Hacking Reboot while in GC Mode through press of all buttons on gamepad?

Harakiri23

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 28, 2007
Messages
37
Trophies
1
XP
226
Country
United States
Having a wireless gamecube controller is nice, but you still need to stand up and reboot the wii to play another gamecube game - even when you have a multi iso with a few games - you have to stand up (yes im lazy) because
the wiimote will not work in gc-mode and press power on/off.

However, similar to NDS Roms, where a patcher has an option to trigger reboot upon pressing all gamepad keys - it should be possible to have a memory hook that listens for all keypresses at once and just reboots the console.

Anyone have any sample code i could integrate into the multiiso launcher?


edit,

yeah the long stick and monkey ideas are great, and funny - but even then - dont you wish you could at least return to the wii mode without standing up? when you launch a gamecube game - you cant go back to your homebrew apps - you have to reboot
 

UranusKiller

TranceMaster
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
960
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Redcar, England, UK.
Website
djdynamite.freeforums.org
XP
308
Country
lazyness, never know might be fixed sometime but for now haha get off you ass
tongue.gif
 

fishears

fishears
Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
696
Trophies
0
Website
code.google.com
XP
126
Country
But seriously, I have a qoob chip in my Gamecube and you could activate an option to let you reboot in a game by holding L + R + Start (I think that was it - it's been a long time since I fired up the GC)

So, I do know where you're coming from because I did use it myself if I'd got stuck (or screwed something up) in a game and wanted to restart from my last save....
 

drmarvin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
319
Trophies
1
Age
47
Location
Canada
XP
446
Country
Canada
Of course there are all the "lazy" jokes, but who didn't enjoy the Start/Back/Triggers reboot on a modded XBox? I know I did. I think it's a great idea if it can be implemented. I always thought that the GC options were a little lacking. I know it's because GC runs just like a GC, and since it had no dash or menu, it wasn't an issue, but it would still be a nice addition.
 

drmarvin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
319
Trophies
1
Age
47
Location
Canada
XP
446
Country
Canada
Then I think something similar to the XBox would be good. The likelyhood of hitting L/R triggers and START, or L/R buttons and START in-game would be pretty low, and I think it would be convenient.
 

Harakiri23

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 28, 2007
Messages
37
Trophies
1
XP
226
Country
United States
Zeek03 said:
But what if you press all GC buttons at once accidentally?
ohmy.gif

im not even sure thats possible - but the easiest solution would be that you have to keep them pressed for a few seconds - then you really cant say it was accidentally

btw, thanks for the laughs, the stick, the monkey etc ideas were all great =)
 

SilverSurfR

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
245
Trophies
0
Location
NJ, USA
XP
56
Country
United States
Harakiri23 said:
Zeek03 said:
But what if you press all GC buttons at once accidentally?
ohmy.gif

im not even sure thats possible - but the easiest solution would be that you have to keep them pressed for a few seconds - then you really cant say it was accidentally

btw, thanks for the laughs, the stick, the monkey etc ideas were all great =)

Basically any combination of buttons that include "start" would be difficult to press and hold for a second or 2 accidentally.
You can hold start, B, and X, and it will reset your GC game, think this was carried over from the NGC. Would be nice to go back to the sys menu though without getting up.
 

D-Jay

High rulez
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
555
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Home
XP
550
Country
Germany
SilverSurfR said:
Basically any combination of buttons that include "start" would be difficult to press and hold for a second or 2 accidentally.
You can hold start, B, and X, and it will reset your GC game, think this was carried over from the NGC. Would be nice to go back to the sys menu though without getting up.

Think so, too. Everytime I want to change a game on multigame-disc, I have to stand up, boot up Wii an select the new game...
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    NinStar @ NinStar: It will actually make it worse