RedTemple (DS Entry)

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by azenris, May 6, 2011.

May 6, 2011

RedTemple (DS Entry) by azenris at 1:23 AM (4,173 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. azenris
    OP

    Newcomer azenris Newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Game: Red Temple
    Version: 1.5
    Platform: Nintendo DS

    Hi, someone mentioned me posting here. I'm not sure if I qualify. My game is not completely new although its gone under changes overtime.
    From the last update 1.4 to the recent one 1.5 here are some of the things I've done.

    * Game rewritten using the 3D engine, which gives much cleaner menus, variable width text and allows for more sprites/special effects
    * Ability to save and play replays of your games
    * Ability to adjust sound/music levels
    * Ability to change background colours
    * Smooth movement (the movement stuttered in an earlier version)
    * Enemies given onscreen health/mana/misc bars
    * Added special effects
    * Now almost 400 items
    * Equipment and charms added, to increase your stats
    * Ability to enchant equipment to create even better items
    * 56 Attributes, from simple things like HP, AR to abilities like 'Rebirth' and 'Bomb Expert'
    * Multiple types of weapons such as Mines, bombs, swords, guns etc.
    * More enemies added from mine/bomb layers to tough creatures you need to summon yourself
    * Enemies given spells
    * Elements added into game, fire/ice/electric/poison and normal damage
    * Lots of recipes added
    * More medals added
    * New playable char 'Dip' added (starts locked)
    * Perks, allowing you to further personalise your character

    This has essentially changed the style of game too, from being a puzzle-based game, to more action-puzzle, as you collect gear and battle enemies while completing the levels.

    Anyway, I saw no harm in posting, if it's not what you're looking for, it's ok [​IMG]

    Pics:
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]


    GAME: download here
    Mini-guide on game: Red Temple Starter Guide
     


  2. relminator

    Member relminator GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    Philippines
    Yo Azenris! Welcome and good luck!

    Try to use "picturelinky" for images. Just replace with [].
     
  3. azenris
    OP

    Newcomer azenris Newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Red Temple 1.5a

    It was reported to me a bug with the Flame Boots, after some testing I realised there was some buggy code with the attribute "Mana Drain".
    I've now actually changed how mana drain works, instead of being percentage based it will drain a specific amount.
    I did this to balance its effectiveness against lesser mana pools and weaken it against larger ones.

    Some other changes include:

    * I smoothed out the fading, sometimes an image got stuck on the screen
    * I changed recipes to 99 max stackable
    * The DoT effects from "Bleeds/ElectrBurn/Poison" etc have been changed. I increased their damage slightly but they wont always apply each hit.
    * You will now start with 2 recipes
    * Increased the max stackable of the sets: Blue/Leaf/Light/Red/Yellow/Glass
    * Added more default items to the assignable items
    * The first 8 recipes start revealed in the recipebook (up from 4)
    * Added 15 seconds to the 'Water Park' TimeAttack level (making it 1m15s)
    * LifeLeech limited to draining once per second
    * Starting weapon 'ElectroSword' has had its damage changed from -3 to -1
    * Lowered the shop price of 'Apple' to 1000 (from 1500)
    * Lowered the shop price of 'Orange' to 2250 (from 3000)
    * Increased the shop price of 'Bannana' to 6000 (from 5500)
    * Increased the shop price of 'Pear' to 9000 (from 8000)
    * Increased the effect of a 'Bannana' from 25 to 30
    * Increased the effect of a 'Pear' from 40 to 50
    * Increased Max Stackable of 'Adrenline' from 25 to 30
    * Increased Max Stackable of 'PhoenixGem' from 3 to 4
    * Increased Max Stackable of 'PhoenixClaw' from 1 to 2
    * Changed the main menu music so its random between 2 tracks

    WARNING!!

    Unfortunately you will run into problems if you use your old save data. So you will have to delete the '.dat' (RedTemple.dat) from your cart before using the new version. Sorry! [​IMG]
    If you dont delete the file it might appear to run fine, but will eventually crash. You need to delete the '.dat' file not just delete the file. You need it to create a whole new save. As said, sorry [​IMG]

    Just mentioning twice so noone misses it!

    I really should implement a way of updating the game and keep older savefiles!

    Red Temple 1.5a: Download
     
  4. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Good luck azenris !
     
  5. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    This looks kind of like old-style dungeon crawlers. Neat. I'm going to download this. Looks fun.
     
  6. Sir_Voe

    Member Sir_Voe GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    United States
    It is indeed very fun. I spend almost as much time experimenting with item mixing and cashing in my medals as I do with the actual core gameplay. There's so much to this game, and it all seems very thoughtfully balanced.
    I wish there was a big community for this homebrew like there would have been at the height of the DS homebrew scene, because I would love to share gameplay tips and recipies with other players, but I guess a nice part of the experience is finding effective tactics and discovering recepies on your own.
     
  7. azenris
    OP

    Newcomer azenris Newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, Just making sure none of you have had any major problems with the game?
    Although the comp has finished accepting updates I will still attempt any needed fixes [​IMG]
     
  8. alidsl

    Member alidsl I am now a lurker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,823
    Location:
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    downloading now but it looks pretty damn cool
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I've played a few levels off and on, and don't remember anything going wrong.
     
  10. BigLord

    Member BigLord GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    Portugal
    It doesn't work on DSTT, should it?
     
  11. azenris
    OP

    Newcomer azenris Newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unfortunately all I have is a M3 Simply for testing. Not sure what makes/breaks things between cards.
    Ensure the software used supports ARGV at least.
     
  12. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,432
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I played it a little and I can see you spent a lot of time on it.
    There are so many menu, option, items, sprites, and even a lot of trophies/achievement to unlock !


    Though, I find it very hard [​IMG]
    I completed the tutorial, but I can't pass Story level4 (first rocky level). enemies are hitting from distance, other enemies are grabbing me and killing me too quickly.
    There is spike floor so I can't go back to the opened door [​IMG]

    I'll try it again, maybe I'm missing something.
    Level 3 was already tricky, I had to play it in a certain order and move quickly before the enemies spawned. I guess that's what was intended when designing the level.
     
  13. azenris
    OP

    Newcomer azenris Newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For level 4 I suggest
    * forget the additional things (map/fish/totem) till you have better gear
    * move quickly in room guarded with spikes, you might be able to get in and out using the invincibility given after taken damage
    * you can extend the invincibility after damage using adrenline/pure juice
    * make sure you stock up on potions
    * use the gold from tutorial to buy some better gear
     
  14. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,432
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Thanks for the advises, I'll try it.
    And I bought the complete golden armor set thanks to all the tutorial rewards [​IMG]
     
  15. alidsl

    Member alidsl I am now a lurker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,823
    Location:
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I this error

    "guru meditation error, data abort!"

    running with a DStwo
     
  16. azenris
    OP

    Newcomer azenris Newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When did it happen, do you remember what you was attempting to do.
    If it ever happens again the number after "pc:" would be helpful to me [​IMG]
     
  17. Hannah

    Newcomer Hannah Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    This is a puzzle game where you collect gear and battle enemies.
     
  18. alidsl

    Member alidsl I am now a lurker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,823
    Location:
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It happens every time I run the game (on root of card or in a folder), the game doesn't even start

    the number after pc is "00000204"
     
  19. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    When I create savedata (yes I know it's supposed to go black for a few moments) it goes black, and then stays like that for upwards of 4-5 minutes. Is that normal?
     
  20. slenkar

    Newcomer slenkar Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    when i start the game in an emulator it works

    when i put it on my R4 cart the screens just go blank and nothing happens
     

Share This Page