Restore Wii (PAL)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by feidhlim1986, Jan 22, 2009.

Jan 22, 2009

Restore Wii (PAL) by feidhlim1986 at 9:45 PM (5,814 Views / 0 Likes) 37 replies

  1. feidhlim1986
    OP

    Member feidhlim1986 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Ireland
    If I go into the Wii System Menu and format my Wii, will that delete ALL traces of homebrew/CIOS/Backup Loaders etc etc?

    I want to start soft modding my Wii from Scratch

    Thanks
     


  2. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    it removes all but CIOS
     
  3. feidhlim1986
    OP

    Member feidhlim1986 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Ireland
    What would be the easiest way to remove all CIOS? Perhaps use AnyTitle Deleter after I've formated my Wii?
     
  4. zeldafn333

    Member zeldafn333 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Massachusetts B)
    Country:
    United States
    No, you need to overwrite it with the original IOS I believe
    I may be wrong
     
  5. Rudolf

    Newcomer Rudolf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You're right. Deleting cIOS's will result in a brick, so don't. Install originals instead.
     
  6. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    LOADS have bricked their wii's using any title deleter - be sure you know EXACTLY what your doing before you use that program

    read for about 3 weeks before touching it.deleting an IOS WILL brick your wii if you pick the wrong one.
     
  7. feidhlim1986
    OP

    Member feidhlim1986 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Ireland
    Ok Thanks for the warning, is there a way to get these original ISO's or can only Nintendo do that? What about that Wii Backup Disc v1.31 thats floating around, would that be any help?
     
  8. SanGor

    Member SanGor Witchhunter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    993
    Country:
    United States
    there is no way to remove all traces PERIOD
    and a format just removes personal stuf.
     
  9. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    Wrong. It removes the logs.

    It removes the channels, but keeps the tickets.
     
  10. feidhlim1986
    OP

    Member feidhlim1986 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Ireland
    Ok, I think you guys have made me think I wont try to restore my Wii. I just thought having all those different CIOS's and different fixes etc might be hazardous.

    So is there really any danger in installing the latest Loaders and CIOS's as they are released?
     
  11. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Arm The Homeless, you are WRONG, it DOES remove the tickets!
    how do you think i removed all mine? from my old problem with title Lister and any title deleter etc...
    Format removes all tickets of old channels/saves etc....other than those legit ones you can get from wiishop
    it does not remove cIOS crap
     
  12. feidhlim1986
    OP

    Member feidhlim1986 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Ireland
    While I'm here, with these new few Loaders, booting from Disc Channel and whatnot, which would people recommend installing or should I stick with Gamma for now?
     
  13. richglix

    Newcomer richglix Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    In order to "uninstall" cioscorp, I would have to copy over the cios files with "virgin" or "originals", is that correct?

    Did Cioscorp back up these files when I installed it?
     
  14. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my view, recommend use Gamma/SoftChip, and don't touch installing all them fake cIOS crap......dangerous stuff, if you realise it or not* and you have the same compat with gamma aswell near enough....without that extra risk....why won't you just save all this time and get a chip anyway?

    should have backed them up before hand [​IMG] time to find them?
     
  15. richglix

    Newcomer richglix Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I suck! [​IMG] I'm sure I'll be able to track them down.

    My buddy has a virgin wii, is there a way to pull them off of that?

    (not that I NEED them yet, but they would be nice to have) [​IMG]
     
  16. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol yeah, plenty of ways, heres my favourite FTPii for one, search man search for it*
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Beatchu

    Member Beatchu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could he use cIOS uninstaller?
     
  18. feidhlim1986
    OP

    Member feidhlim1986 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Ireland
    Thanks djdynamite, you've been great help. I'll defo steer clear of filling my Wii with loadsa CIOS. Oh and chips cost money, i'm a cheap a$$ [​IMG]
     
  19. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok finley, i mean Hornswoggle [​IMG] lol, install it* it all down to you, what you want, what you want your wii to go through, hmm maybe the wii has feelings? maybe it could do with some new Operating files? hehe just keep reading up on the cioscorp etc.....and decide what you want to do, and Don't fuck up anywhere...
     
  20. feidhlim1986
    OP

    Member feidhlim1986 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Ireland
    Nah, since my original post was to get rid of the few CIOS I have, I dont think I want anymore:) I might try this as the alternative to CIOSCORP for Disc Channel Backup Loading.

    Also, I've noticed just now that my Retail NTSC Smash Bros. Brawl no longer works in my Gamma Channel and rebooter just hangs on a black screen??
    I'm on a PAL Wii 3.4E. I was in the mood to play Brawl:(
     

Share This Page