RB2 Patched to PAL?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by CIJC, Jan 15, 2009.

Jan 15, 2009

RB2 Patched to PAL? by CIJC at 11:00 PM (1,714 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. CIJC
    OP

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hey guys!

    im running cioscorp, which mean's i can only play my own region backups from the system menu...

    sooooo... if i patch an NTSC copy of Rock Band 2 to PAL with 'RegionFrii'....

    will it work?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Snave2008

    Member Snave2008 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ummm I don't know why or how. But I have a PAL Wii with 3.2E + Starfall + CIOSCORP and my NTSC Rock Band 2 plays fine through the Disk channel.

    Can someone else with a RB2 and a PAL Wii give this a shot?

    I'm going to download some more NTSC games and see if I have a miracle Wii!
     
  3. Maximillion

    Newcomer Maximillion Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah Alot of NTSC work for me for some reason, I dont understand it either
     
  4. Snave2008

    Member Snave2008 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yup just double checked and it works perfectly.

    Seems crazy that people are working towards this functionality and some of us already have it?!

    Anything to do with the fact that I upgraded to 3.4 then downgraded to 3.2e, then installed starfall, then installed CIOSCORP?

    Is it just as simple as the order of installation?!
     
  5. CIJC
    OP

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thats sooooo wierd.... mine just isn't recognised [​IMG] maybe it was a bad rip/burn
     
  6. Logan

    Member Logan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    599
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't know what the issue is. Install StarFall and enable the region free. Job done.
     
  7. Mitnik

    Newcomer Mitnik Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Ashton-Under-Lyne
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I downgraded from 3.3v1 to 3.2, Installed Starfall with all Patches and the CIOSCORP in the order the WADs came and I've tried 6 NTSC games on my PAL Wii (We Cheer, Summer Sports 2, Rock Band 2, NeoPets Puzzle Adventure, Neighbourhood Games, Baroque) and they have all worked without problem.

    I do have a LEH200 Wii and I'm wondering if thats what makes the difference here.
     
  8. Jizmo

    Member Jizmo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    500
    Country:
    United States
    I think what you'll find is that You have a NTSC copy of the game that is Region Patched to PAL. Load the ISO image with W.i.U. 1.1 and I'll bet it shows up as PAL Region with NTSC Game code. 4th character of Game ID E=NTSC USA, P=PAL
     
  9. crezwell

    Member crezwell GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Cannock,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My copy is regionfrii'd to pal and works fine on pal machine, so you'll have no problems.
    My only concern is the Music Store. Pal users cant download anything yet because its not been released here, but does patching it to pal just trick the Wii into thinking the games pal or will it also trick the music store aswell?
    I guess what im asking is where does the check for DLC region apply? I dont want to unlock all the songs on my version only to have to "obtain" a native version and start again to get DLC.
     
  10. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    Wouldn't it be easier to just install starfall. I have starfall and cioscorp and games from other regions are working perfectly.
     
  11. Snave2008

    Member Snave2008 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Jizmo - Just checked with W.i.U 1.1 and it absolutely is a NTSC copy of Rock Band 2.

    Game ID is SZAE.

    Any more ideas why this works on some but not others?
     
  12. Mb*

    Newcomer Mb* Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland!!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]
    By any chance did u download the RB2 iso, that was wiiscrubbed?
    cos i did that and it did not load ( i have cioscorp), did region frii work?


    and i think i was talkin to you on wiihackwii lol
     
  13. Mb*

    Newcomer Mb* Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland!!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just region friied my NTSC rock band 2, still no success



    Bummmmerrrrr
     
  14. bozzer123

    Member bozzer123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    works fine on my wii but when i take it to my friends house it just freezes (i have cioscorp and so does he)
     
  15. Mb*

    Newcomer Mb* Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland!!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hmmm [​IMG]

    u both on 3.2?

    both with starfall?
     
  16. bozzer123

    Member bozzer123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes
     
  17. Agjsdfd

    Member Agjsdfd My title

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,208
    Location:
    Arctica
    Country:
    NTSC games works fine for me without patching. Tested games: Animal Crossing, Naruto Clash of Ninja Revolution.
    I am on 3.2E and got starfall.
    CIOSCORP rox! If any new ios comes out, it can be patched easily, i think. I can finally use waninkokos save extractor/installer. CIOSCORP is a better solution than the old Wiikey. Also got Wiigator 002 fixed installed just in case.
    But till now I had no prob with any games.
     
  18. burrellbloke

    Newcomer burrellbloke Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For some reason a NTSC version RB2 refuses to work when PAL50 is forced on 3.2E. Try using PAL60?
     
  19. Mb*

    Newcomer Mb* Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland!!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I reckon that the RB2 file i downloaded was badly compressed,
    i made 2 burns, one was region friied no success

    No more heroes NTSC works brill with my CIOSCORP and starfall on 3.2e

    daaamn, wasted 2 good dvds:(
     

Share This Page