Tutorial  Updated

RetroArch guide (clean games collection) + FAQ

This thread will become obsolete soon as I'm putting everything into the wiki now which you can find here:
https://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Retroarch_WiiU
But since I'm busy and lazy it might take a bit. Until that you might stick to this thread. Once everything's there I'll edit this post once again to let you know.


I hate the fact that there's no RetroArch guide for Wii U around here. Questions are hidden in endless thread pages and especially when it comes to Arcade Machine roms it took me while to figure out how to use them nicely.

I may edit this post to add a step by step guide for everything at a later point but for now I'm just going to explain how to get a clean games collection and try to handle a few often asked questions in a FAQ.
I'm not mister universe so please correct me where I'm wrong and don't hesistate to give me advices or ask (and answer if you can) questions that could be added to the FAQ section. I'll add them as soon as I can to this post.

Clean games collection

By a "clean games collection" I mean putting specific text files into RetroArch's playlist folder to achieve that everything looks sorted, clean and fine when you wanna pick the rom you want to play as these text files are telling RetroArch where the rom is and how it should display the game's name. I came across this feature because I wanted to organize all roms in ZIP files and name them as accurately as possible. For example I prefer Super Mario World [E] (E for Europe) over something like 173_smw_e[bull_razor_release].zip. Unfortunately this doesn't work for Arcade Machine roms. Try renaming mvsc.zip to Marvel vs. Capcom - Clash of Super Heroes [E].zip and you're doomed - the game won't start.

So here's what you gotta do:
1. Optional but very recommended: Download RetroArch for PC for testing. As 1.4.1 is the most stable Wii U release of RetroArch you should get the same version for Windows. Then use the built in menu to download the cores. Only pick the cores that the Wii U version has. Not in all but in most cases if a game starts on PC with a specific core it will launch with the same core on Wii U too.

2. Choose a location for your roms. Normally RetroArch's downlods folder is where you should put the roms as that folder can be accessed quickly from the load content entry in RetroArch's main menu.
However as my guide aims to not use this as it would only list you your rom names which - especially for Arcade Machine roms - could be cryptical, it doesn't matter where you put your roms as the text files we're going to create are telling RetroArch where to find the roms.
Due to the fact that I want to keep my roms out of the RetroArch folder so they are not in danger if I do anything to my RetroArch and they should be accessable for other emulators (from vWii) as well I placed mine at SD:\roms\.

3. Create sub folders for each system. Here's what I have for example:
Code:
SD:\roms\Arcade\
SD:\roms\Game Boy\
SD:\roms\Game Boy Advance\
SD:\roms\SEGA Mega Drive\
SD:\roms\Super Nintendo Entertainment System\

4. Put your games in ZIP files. It saves space and is cleaner when it comes to roms that have multiple files. For systems with only one file (like Game Boy) you could keep your roms outside ZIP files (for example Tetris.gb instead of Tetris.zip) to have RetroArch loading them even quicker. But since we're talking about milliseconds here I'd recommend having everything in ZIP files to save space.

5. For most systems/cores it doesn't matter how you name your roms/ZIPs but for a few systems (especially Arcade Machines) you have to keep your roms as you got them. Also some characters like ", ?, : and so on are not allowed to be in file names although some game titles may use them. That's another reason we're doing this here.
As I recommended you should use RetroArch for PC to find out whether you could rename your games or not before you push them to your Wii U (where it's awkward to rename files).
I left my Arcade games untouched while I renamed my SNES games as good as I can (for SNES the rom names don't matter) although I'm putting them in a text file as well. The cleaner, the better. :)

Your collection should now look like this:
Code:
SD:\roms\Arcade\1944.zip
SD:\roms\Arcade\mvsc.zip
SD:\roms\Arcade\sfiii3.zip
SD:\roms\Game Boy\Tetris [E].zip
SD:\roms\Game Boy\The Legend of Zelda - Link's Awakening [E].zip
SD:\roms\Game Boy Advance\Advance Wars [E].zip
SD:\roms\Super Nintendo Entertainment System\Chrono Trigger [E].zip
SD:\roms\Super Nintendo Entertainment System\Super Soccer [E].zip
SD:\roms\Super Nintendo Entertainment System\Super Tennis [E].zip

6. Now comes the magic! Head to RetroArch's cores folder. In there you should find a playlists folder.
Here you have to create empty text files with .lpl extensions for every system. Something like this:
Code:
Arcade.lpl
Super Nintendo Entertainment System.lpl
Make sure it's really called Arcade.lpl instead of Arcade.lpl.txt!

7. Now feed your games to these files. Each game takes exactly 6 lines.
Here's an example for my Arcade.lpl containing three games (which makes 18 lines as each game takes 6 lines):
Code:
sd:/roms/Arcade/1944.zip
1944: The Loop Master (000620 USA)
sd:/retroarch/cores/fbalpha2012_libretro.rpx
FB Alpha 2012

Arcade.lpl
sd:/roms/Arcade/gokuparo.zip.zip
Gokujou Parodius (Japan)
sd:/retroarch/cores/mame2003_libretro.rpx
MAME 2003

Arcade.lpl
sd:/roms/Arcade/mvsc.zip
Marvel vs. Capcom: Clash of Super Heroes (980123 Euro)
sd:/retroarch/cores/fbalpha2012_libretro.rpx
FB Alpha 2012

Arcade.lpl
And here's an example of my SNES file containing only one game at the moment:
Code:
sd:/roms/Super Nintendo Entertainment System/Super Soccer [E].zip#Super Soccer [E].smc
Super Soccer (Europe)
sd:/retroarch/cores/snes9x_libretro.rpx
Snes9x

Super Nintendo Entertainment System.lpl
Now we're going to take a look at each line and what it is for:
Line 1 -> Obviously that's the path to your rom file. If it's a ZIP containing only one file you could add it after a # as I did for Super Soccer (although it's not really necessary I think).
Line 2 -> This is the most interesting line for us as it is the rom's name as it will be listed in RetroArch. This line can contain any characters so as you can see something like Marvel vs. Capcom: Clash of Super Heroes (980123 Euro) is no problem. I added the region and (if I know it) the rom's number but keep that as you like. Only Marvel vs. Capcom: Clash of Super Heroes would be totally fine as well.
Line 3 -> Now here's another clue! You're telling RetroArch directly with which core this rom should be launched. Test it on PC and/or Wii U once and now you just gotta pick your game without the need to pick a core as well every damn time. Make sure to point it to elf cores if you're using the elf RetroArch builds.
Line 4 -> This is the core's name.
Line 5 -> Well this is the line for a CRC code. Since RetroArch's history file (of recent launched games) is a lpl file as well (built up in the same pattern) you could look into that but as there is no need at all for this keep it empty if you know your rom is running just fine. But keep in mind this line has to exist although it's empty! Don't remove it to "shrink" your game entry down to 5 lines!
Line 6 -> Enter here the name of the file you're editing right now. Simple as that. It has to be the exact name of the text file. Don't write SNES.lpl here if your file is actually Super Nintendo Entertainment System.lpl!

After you're done with that just launch RetroArch, hit load content and then collections.
Now you're facing a list of your systems according to the names you gave your lpl files in the playlists folder.
Selecting one of the systems lists all game entries you added to the list.
Just pick a game and enjoy. The core is picked automatically.

Useful links


Don't ask for roms/romsets here.
Google is your friend and let me give you this advice: archive.org is your friend as well. ;)
Also the names of romsets are written in the compatibility lists from my first link. It won't get any easier than this.

FAQ

Q: Which RetroArch version should I use?
A: 1.4.1 is the most stable release for Wii U right now as 1.5.0 has many crashes. Get it here.
A: Recent builds are reported to be stable again. Also they have a new nice UI so there's no reason to stay on older versions.

Q: Which one should I pick? RetroArch.7z or RetroArch_rpx.7z?
A: RetroArch.7z is the ELF version. You should pick the RPX version. Only disadvantage is that it takes a bit more space.

Q: Which NES core should I use?
A: Most users are recommending Nestopia.

Q: Which SNES core should I use? Snes9x or Snes9x 2010?
A: Definitely Snes9x as 2010 is an outdated version and has a few issues. Snes9x (without 2010) on the other hand runs just fine with almost every game.

Q: PSX games don't work!
A: That's because someone has to make a dynarec core for the Wii U. Please participate here to attract some devs:
https://www.bountysource.com/issues...ec-core-for-wii-u-port-of-beetle-mednafen-psx

Q: Can I install RetroArch to my home menu?
A: Yes. Pick it up here and install it through WUP Installer. Be sure to launch a CFW before (Haxchi or Mocha).

Q: How can I change RetroArch themes?
A: Navigate to Settings > User Interface > Menu > Menu Icon Theme. Then press right on the D-Pad to cycle through themes. (thanks to ploggy)

Q: What is the correct romset for FB Alpha 2012?
A: FB Alpha v0.2.97.30 (thanks to ploggy)
 

Attachments

  • Step1.jpg
    Step1.jpg
    159.2 KB · Views: 2,003
  • Step2.jpg
    Step2.jpg
    154.5 KB · Views: 1,673
  • Step3.jpg
    Step3.jpg
    155.5 KB · Views: 1,832
  • Step4.jpg
    Step4.jpg
    161.7 KB · Views: 1,635
Last edited by lordelan,

lordelan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,788
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,519
Country
Germany
That's not helpful

Do I click and drag them into it?? because if I have to manually type that shit for every game that is unacceptably tedious
Oh sorry lol. I somehow thought we're in the main RetroArch thread here. Otherwise I wouldn't have linked that thread (that we're actually in right now). :D
Well you could use playlist buddy (PC tool) or the "scan directory" feature from within RetroArch.
I'd recommend playlist buddy.
 

lordelan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,788
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,519
Country
Germany
Scan directory crashes the Wii U

Playlists can have subfolders right?
Then use playlist buddy and follow instructions of the first post in the main RetroArch for Wii U thread.
Yes. You have your roms folder and in there you have subfolders for each system (Snes, Game Boy and so on).
 

wiiztec

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
436
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
368
Country
United States
But I need subfolders for each system, my main games then a subfolder for games I'm trying out and another subfolder for the entire system library
 

lordelan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,788
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,519
Country
Germany
But I need subfolders for each system, my main games then a subfolder for games I'm trying out and another subfolder for the entire system library
You can do whatever you want. For example:
sd:/roms/Nintendo - Super Nintendo Entertainment System/game.zip <- all SNES games
sd:/roms/4 Player Games/game.zip <- games from various systems
sd:/roms/Best Games/game.zip <- games from various systems

For the first one you can use playlist buddy. For the second and third one you need to do it manually because every entry can be related to another core.
 

wiiztec

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
436
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
368
Country
United States
I don't think you understood me, I don't want any games from different systems grouped together, I want for example my SNES playlist to have a number of games and also 2 subfolders with more SNES games, I don't want to see the subfolders anywhere if I'm not already in the SNES playlist. The only reason at this point I'm still looking into this ridiculous playlist nonsense is I heard I could keep my games in zips without the extra steps in getting to the games, that and it seems some cores can't play archives and can look into the archive and play the game and some can't look into the archive and play the game but can just play the archive which is stupid and confusing
 
Last edited by wiiztec,

lordelan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,788
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,519
Country
Germany
I don't think you understood me, I don't want any games from different systems grouped together, I want for example my SNES playlist to have a number of games and also 2 subfolders with more SNES games, I don't want to see the subfolders anywhere if I'm not already in the SNES playlist. The only reason at this point I'm still looking into this ridiculous playlist nonsense is I heard I could keep my games in zips without the extra steps in getting to the games, that and it seems some cores can't play archives and can look into the archive and play the game and some can't look into the archive and play the game but can just play the archive which is stupid and confusing
Give me some examples of your folder structure please.
You CAN launch zip files with most of the cores directly. Works pretty well for all Nintendo and SEGA systems, Arcade roms (if they are named right) and a few other cores.
It's better to use unzipped directories for cores like DosBox or ScummVM though.
But I think even those could use zip files if there's a *.conf or *.scummvm file inside.
However, give me some specific examples of what you wanna do and I'll see if I can help you. :)
 

wiiztec

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
436
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
368
Country
United States
This is the structure I want to know if I can replicate in playlists
33qf.jpg

Unless you're talking about in playlists(in which case I've already been told this) In my experience you cannot launch zip files directly with any core, you're given a choice to load archive or look into archive and then load the rom inside it. Different cores do not work with one option or the other, for example VBAnext loads archives but does not work with looking into them and loading the rom
 

lordelan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,788
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,519
Country
Germany
This is the structure I want to know if I can replicate in playlists
33qf.jpg

That's pretty easy. Follow this screenshot to create a playlist for your main folder from your screenshot where all the zip files are in:
https://gbatemp.net/attachments/tuto_ra_thumb_pl-png.96632/
You should end up with a Nintendo - Super Nintendo Entertainment System.lpl containing all those games.
Move that one to a temp folder on your PC (something like Desktop\temp\).
Now you cut out ALL games from your main SNES folder into a temp folder as well (like Desktop\temp\main snes games\) and then cut out games from one of your sub folders and paste it into your main folder. Then fire up playlist buddy again. When it's done, rename the lpl to something like SNES Hacks.lpl, open it up and use the replace all feature of your text editor to replace every whatever it was called before.lpl to SNES Hacks.lpl and replace the path for all entries to the path of the subfolder.
Do those steps for the other folders as well. Then put all roms back into their original places, get your Nintendo - Super Nintendo Entertainment System.lpl from your first step back in place and you should be good to go.
I hope that wasn't too confusing. Tell me if that's the case. I'll go more in detail then.

Unless you're talking about in playlists(in which case I've already been told this) In my experience you cannot launch zip files directly with any core, you're given a choice to load archive or look into archive and then load the rom inside it. Different cores do not work with one option or the other, for example VBAnext loads archives but does not work with looking into them and loading the rom
Mmmh it's working for me.
I can load content, pick a zip, pick load archive and then pick a core.
I also can load core, pick a core, load content and use the current core to load the archive.
As I said it might not work with every core/system.
 

wiiztec

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
436
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
368
Country
United States
That's pretty easy. Follow this screenshot to create a playlist for your main folder from your screenshot where all the zip files are in:
https://gbatemp.net/attachments/tuto_ra_thumb_pl-png.96632/
You should end up with a Nintendo - Super Nintendo Entertainment System.lpl containing all those games.
Move that one to a temp folder on your PC (something like Desktop\temp\).
Now you cut out ALL games from your main SNES folder into a temp folder as well (like Desktop\temp\main snes games\) and then cut out games from one of your sub folders and paste it into your main folder. Then fire up playlist buddy again. When it's done, rename the lpl to something like SNES Hacks.lpl, open it up and use the replace all feature of your text editor to replace every whatever it was called before.lpl to SNES Hacks.lpl and replace the path for all entries to the path of the subfolder.
Do those steps for the other folders as well. Then put all roms back into their original places, get your Nintendo - Super Nintendo Entertainment System.lpl from your first step back in place and you should be good to go.
I hope that wasn't too confusing. Tell me if that's the case. I'll go more in detail then.


Mmmh it's working for me.
I can load content, pick a zip, pick load archive and then pick a core.
I also can load core, pick a core, load content and use the current core to load the archive.
As I said it might not work with every core/system.
Yes it is very confusing actually and jsyk the folder I screenshotted is my main SNES folder. Before I begin to try and follow your steps can you get a screenshot of a playlist with subfolders in retroarch? And in regards to loading zip files directly, if after I select the zip it gives me options on what to do with it instead of just automatically playing the rom inside I don't consider that to be loading the zip directly
 

lordelan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,788
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,519
Country
Germany
Yes it is very confusing actually and jsyk the folder I screenshotted is my main SNES folder. Before I begin to try and follow your steps can you get a screenshot of a playlist with subfolders in retroarch? And in regards to loading zip files directly, if after I select the zip it gives me options on what to do with it instead of just automatically playing the rom inside I don't consider that to be loading the zip directly
Oh sry, completely oversaw this. Are you still trying to do that?
 

wiiztec

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
436
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
368
Country
United States
No I found out that playlists can't have subfolders so I gave up on them and just put all my roms unzipped at the root of my SD card
 

morpheous

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
159
Trophies
0
XP
445
Country
United States
This write up is very good. The only thing that wasn't covered is how to get the Box ART/thumbnails to display for my Mame & FBA Alpha games. I pointed RA to a folder via the settings tab, where i placed three folders with Box Art.

Named_Boxarts
Named_Snaps
Named_Titles

When i scroll through the Mame game list, no box art is displayed. :(
 

lordelan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,788
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,519
Country
Germany
This write up is very good. The only thing that wasn't covered is how to get the Box ART/thumbnails to display for my Mame & FBA Alpha games. I pointed RA to a folder via the settings tab, where i placed three folders with Box Art.

Named_Boxarts
Named_Snaps
Named_Titles

When i scroll through the Mame game list, no box art is displayed. :(
For the thumbs you need to have folders in your thumbnails folder which are named exactly as your playlists and the pictures must have the same names as the games.
Then activate it under settings -> appereance. You can only activate one at a time: Either boxarts, snaps or title screens.

Example for the Game Boy game Lucky Luke:

You must have these files (note that it's only an example as paths or names may differ):
Code:
sd:\roms\Nintendo - Game Boy\Lucky Luke (Europe).zip
sd:\retroarch\cores\playlists\Nintendo - Game Boy.lpl
sd:\retroarch\cores\thumbnails\Nintendo - GameBoy\Named_Boxarts\Lucky Luke (Europe).png
sd:\retroarch\cores\thumbnails\Nintendo - GameBoy\Named_Snaps\Lucky Luke (Europe).png
sd:\retroarch\cores\thumbnails\Nintendo - GameBoy\Named_Titles\Lucky Luke (Europe).png

Your playlist file should have this entry:
Code:
sd:\roms\Nintendo - Game Boy\Lucky Luke (Europe).zip
Lucky Luke
sd:\retroarch\cores\mgba.rpx
DETECT
DETECT
Nintendo - Game Boy.lpl
 
Last edited by lordelan, , Reason: "sd:\retroarch\cores\playlists\Nintendo - Game Boy.lpl" instead of "sd:\roms\cores\playlists\Nintendo - Game Boy.lpl"

morpheous

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
159
Trophies
0
XP
445
Country
United States
For the thumbs you need to have folders in your thumbnails folder which are named exactly as your playlists and the pictures must have the same names as the games.
Then activate it under settings -> appereance. You can only activate one at a time: Either boxarts, snaps or title screens.

Example for the Game Boy game Lucky Luke:

You must have these files (note that it's only an example as paths or names may differ):
Code:
sd:\roms\Nintendo - Game Boy\Lucky Luke (Europe).zip
sd:\retroarch\cores\playlists\Nintendo - Game Boy.lpl
sd:\retroarch\cores\thumbnails\Nintendo - GameBoy\Named_Boxarts\Lucky Luke (Europe).png
sd:\retroarch\cores\thumbnails\Nintendo - GameBoy\Named_Snaps\Lucky Luke (Europe).png
sd:\retroarch\cores\thumbnails\Nintendo - GameBoy\Named_Titles\Lucky Luke (Europe).png

Your playlist file should have this entry:
Code:
sd:\roms\Nintendo - Game Boy\Lucky Luke (Europe).zip
Lucky Luke
sd:\retroarch\cores\mgba.rpx
DETECT
DETECT
Nintendo - Game Boy.lpl

Thank you for replying, friend. I actually figured it out a few days ago. whew! ^_^
 
  • Like
Reactions: lordelan

filiphdan

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 23, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
96
XP
68
Country
Portugal
I have been folowing several tutorial for seting up retroarch, some doubts in what i should put in my system folder (wich bios files), can someone put a printscreen of the content of that folder?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pkYA4rALqEE