Random Shutdown

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by papyrus, Apr 14, 2010.

Apr 14, 2010

Random Shutdown by papyrus at 1:20 PM (1,565 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. papyrus
    OP

    Member papyrus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Nipa Hut
    Country:
    Philippines
    i had this computer for nearly a year now. Had installed a win7 ultimate a little more 2 months ago. (activated version) and since then no problem encountered. I installed a Graphics card a month ago (palit gt 9500 1gb ddr2). Just recently i experience random shutdown. What are the possible causes of this problem? I googled some but none of them will actually help me resolve this problem.

    System:
    Athlon 64 x2 dual core 5200+
    Win7 ultimate oS 64 bit
    Asrock mobo NVS-pv 1.40
    2 gb RAM
    Graphics card: palit 1 gb GT 9500+
     
  2. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Was any warning sign popping up on the screen or was literally off in an instant?
     
  3. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can your power supply deal with the load?
     
  4. Jemlee

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan
    Alright... try this so i can have a look. run trend micro hijackthis and save a log file then post the result here on this thread.

    http://download.cnet.com/Trend-Micro-Hijac...4-10227353.html

    DO NOT click fix the issues, they are not issues - they just show what's running.

    P.S. I'm doing this to check for virus related issues not hardware, we'll see how it goes.
     
  5. Akotan

    Member Akotan Mathematical!

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    558
    Country:
    Brazil
    clean your pc fans. I had the same problem once and it was restarting because it was overheating. when some tech expert saw it inside, it was full of dust! huahuahauhauha

    it was horrible!
     
  6. papyrus
    OP

    Member papyrus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Nipa Hut
    Country:
    Philippines
    No warning signs. Its like pulling the power without actually shutting it down properly.
    @arctic: I think so its been working since i bought it, but i need to get a better supply ATM it might fix that. Having issues with my supply as well. (i got a cheap one) I might be replacing it soon
    @jemlee: let my try that one as well. most likely this is hardware issue, but still ill try.
     
  7. Jemlee

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan
    yeah it might be hardware but post that log to check if it's malware. I'll look through it.
     
  8. papyrus
    OP

    Member papyrus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Nipa Hut
    Country:
    Philippines
    @jemlee: Yeah. it seems i cant create a log file. I looked it up myself it seems normal for me. haha. i look what i can do to create the log file so u can check as well.
     
  9. Jemlee

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan
    hmmmm, if you you say it looks pretty normal then i guess it can't be that bad... I just wanna help so yea.

    anyway, it is probably a hardware issue like you said so i dunno how to help on that... if it's overheating use speedfan to check the temp or something.

    Besides this i'm kinda lost myself unless I'm there with you to open your pc. [​IMG]
     
  10. flamingo24

    Member flamingo24 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    It sounds like a PSU issue, you say it started after you upgraded the graphics? What are the specs on the power supply? What is 12v amp rating?
     
  11. delta123

    Member delta123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Hyougo, Japan
    Country:
    Australia
    i have the problem with my computer all the time and it is usually when i watch a movie. i have never had a problem with win vista but with win7 it happens all the time. with me it is a drivers issue. i have a c2quad and a ati HD3870. i cant seem to find a problem with it. everything is clean i have a 750w psu. but all i do is reinstall the drivers again and it holds out the restart for a while. but it happens again inevitably.
     
  12. Master_B

    Member Master_B GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    Netherlands
  13. papyrus
    OP

    Member papyrus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Nipa Hut
    Country:
    Philippines

    yes i enable it, lets see if ill get BSOD. Waiting for the next shutdown. I checked cpu temperature 52c. I checked thie volts on speedfan. Vcore: 1.30V, +12V:2.43V and AVcc: 3.33V.

    @akotan: i already cleaned the fans. Still got 1 shutdown after 5 hrs of using the pc.
     
  14. steve-p

    Member steve-p GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    open the pc & look at the capacitors on the motherboard & gfx card.
    see if any look bulged or leaking - it's common.
    the same happens in the psu - a lot.
    but i'm not recommending any "non-tech" open a psu for safety reasons.

    what make & model are the mobo & psu?
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Is it restarting, or shutting off?

    Does it let you turn it right back on with the power button, or do you need to cut the power or wait a bit before it'll turn back on?
     
  16. giratina16

    Member giratina16 Born This Way

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It sounds like the processor maybe overheating my laptop used to do it all the time if I was watching videos on youtube or watching DVD's. Perhaps you should buy an external fan, I bought 1 for just £4 on ebay, my laptop never overheats now, it also slightly raises it from the surface which helps it stay cool.
     
  17. papyrus
    OP

    Member papyrus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Nipa Hut
    Country:
    Philippines
    it just shutdown, then ill just push the power button to turn it on again.

    @steve-p: yea i checked the mobo, no capacitors are leaking or any unusual bulging. I think this is a psu issue im not really sure. And im not really touching psu for safety reasons.

    ill be putting a fan to cool to cpu as well. it might work.
     

Share This Page