Ripping music from DSiWare

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Thesolcity, Sep 20, 2011.

Sep 20, 2011

Ripping music from DSiWare by Thesolcity at 7:01 AM (1,069 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Thesolcity
    OP

    Member Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    San Miguel
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible to rip DSiWare tracks? I like the Alt-Play music a little too much. [​IMG]
     
  2. rondoh70

    Member rondoh70 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    new york
    Country:
    United States
    yes its possible but has nothing to do with hacking
     
  3. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    plug a cable from the headphone jack on the 3DS to the line--in/mic jack on your computer, use some audio software to record it.
     
  4. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    This. Any electronics store will carry this type of cable.
     
  5. ferofax

    Member ferofax End of the World

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,564
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    i actually did this already, using this method. you'll need better recorders though, if you want high quality. Audacity was good, but leaves much quality wise.
     
  6. T.Kuranari

    Member T.Kuranari GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    Japan
    If you want to rip music directly from DSiWare binaries, I'm afraid that's not possible because they are encrypted and you can't dump DSiWare the same way you can with WiiWare.
     
  7. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Audacity should be fine, but there could be a problem with cheaper wires/the audio input on your PC. Most PC sound cards (aside from "professional" ones) weren't designed to capture high fidelity sound from their mic port. Therefore they may lack the proper range (most, for example, are only designed to capture mono sound).
     

Share This Page