Recovered from what I thought was a full brick, strange way of fixing

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by adamja, Nov 16, 2009.

  1. adamja
    OP

    Newcomer adamja Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I had some issues with my Wii, from accidentally causing what appeared to be a full brick. At first it seemed that the bluetooth module went bad as no wiimotes would synch. So I hooked up a gamecube controller up to the wii so I can navigate the preloader menu. Accidentally clicked the upgrade to preloader and it locked up and froze up... After a couple hours with it just sitting there while I searched around on what to do, I decided to power it off and on. As it booted back up, nothing came up, no preloader menu or system menu, just a black screen. For searching around there was basically nothing I can do, so I gave up and decided to "fry" the wii and send it back to nintendo.

    To fry the wii I plugged it into an outlet, powered it up, and poored a bit of water inside... It instantly shut off and gave off a good smoky smell. Thought I was successful, but about 12 hours later I decided to plug it back and and check it out. The power light light up, but when I powered it on it actually would not turn on, just a yellow light. At this time I was pressing the red synch button and the reset button at the same time, and the power light was flickering kind of funny. Still thought I was successful at frying my wii.

    So about 24 hours later, I decided to test it out one more time before calling Nintendo. I was shocked on what happened next, the Wii booted up to the system menu and everything was fine... So what fixed it? Did I cause something inside the Nintendo to reset the system menu?

    Still had all my channels installed, Homebrew and all. At this point, my wife wanted me to remove all the hacks so that we don't accidentally brick it again, so I did and now I have a perfect virgin wii. I used the following guide to make it a virgin: How to remove softmods and make your Wii a virgin

    Anyone have any thoughts how this could have fixed it? Hope it may help someone, but please don't pour water in your wii thinking it will fix a bricked wii, as this was done out of desperation. Thankfully didn't have to send it off to Nintendo.
     
  2. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    sheer blind luck
     
  3. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    Oh god...you poured water into it? Good way to electrocute yourself. Words can not describe what I'm thinking right now. [​IMG]

    No, if it works now, chances are it wasn't as broken as you thought it was. You're lucky that it works after pouring water in there and turning it on.
     
  4. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    This is the fucking worst thing I´ve ever heard... If you have to send it in hopefully you´ll have to pay the full price for fixing it. This is more then stupid. You should not even own a Wii. [​IMG]
     
  5. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That's certainly one of the more unique approaches to a bricked Wii I've ever seen... congrats?
     
  6. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that made me laugfh when he poured water in it, from a person reading a forum post point of view roflmao
     
  7. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    First things first, it's just a known sync issue, preloader can't sync wiimotes if they are out of sync... you need to launch system menu, hbc won't sync them either... using the gamecube controller is the right step...

    I doubt the sincereness of this yet I feel lucky not being in the same country as you... I saw lots of remarks like this around here so I'll speak my mind...

    How is it right to damage something to disguise as if it's broken by itself? You clearly know the act you're doing decrease the costs of your service fee but increase it for anyone in the same country with you... I really wonder what does make you feel right?
     
  8. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,385
    Country:
    Sweden
    Well, I really thing the only reason that might hade worked is that you hade it powered off for a long time.
     
  9. adamja
    OP

    Newcomer adamja Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Electrocute myself? Doubt it, worse it could have is screwed up the electrical in my house, but since I had it plugged into a GFI outlet, it wouldn't have done it. Kind of knowing what I am doing since I am electrician [​IMG].


    The problem started with the system menu not being able to synch the remotes, and could not resynch at all. The issue with the preloader came in when I accidentally clicked the upgrade button in preloader trying to navigate it with my GC remote (The true stupid mistake I made). How is doing this any worse then hacking the Wii and playing copied games like most people on this forum? Heck breaking my Wii costs Nintendo a lot less money than all the people playing illegally copied games.

    But good thing is I don't have to send it in, as it all works for some reason. Now I have a virgin wii with no hacks, and no plan to put any hacks on it again.
     

Share This Page