Recording DS Game Play!

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by mbcrazed, Feb 2, 2013.

Feb 2, 2013

Recording DS Game Play! by mbcrazed at 12:25 AM (1,085 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. mbcrazed
    OP

    Member mbcrazed GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Hiding somewhere in your .dll files.
    Country:
    China
    Can someone please tell me how people record there DS game play? The video quality looks great and I was planning on doing an LP! Thanks Tempers!~
     
  2. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye D:

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,587
    Location:
    Doing your mom
    Country:
    Norway
    Probably using an emulator, and a screen recording program like Fraps.
     
  3. mbcrazed
    OP

    Member mbcrazed GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Hiding somewhere in your .dll files.
    Country:
    China
    Oh... I never see the Fraps watermark when they're recording, so that can't be it!

    Edit: Unless desmume has really really good quality?
     
  4. ivobhz

    Newcomer ivobhz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Belo Horizonte
    Country:
    Brazil
    If you mean image quality, desmume is very good, yes. And Fraps only show watermarks on free versions.
     
    mbcrazed likes this.
  5. Vappy

    Member Vappy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,496
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    FRAPS doesn't have a watermark... the demo version just limits you to 30 seconds of recording instead of watermarking stuff.
     
    ct_bolt likes this.
  7. KazoWAR

    Member KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,752
    Location:
    Winter Haven
    Country:
    United States
    DeSmuME has an built in avi recorder that produces perfect 100% speed recordings no matter how slow it lags.
     
    ct_bolt, Ron, mbcrazed and 1 other person like this.
  8. mbcrazed
    OP

    Member mbcrazed GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Hiding somewhere in your .dll files.
    Country:
    China
    Oh, Okay!~ Sweet! This is some very helpful info! I'm thinking of dumping my heartgold cart to play, so thanks for this again!~
     
  9. weavile001

    Member weavile001 Spiritmaster

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,794
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    Brazil
    you can use camtasia studio 7/8.
     
  10. mbcrazed
    OP

    Member mbcrazed GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Hiding somewhere in your .dll files.
    Country:
    China
    Does it stop at a specific time, or does it have a time limit?
     
  11. weavile001

    Member weavile001 Spiritmaster

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,794
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    Brazil
    you just have to find the serial on the net.
    otherwise, it's a free 30-days trial.
     
    mbcrazed likes this.
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Desmume's built-in recording would be better, now that I've tried it and confirm it timescales properly.
     
  13. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    That it does. The only way you'll notice lag is if a clock appears on the touch or top screen during gameplay, like in Pokemon. Other than that, use Desmume's recorder. Using FRAPS or Camtasia will record all of the lag.
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I know that Desmume will change the written framerate to be consistent (I guess by delaying the frame write until it's emulated each time), but does it deal with the audio samples the same way?
     
  15. dj4uk6cjm

    Member dj4uk6cjm GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    United States
    Camtasia is good, if you have a fast computer that is...
     
  16. mbcrazed
    OP

    Member mbcrazed GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Hiding somewhere in your .dll files.
    Country:
    China
    I can test it and put it here if you'd like me to do that?
     

Share This Page