Homebrew [Release] GodMode9 Scripts Megathread

VashTS

Beat it, son
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,246
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Upstate NY
XP
3,076
Country
United States
is there a script that will install boot9strap without having to do anything but prep the sd card in my AK2i? i want an all in one solution to freshly hack a virgin 3ds.

i pretty much want:
1. install boot9strap
2. install FBI
3. install Luma (to sd and to NAND just in case)
4. install Luma Updater
5. install homebrew launcher
6. install freeshop

its not like i hack a ton of 3ds systems but i want to be ready that i can do it without a PC, just a magnet and my ak2i :)

im under the impression that i would need to at least add a (ntr)boot.firm to the target 3ds first (i presume that would be GM9 renamed to boot when the NTRBoot cart boots it up).
 
Last edited by VashTS,

windows_server_2003

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 13, 2017
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
350
Country
Japan
is there a script that will install boot9strap without having to do anything but prep the sd card in my AK2i? i want an all in one solution to freshly hack a virgin 3ds.

i pretty much want:
1. install boot9strap
2. install FBI
3. install Luma (to sd and to NAND just in case)
4. install Luma Updater
5. install homebrew launcher
6. install freeshop

its not like i hack a ton of 3ds systems but i want to be ready that i can do it without a PC, just a magnet and my ak2i :)

im under the impression that i would need to at least add a (ntr)boot.firm to the target 3ds first (i presume that would be GM9 renamed to boot when the NTRBoot cart boots it up).

1. Can
Code:
set FIRMPATH 0:/boot9strap/boot9strap.firm
verify $[FIRMPATH]
cp $[FIRMPATH] S:/firm0.bin
cp $[FIRMPATH] S:/firm1.bin

2. Can't
3. Can
Code:
cp 0:/boot.firm 1:/boot.firm
4. Can't
5. Can't
6. Can't

In short, GM9 can't install cias.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 8BitWonder

VashTS

Beat it, son
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,246
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Upstate NY
XP
3,076
Country
United States
1. Can
Code:
set FIRMPATH 0:/boot9strap/boot9strap.firm
verify $[FIRMPATH]
cp $[FIRMPATH] S:/firm0.bin
cp $[FIRMPATH] S:/firm1.bin

2. Can't
3. Can
Code:
cp 0:/boot.firm 1:/boot.firm
4. Can't
5. Can't
6. Can't

In short, GM9 can't install cias.

Can't launch FBI as a FIRM yet i suppose either?

Thanks for the info. I think I have it set up where its easy enough, but i guess a PC is required to get it all done :(
 

trecko1234

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2013
Messages
132
Trophies
0
XP
294
Country
United States
is there a script that will install boot9strap without having to do anything but prep the sd card in my AK2i? i want an all in one solution to freshly hack a virgin 3ds.

i pretty much want:
1. install boot9strap
2. install FBI
3. install Luma (to sd and to NAND just in case)
4. install Luma Updater
5. install homebrew launcher
6. install freeshop

its not like i hack a ton of 3ds systems but i want to be ready that i can do it without a PC, just a magnet and my ak2i :)

im under the impression that i would need to at least add a (ntr)boot.firm to the target 3ds first (i presume that would be GM9 renamed to boot when the NTRBoot cart boots it up).
https://gbatemp.net/threads/ntrpack-pc-less-b9s-install-using-ntrboot.481141/
 

windows_server_2003

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 13, 2017
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
350
Country
Japan
Can't launch FBI as a FIRM yet i suppose either?

Thanks for the info. I think I have it set up where its easy enough, but i guess a PC is required to get it all done :(
FBI on arm9(FIRM format) is not released.I don't know it's possible.

And sorry for not reading. You have to copy some files to the main SD card even if you use the script. or you have to compile GM9 with vram0.tar(a tar archive includes required files) in "data" dir yourself and access to them via V:.
GM9 can't access to a sd in flashcart now.
 

EddyBrual12

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 2, 2017
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
229
Country
So there is a script called "ctrtransfer_ticket_copy". This script somehow doesn't work for EmuNAND. Can anyone help mo or/and confirm this?
 

Maxmeas

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 12, 2018
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
65
Country
Switzerland
Is there a script to update the movable in the essentials.exefs? I think the file changes by doing a system transfer/system format, so there is no reason to keep the outdated one.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,879
Country
United States
Is there any gm9 script where you can automate renaming the 'Nintendo 3DS' folder?

I had this idea of surpassing the 300 title limit on a single SD card instead of having to swap back and forward between cards.

Here's the example
Let's say you have a 400 GB SanDisk micro SD card and want to install 500 titles... because you have hoarding issues but you reason to yourself that you NEED to have the entire 3DS collection with you at ALL times. (Not saying this is me and even so, we're not here to judge!) :ph34r:

You want to create two 'Nintendo 3DS' folders each having a split of 250 titles. Both folders are on the root of your SD card containing their respective collection of games.

Only one of the two folders can be named 'Nintendo 3DS' at any given time. The two folders when not in use are named, let's say, 'Nintendo 3DS (A)' and 'Nintendo 3DS (B)'.

In order to switch between libraries, you go to GodMode9 and run a script to rename these back and forward:

(A)
trade places with (B)
- Nintendo 3DS gets renamed to Nintendo 3DS (B)
- Nintendo 3DS (A) gets renamed to Nintendo 3DS

(B) trade places with (A)
- Nintendo 3DS gets renamed to Nintendo 3DS (A)
- Nintendo 3DS (B) gets renamed to Nintendo 3DS

The idea, if it works for two folders, should be extendable to more.


Edit - For safety measures, the script should pre-check the existence of both (A) and (B) named as Nintendo 3DS (A) and Nintendo 3DS (B) at the same. If it detects they are both named like that, it will refuse to run. If the script detects a folder named Nintendo 3DS but does not find Nintendo 3DS (A) -or- Nintendo 3DS (B), it will also refuse to run. If it does not detect a Nintendo 3DS folder, this too will make it refuse to run.

Edit #2 - I tried giving a go in making this script. Anyone know if GodMode9 can read directories with spaces? I tried typing this line of code:

Code:
find 0:/Nintendo 3DS NULL

but it gives me a bad argument warning. This find code will work for any of the other folders on SD root.
 
Last edited by TurdPooCharger,
D

Deleted User

Guest
I had this idea of surpassing the 300 title limit on a single SD card instead of having to swap back and forward between cards.
.

While I don't know the complete reasoning why (you can look it up there are tons of threads and information about it), it is impossible to bypass the 300 title limit. You would have to change the hardware itself. Not an easy fix.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,879
Country
United States
While I don't know the complete reasoning why (you can look it up there are tons of threads and information about it), it is impossible to bypass the 300 title limit. You would have to change the hardware itself. Not an easy fix.

The script doesn't violate the 300 title limit. For my example, you essentially have 250 + 250, or a total of 500 titles.

It just switches between folders. When you're on one Nintendo 3DS folder, the 3DS system doesn't acknowledge the other folder.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,879
Country
United States
Not that I'm aware of, I'll take a crack at this when I get the time today.

I asked d0k3 at his thread if GodMode9 is capable of reading folders with spaces, but he's away at the moment.
I don't think it can because I'm stump in trying to get my script to acknowledge that '0:/Nintendo 3DS' exists.

Edit: @SirNapkin1334 solved how you specify directories like that. To check if Nintendo 3DS folder exists:

Code:
set NIN0 "0:/Nintendo 3DS"
find "0:/Nintendo 3DS" NIN0

This script looks doable.

Not that I'm aware of, I'll take a crack at this when I get the time today.
@8BitWonder Hold that coding. Can you take a look and test my script?

I put in those safety measures as well.

Not sure in the last lines in that script, the 'mv' command, when to use -w , -k , -n (none of those three were added).

******************************
Switch_Nin3DS_folders
- optimized for two folders only, (A) and (B) name tracking. Please read the Update Changes Log for more information about this script.
see 8BitWonder's Swap Nintendo 3DS Folder , link here - for more than two folders named anything Nintendo 3DS[...]. His has name typing control.
Use both of our scripts for complete package!

Change_Nin3DS_#_Folders
- for three or four folders with (A), (B), (C), and (D) name tracking. Check post #112 here.
Edit #2 - In case anyone uses this Switch_Nin3DS_folders script, I slimmed it down in version 2 to make it run slightly faster and with one less button press than the original. This only does two folders and that's it.

If you have more than two Nintendo 3DS folders, use 8BitWonder's Swap Nintendo 3DS Folder script. * Better yet, use both.

Edit #3 - Reduced two more lines of code for v2.1

Edit #4 - In order for this script to work:
- Nintendo 3DS folder can't be missing
- The second folder must be named Nintendo 3DS (A) -or- Nintendo 3DS (B)
- You can't have both Nintendo 3DS (A) and Nintendo 3DS (B) at the same time

Edit #5 - Warning folder checks were reworded to be explicit how (A) and (B) should be named in v2.2

Edit #6 - The original v1.0 is left here for code analysis and cross comparison. GBAtemp file upload is messing up with file order placement. I wanted to keep the latest release to the left but it won't allow that any more.

Edit #7 - Version 2.3 now lets you run the script at the get go without having to pre-make a second folder. It will ask you to create a Nintendo 3DS folder if there isn't one. If both (A) and (B) are missing, it will also by default create folder (B). The only safety check retained is its refusal to run if you have (A) and (B) named folders at the same time.

Edit #8 - Version 2.4 will now check if folders (A) and (B) exists but not Nintendo 3DS. It will then load up (A) as Nintendo 3DS. If all three folders are missing, the script will create Nintendo 3DS and (A).

Edit #9 - Version 2.5 will now explicitly asks if you want to create Nintendo 3DS if it is missing but (A) or (B) is present. If both (A) and (B) are present but Nintendo 3DS is missing, it will instead ask if you would like to load up (A) as Nintendo 3DS. If you have Nintendo 3DS but no (A) or (B), it will ask you to create secondary folder (B), load up (B), and reassign your current Nintendo 3DS as (A). If you have none of those three folders, the script will ask to create Nintendo 3DS and a secondary folder. At any of these points when the script asks you, you may cancel the action and stop the script pressing the B button.
 

Attachments

  • Switch_Nin3DS_folders_v2.5.rar
    516 bytes · Views: 139
Last edited by TurdPooCharger,
  • Like
Reactions: I pwned U!

8BitWonder

Small Homebrew Dev
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
2,447
Trophies
1
Location
47 4F 54 20 45 45 4D
XP
4,570
Country
United States
Update 1/28/2018

Added one new script:
This script allows you to switch between Nintendo 3DS folders on your SD card. Should you have 300 titles installed to one Nintendo 3DS folder, you can switch to another and install more on there, then simply switch between them with this script.

Also for some reason I'm unable to upload an updated All Scripts.zip, so I'll include a link to it at the bottom of the thread.

Edit: I only just saw your message TurdPooCharger, @-ing someone in an edit won't actually ping them.
 
Last edited by 8BitWonder,
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
7,292
Trophies
2
XP
5,879
Country
United States
Update 1/28/2018

Added one new script:
This script allows you to switch between Nintendo 3DS folders on your SD card. Should you have 300 titles installed to one Nintendo 3DS folder, you can switch to another and install more on there, then imply switch between them with this script.

Also for some reason I'm unable to upload an updated All Scripts.zip, so I'll include a link to it at the bottom of the thread.

Edit: I only just saw your message TurdPooCharger, @-ing someone in an edit won't actually ping them.

* I couldn't post because it would be double posting.

Yah.. I just looked at yours. WAY cleaner and more flexible. Does your have a way to keep track which folder is really which (1,2,3... 9)?

Let's say 'Nintendo 3DS9' gets swapped with 'Nintendo 3DS'. is old 'Nintendo 3DS' renamed as 'Nintendo 3DS9'?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: Maybe return it, but first I'd check with an attorney