Recommended GTA IV PC requirements

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Satangel, Sep 14, 2008.

Sep 14, 2008
  1. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Here are the recommended requirements for GTA IV PC, that is coming out 21 november 2008

    Processor: Dual core processor (Intel Pentium D or better)
    RAM: 2GB
    Hard Drive: 18GB free hard disk space
    Video Card: 512MB Direct3D 10 compatible video card or Direct3D 9 card compatible with Shader
    Drive: DVD-ROM dual-layer drive

    Remember, these are recommended requirements, so these are to play the game on good/maximum graphics.
    The minimum requirements aren't out yet.

    Source
     
  2. mcjones92

    Member mcjones92 Forest Fam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    In the ghetto
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting, I didn't know it came out for the PC.
     
  3. Foxle

    Member Foxle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Country:
    United States
    If those are the recommended requirements, then you better have one kick ass Gaming PC. I'm sickened at the requirements of the latest round of console ports (Devil May Cry 4, Assassin's Creed, Mass Effect, etc). If Valve can get their games looking good on older machines, than there's no reason that these games shouldn't be able to either.

    I've been a PC gamer for years now, and the only next generation console I've owned has been a Wii. However, the PC game manufactures have made it clear that they're not interested in porting these console games over well, so this summer I finally caved and bought a 360. It just came down in price, so it's probably cheaper just to buy one of them than to update your video card / ram.
     
  4. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thats why i like console gaming as you are not forced to upgrade your pc every year because your pc is "out of date" already, just plug and play with a console, no hardware upgrades, on top of that it must cost a bit for ram graphic cards e.t .c, lol the price of the latest graphic card cost as much as a ps3, is it really worth it? i guess a pc fanboy will say otherwise [​IMG]
     
  5. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    I actually pass all the recommended requirements. 2 months people [​IMG]
     
  6. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    I don't pass all the recommended requirements, but I never thought I would. I'm going to get a new computer sooner or later anyway so it doesn't matter.
     
  7. Hit

    Member Hit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That aren't very high requirements for recommended requirements, that's a bad thing
     
  8. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    I need more RAM
     
  9. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Woah, wait. What? Devil May Cry 4 was a great port! The system requirements weren't crazy like Assassin's Creed or Mass Effect. I don't have a "kick ass Gaming PC" but I was still running DMC4 on decent settings at 1024x768 and it looked great, whilst AC and ME didn't want to run at all.

    But yeah, most ports are pig disgusting.
     
  10. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Not the GTA ports. Resolution, graphics and controls are usually much better for the PC versions of the game.
     
  11. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    not to shabby, I can run it max I guess, but i won't waste my money
     
  12. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not to mention a load of awesome mods.
     
  13. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    hot coffee anyone?
     
  14. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    System requirements for Devil May Cry 4...

    -CPU: Intel® Pentium® 4 processor supporting HT Technology or higher
    (Recommended: Intel® Core?2 Duo processor or higher)
    -Main Memory: Windows® XP : at least 512MB (Recommended: at least 1GB)
    Windows Vista? : at least 1GB (Recommended: at least 2GB)
    -Video Card: DirectX®9.0c/Shader3.0 compatible, VRAM256MB,
    NVIDIA® GeForce® 6600 series or higher
    *excluding NVIDIA® GeForce® 7300 series
    (Recommended: NVIDIA® GeForce® 8600 series or higher)
    -Sound Card: DirectX®9.0c compatible sound cards
    -DVD-ROM Drive: DVD9 compatible drive
    -Monitor: 640x480 (VGA) or higher (Recommended: 1280x720 or higher)
    -Input Devices: Mouse & Keyboard required (Recommended: Xbox 360® Controller for Windows®)
    -Hard Disk Space: at least 8GB

    I don't see anything sickening about those requirements. 512mb minimum to run the game on XP, ram is dirt cheap these days. I think I got 4GB of ram a few months ago for €65.
    For the graphics card, it's possible to run it on a card that's 4 years old. Granted it won't look the best, but to play a game you don't always need the best settings turned on. Up until a year ago, I managed to play most modern games on a system that was 6 years old, until I decided I finally needed to upgrade. I find most people who state you need to upgrade every year either clueless, or are the sort who purchase weak systems to begin with and do no research. The most expensive part for a pc you can find isn't always the best....


    I can see the minimum requirements for GTA 4 being quite low. Probably a shader model 3 card, so possibly a geforce 6800 or higher and 1gb of ram, though that's just a guess. [​IMG]
     
  15. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    I pass all of those quite easily...I'll definitely be grabbing GTA IV when it's out...
     
  16. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I can run it at max too [​IMG]
    This PC is about 6 months old.
    But no one mentioned the massive space needed on your harddisk yet.
    18GB, that isn't normal anymore!
    FFS, that will be at least 2 DVD's to download, oh I hate that.

    Lucky me I will buy this game (yes, I'm serious), because I want to go online (prolly possible without buying it) and I want the next GTA to be on the PC too.
     
  17. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Honestly, right now 2GB is all people need anyway. Any extra performance for more RAM is unnoticeable (until higher spec games come out ofc). Then again, it's cheap, so why not?

    Also, I expected to meet recommended, and I did, so all is okay. I also played GTA IV for the first time on Sunday(yes, I am behind on the times), and the graphics were gorgeous for a game so huge. If the PC version is even higher resolution it'll look gorgeous (which it will be, as they've said).
     
  18. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes!! i can run it on my onboard graphics card!

    Wicked [​IMG]

    (if you don't sense the sarcastic in that then you fail. Horribly.
     

Share This Page