Hacking Recovered from what I thought was a full brick, strange way of fixing

adamja

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 16, 2009
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
I had some issues with my Wii, from accidentally causing what appeared to be a full brick. At first it seemed that the bluetooth module went bad as no wiimotes would synch. So I hooked up a gamecube controller up to the wii so I can navigate the preloader menu. Accidentally clicked the upgrade to preloader and it locked up and froze up... After a couple hours with it just sitting there while I searched around on what to do, I decided to power it off and on. As it booted back up, nothing came up, no preloader menu or system menu, just a black screen. For searching around there was basically nothing I can do, so I gave up and decided to "fry" the wii and send it back to nintendo.

To fry the wii I plugged it into an outlet, powered it up, and poored a bit of water inside... It instantly shut off and gave off a good smoky smell. Thought I was successful, but about 12 hours later I decided to plug it back and and check it out. The power light light up, but when I powered it on it actually would not turn on, just a yellow light. At this time I was pressing the red synch button and the reset button at the same time, and the power light was flickering kind of funny. Still thought I was successful at frying my wii.

So about 24 hours later, I decided to test it out one more time before calling Nintendo. I was shocked on what happened next, the Wii booted up to the system menu and everything was fine... So what fixed it? Did I cause something inside the Nintendo to reset the system menu?

Still had all my channels installed, Homebrew and all. At this point, my wife wanted me to remove all the hacks so that we don't accidentally brick it again, so I did and now I have a perfect virgin wii. I used the following guide to make it a virgin: How to remove softmods and make your Wii a virgin

Anyone have any thoughts how this could have fixed it? Hope it may help someone, but please don't pour water in your wii thinking it will fix a bricked wii, as this was done out of desperation. Thankfully didn't have to send it off to Nintendo.
 

9th_Sage

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
1,481
Trophies
0
Website
twitter.com
XP
104
Country
United States
Oh god...you poured water into it? Good way to electrocute yourself. Words can not describe what I'm thinking right now.
tongue.gif


No, if it works now, chances are it wasn't as broken as you thought it was. You're lucky that it works after pouring water in there and turning it on.
 

G0dLiKe

who needs a title ;)
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
1,674
Trophies
0
Website
db.tt
XP
206
Country
United States
adamja said:
To fry the wii I plugged it into an outlet, powered it up, and poored a bit of water inside...

This is the fucking worst thing I´ve ever heard... If you have to send it in hopefully you´ll have to pay the full price for fixing it. This is more then stupid. You should not even own a Wii.
blink.gif
 

WiiCrazy

Be water my friend!
Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
2,395
Trophies
0
Location
Istanbul
Website
www.tepetaklak.com
XP
386
Country
First things first, it's just a known sync issue, preloader can't sync wiimotes if they are out of sync... you need to launch system menu, hbc won't sync them either... using the gamecube controller is the right step...

QUOTE said:
To fry the wii I plugged it into an outlet, powered it up, and poored a bit of water inside...

I doubt the sincereness of this yet I feel lucky not being in the same country as you... I saw lots of remarks like this around here so I'll speak my mind...

How is it right to damage something to disguise as if it's broken by itself? You clearly know the act you're doing decrease the costs of your service fee but increase it for anyone in the same country with you... I really wonder what does make you feel right?
 

linuxares

I'm not a generous god!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
10,207
Trophies
2
XP
12,680
Country
Sweden
Well, I really thing the only reason that might hade worked is that you hade it powered off for a long time.
 

adamja

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 16, 2009
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
Electrocute myself? Doubt it, worse it could have is screwed up the electrical in my house, but since I had it plugged into a GFI outlet, it wouldn't have done it. Kind of knowing what I am doing since I am electrician
smile.gif
.


WiiCrazy said:
First things first, it's just a known sync issue, preloader can't sync wiimotes if they are out of sync... you need to launch system menu, hbc won't sync them either... using the gamecube controller is the right step...

I doubt the sincereness of this yet I feel lucky not being in the same country as you... I saw lots of remarks like this around here so I'll speak my mind...

How is it right to damage something to disguise as if it's broken by itself? You clearly know the act you're doing decrease the costs of your service fee but increase it for anyone in the same country with you... I really wonder what does make you feel right?

The problem started with the system menu not being able to synch the remotes, and could not resynch at all. The issue with the preloader came in when I accidentally clicked the upgrade button in preloader trying to navigate it with my GC remote (The true stupid mistake I made). How is doing this any worse then hacking the Wii and playing copied games like most people on this forum? Heck breaking my Wii costs Nintendo a lot less money than all the people playing illegally copied games.

But good thing is I don't have to send it in, as it all works for some reason. Now I have a virgin wii with no hacks, and no plan to put any hacks on it again.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://www.pcgamesn.com/steam-deck/valve-requests-turkey-fryer-return lul