 27 gigs of DS ROMs to get started with.

    When I copied some of these over to my games folder on the root of the SD card, then launched up AKAIO 1.8.1 and looked at the icon displayed, it showed just a grey icon of a DS. If I attempted to launch the game, it started to load then I got a white screen and had to manually boot the ds-lite.

    After attempting to research this issue, I found no post really explaining why a perfectly good ROM is not really being recognized.

    The first thing I came across was the ARM7.bin replacement. I attempted that but did not have any success. I thought it might be outdated, but it everywhere still so I suppose it has its purpose.

    Now to the point....

    I found a small article that says that some ROMs that do not work will work simply by unpacking them with dslazy or dsbuff then repackaging them.

    This method worked for me. So if a ROM is not showing as recognized and has that DS grey logo by it and is not working, attempt to unpack it and repackage it with dslazy or dsbuff.

    Now to those that have been around for a while, please forgive the ramblings of a noob sauce that just got into this hobby.
     
  2. alo123

    Member alo123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    That usually happens when the rom is corrupt and really 27 gigs of roms
     
  3. AcekardFan

    Member AcekardFan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Stockton
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe Your Acekard Was Like "Fuck It,I Ain't Loading Any Of This Crap" LOL
     
  4. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    He wants games? What's wrong with that?

    My older sisters boyfriend has over 5000 dvd's he's downloaded and burned.
     
  5. alo123

    Member alo123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    I was not saying it is wrong I just did not know there were that many games
     
  6. gifi4

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Lol, what I don't get is, why not download maybe 4 GB's worth of games and if you feel like a diff game 2 weeks later, just download a new one or something like that.

    @ShadowSoldier
    I'm only 14 but I'd prob have to pay a few million (roughly how much I've downloaded worth) if I got caught for the movies and tv series I've downloaded. Plus they'd make me pay massive fines, lol, I don't even use any IP protection programs, I figure that if I did, they'd look and be like, "Hmm, this person has something to hide, lets crack the protection."
     
  7. spontan
    OP

    Newcomer spontan Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe I did not know what I wanted so I got them all. None the less, I think you guys are missing the point. Just wanted to bring some attention to a way to solve some ROM problems.

    I could not find much data on it.
     
  8. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    [​IMG]

    Unpack the ROMs correcty

    Put them in folders

    That's it.

    Nothing more is needed.
     
  9. Tokyo Jihen

    Member Tokyo Jihen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    What are the file names? They should be .nds. Sorry if I'm just saying the obvious, but if it's the .nds and in a folder in the root of your card, maybe the Acekard is just defective?
     
  10. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    What format are you getting your files from the internet? What are you doing with your files after you download them? What programs are you using on the files?
     
  11. Matthew

    Member Matthew GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try playing them using no$gba and desemune. If they dont work you have a corrupt rom
     
  12. naruses

    Member naruses GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Your Mom
    Country:
    United States
    Try this stuff:

    1-Really, 27 gigs of Games? [​IMG] , to save some space use NDSTokyoTrimm.You will problably save around 5 gigs.

    2- Did you extract them with Winrar, Winzip, etc. And you get a file called romname.nds ?

    3-If you get several random files when you extract the ROM and they are called like this file.rar.r00 or something extract the first part (r00) and you will get rom called romname.nds, use the .nds file.

    4-Maybe check and uncheck all Cheats and settings, majorily Anti-Piracy.

    5-Backup the files of your card and format it with the SD Association Formatter.

    If non of these work you either got an defective acekard, a defective micro sd, or you just got some bad luck.

    EDIT: 200th Post!!!! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page