Homebrew Official Retroarch WiiU (wip.)

lordelan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,827
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,606
Country
Germany
ksg0hEg.jpg

byLuGsQ.jpg


it look better now.

Yeah it's happening! Good work man!

A port of ScumVM would be great once touchscreen controlers are implemented :P

Can't wait to play Day of the Tentacle on my Wii U. =)
 

PCKid11

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 22, 2017
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
51
Country
United Kingdom
RetroArch won't load for me on the latest nightly :(

I either get a black screen or a DSI error and my console locks up.

Help!

DSI: Instr at 0D25CD5C bad read from unmapped memory at 53454400
 
Last edited by PCKid11,

rioray

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2017
Messages
152
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
402
Country
France
@ploggy , no I only have built one or two cores to test it .

https://github.com/libretro/RetroArch/pull/5580

The PR is not merged yet because I've experimented some freeze/error screen so I want someone with more gx2 knowledge to review it and state if it is safe or not.
also actually alphamod of the overlay not working (I don't know how deal it with the RA embedded shader it missing a vertex color attribute to do it dynamically ?)
and some multiple overlay (like the gamepad overlay) have some buttons that does not scale properly (some of them scale properly other not ?)

that said the mame scanline overlay is very nice!

@rioray I'm wondering whether it can be decided per game which overlay to take as I saw a screenshot from a specific 19xx/1944 arcade border.

honestly I don't know , I played with overlay last night and it's a big pain to scale the custom viewport to fit the overlay screen.
most of the arcade overlay are for 1080p and a have usage of shader.
not perfect but with tweaking some 1943.zip.cfg .... (with choosing aspect ratio = config)

Code:
# Config created by Floob
# https://github.com/biscuits99/rp-video-manager
# http://www.youtube.com/c/SmartretroCoUk-Gaming

#video_shader = "/opt/retropie/emulators/retroarch/shader/arcade-bezel-shader/crt-pi-vertical.glslp"
#video_shader_enable = "true"

input_overlay = "sd:/retroarch/overlay/arcade/1943.cfg"
input_overlay_enable = true
input_overlay_opacity = 0.850000
input_overlay_scale = 1.000000

custom_viewport_width = "300"
custom_viewport_height = "400"
custom_viewport_x = "277"
custom_viewport_y = "40"

aspect_ratio_index = "22"

video_scale_integer = false
IAS9xdW.jpg



@QuarkTheAwesome another subject ,
in the waiting you fix your touch driver,
today I had fun with it,to bypass the problem of input press not detected using pad_state[0] |= VPAD_BUTTON_TOUCH;
I did a quick bad hack to add another analog_state : static int16_t analog_state[MAX_PADS][4/*3*/][2];
then I could use it in the touch detection
Code:
      if (vpad.tpNormal.touched && vpad.tpNormal.validity == VPAD_VALID) {
         struct video_viewport vp = {0};
         video_driver_get_viewport_info(&vp);
         VPADTouchData cal = {0};
         /* Calibrates data to a 720p screen, seems to clamp outer 12px */
         VPADGetTPCalibratedPoint(0, &cal, &(vpad.tpNormal));
         /* Calibrate to viewport and save as axis 2 (idx 4,5) */

          analog_state[0][2][0] = (int16_t)scaleTP(12.0f, 1268.0f, 0.0f, (float)(vp.full_width), (float)cal.x);
         analog_state[0][2][1] = (int16_t)scaleTP(12.0f, 708.0f, 0.0f, (float)(vp.full_height), (float)cal.y);
         
         //bad hack !
         analog_state[0][3][0] = 1;
         analog_state[0][3][1] +=1;

         /* Emulating a button for touch; lets people assign it to menu
            for that traditional RetroArch Wii U feel */
         pad_state[0] |= VPAD_BUTTON_TOUCH;
      } else {
         /* This is probably 0 anyway */
         pad_state[0] &= ~VPAD_BUTTON_TOUCH;
         analog_state[0][3][0] = 0;
         analog_state[0][3][1] = 0;
      }
Code:
static int16_t wiiu_pointer_device_state(wiiu_input_t* wiiu, unsigned id)
{
   switch (id)
   {
       case RETRO_DEVICE_ID_POINTER_PRESSED:
                   return  wiiu->joypad->axis(0, 0xFFFF0007UL); // bad hack it give the tick count how the pointer is hold
       //   return wiiu->joypad->get_buttons(0) & VPAD_BUTTON_TOUCH;
       case RETRO_DEVICE_ID_POINTER_X:
           return wiiu->joypad->axis(0, 0xFFFF0004UL);
       case RETRO_DEVICE_ID_POINTER_Y:
           return wiiu->joypad->axis(0, 0xFFFF0005UL);
   }

   return 0;
}
then I could get the press state in my code and did things like
Code:
int p_press = input_state_cb(0, RETRO_DEVICE_POINTER, 0,RETRO_DEVICE_ID_POINTER_PRESSED);
if(p_press>25)mouse_left=1;

As sample , I quickly hook this in vice code , the virtual keyboard should respond to the touch (moving around , push key).
https://filebin.net/l3yq74woaopqvlnq/vice_x64_libretro.rpx.zip
 

ploggy

WAKA! WAKA!
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
4,834
Trophies
2
XP
7,913
Country
United Kingdom
@rioray no probs mate. Hopefully someone in the know can give it an ok and can get merged soon ;) and congrats on figuring out a way to get touch presses recognised :)
 

TLPD-AVW

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
36
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
470
Country
Russia
So apparently there is a small specific reason for using Snes9x 2010 over modern Snes9x on Wii U. RetroArch has a built in support for Retro Achievements - a fan made service which uses emulation to create achievement system for retro video games. I discovered it last week and so far I'm impressed. The thing is that modern Snes9x has only partial support for it and doesn't register the achievement unlocks. You have to use 2010 to play with achievements. Likewise, Nestopia has no support for NES achievements, so you have to use FCEUmm or QuickNES for them.
 
Last edited by TLPD-AVW,

the_randomizer

The Temp's official fox whisperer
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
31,284
Trophies
2
Age
38
Location
Dr. Wahwee's castle
XP
18,969
Country
United States
So apparently there is a small specific reason for using Snes9x 2010 over modern Snes9x on Wii U. RetroArch has a built in support for Retro Achievements - a fan made service which uses emulation to create achievement system for retro video games. I discovered it last week and so far I'm impressed. The thing is that modern Snes9x has only partial support for it and doesn't register the achievement unlocks. You have to use 2010 to play with achievements. Likewise, Nestopia has no support for NES achievements, so you have to use FCEUmm or QuickNES for them.

That sucks, I'd rather not sacrifice accuracy for achievements IMHO
 
  • Like
Reactions: cucholix

Sadistblue

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2017
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
64
Country
United States
Question: Been using the latest Nightlies for retroarch, but also encountered the issue with the latest stable release. After saving/loading save states in succession (Think; retrying a boss, quick loading 3-4 times until success), or even loading up too many different roms in succession causes the SD card to dismount (or at least in the small window before it crashes I can see my usb drive contents (Not just the playlist), but my sd card is inaccessible when it was moments prior.), which leads to a System Memory Error soon after. Is this a known issue or something entirely on my end?

I save/load states to my SD card, and have my roms on a USB (USB never seems to disconnect, I could swap save states to usb I guess). Is this a minor inconvenience in the release? I usually keep my save states to 3-4 times before I close content and restart retroarch (Lost too much progress to do it any other way >_>) If no one else encounters these issues I may just buy a new SD card.

I appreciate all the homebrew efforts this community has brought forth!
 

lordelan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,827
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,606
Country
Germany
@rioray Thanks for that informative post. I'm really glad that you're digging into Wii U's RetroArch port that much, you're a win for the community.
Also nice job on the touch support. Keep it up without rushing yourself. :)
 

Osakasan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
1,237
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,156
Country
It can't be stressed enough. If the team manages to make some tertiary feature work, nice, but there's still a lot that eed to be done instead of working on Achievements of all things.
 

TLPD-AVW

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
36
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
470
Country
Russia
Hehe, I expected that some would disregard achievements completely. I agree that's not a feature for everyone. When it comes to accuracy, Genesis and Master System, PC Engine, GB(C) and GBA are accurately covered with achievement support by Genesis Plus GX, Beetle PCE-Fast, Gambatte and mGBA respectively.
 
  • Like
Reactions: cucholix

Osakasan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
1,237
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,156
Country
Maybe i'm too old, but i disregard them because i lived through a time in videogames where achievements were not neccesary to keep you engaged. Ironically, we're talking about the NES/SNES/Arcade era. If a game didn't manage to engage you, it didn't deserve more than a rent/a few coins.

I guess it is a matter of personal preference. I can't say i dislake achievements, i just don't understand them and i see them as a completely prescindible feature, moreso in this case, where the Wii U Retroarch team is still ironing things.

In my opinion, out of a looooooooooooooooong list, achievements are the last thing to worry about.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I just want a Pokemon Hell Raiser fan game 😭
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Anyone wanna play with my joydock
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Biomutant looks cool tho, may have to try that
  • Quincy @ Quincy:
    Usually when such a big title leaks the Temp will be the first to report about it (going off of historical reports here, Pokemon SV being the latest one I can recall seeing pop up here)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I still like how a freaking mp3 file hacks webos all that security defeated by text yet again
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    They have simulators for everything nowdays, cray cray. How about a sim that shows you playing the Switch.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's called yuzu
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I want a 120hz 4k tv but crazy how more expensive the 120hz over the 60hz are. Or even more crazy is the price of 8k's.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    No real point since movies are 30fps
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Not a big movie buff, more of a gamer tbh. And Series X is 120hz 8k ready, but yea only 120hz 4k games out right now, but thinking of in the future.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Mostly why you never see TV manufacturers going post 60hz
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I only watch tv when i goto bed, it puts me to sleep, and I have a nas drive filled w my fav shows so i can watch them in order, commercial free. I usually watch Married w Children, or South Park
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Stremio ruined my need for nas
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I stream from Nas to firestick, one on every tv, and use Kodi. I'm happy w it, plays everything. (I pirate/torrent shows/movies on pc, and put on nas)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Kodi repost are still pretty popular
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    What the hell is Kodi reposts? what do you mean, or "Wut?" -xdqwerty
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Google them basically web crawlers to movie sites
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    oh you mean the 3rd party apps on Kodi, yea i know what you mean, yea there are still a few cool ones, in fact watched the new planet of the apes movie other night w wifey thru one, was good pic surprisingly, not a cam
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Damn, only $2.06 and free shipping. Gotta cost more for them to ship than $2.06
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I got my Dad a firestick for Xmas and showed him those 3rd party sites on Kodi, he loves it, all he watches anymore. He said he has got 3 letters from AT&T already about pirating, but he says f them, let them shut my internet off (He wants out of his AT&T contract anyways)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's where stremio comes to play never got a letter about it
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I just use a VPN, even give him my login and password so can use it also, and he refuses, he's funny.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I had to find and get him an old style flip phone even without text, cause thats what he wanted. No text, no internet, only phone calls. Old, old school.
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: I had to find and get him an old style flip phone even without text, cause thats what he wanted...