Ram predictions

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by troydude6, Aug 21, 2010.

Aug 21, 2010

Ram predictions by troydude6 at 8:07 AM (7,637 Views / 0 Likes) 86 replies

  1. troydude6
    OP

    Newcomer troydude6 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    How much ram do you think this thing will be operating on? Since the DS is operating on 4 MB and the DSi at 16 MB (right?) I'm going to go ahead and place it at around 64 MB, right between the Wii and the Gamecube. Mainly because with the rise of smartphones ram has become a lot cheaper since 2004 and even 2006.

    Anyway, predictions?
     


  2. Paranoid Mouse C

    Member Paranoid Mouse C GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    In your heap, shifting bits.
    Country:
    United States
    Should probably start a poll listing memory amounts. I say 96-128 of freely addressable ram. Not including the dedicated video ram or anything like that. Hopeful wishing? Yep.
     
  3. divvy123

    Newcomer divvy123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I Agree With Troydude, 64mb seems about right, when comparing the graphics etc to the wii and gamecube, the 3ds seems to be about in between the two
     
  4. tommzy2

    Newcomer tommzy2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Australia
    128-512mb ram, remember its 3D, it aint anything like the wii .
     
  5. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,591
    Country:
    United States
    But do not forget about the graphics :/
     
  6. FireGrey

    Member FireGrey Undercover Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    Country:
    Australia
    128MB RAM
    My real guess is 2TB RAM [​IMG]
     
  7. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm gonna guess 128MB. RAM is a lot cheaper these days, though it also depends on the type of ram and if 3d uses considerably more ram.
     
  8. tijntje_7

    Member tijntje_7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    Netherlands
    256 MB RAM, yes, it's quite a lot, (Please tell me, is a lot, with, or without a space, alot/a lot? I forgot)
    Psp go has 64 MB RAM, graphics 3DS > PSP go, as far as we know...
    3DS has two screens to render, meaning double RAM (Right? My arguments are based on stuff I find logicall, it's not based on anything fact-like..)
    Higher graphics mean better cpu and gpu, which could lead to games with way more objects... that use up RAM (afaik XD)

    I'm not really sure, 256 would be overkill imo :/
    But would be really nice [​IMG]
    We'll finally be able to browse teh int0rwebz normally, with such a device...

    It might also be 128 after all...
    Not sure [​IMG]

    128 or 256 = conclusion :3
     
  9. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    128 MB.
    That should be enough.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    32 or 64 megs is my guess.

    After all, PSP games have nice graphics and run on 32 megs (the PSP fat) fine, and Nintendo's good at being more efficient with their specs. They could most likely pull off quite a bit with just 64 megs.
     
  11. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    No less than 64MB
     
  12. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    With that much ram... Holy shit.

    How much RAM does a 360 have again? [​IMG]
     
  13. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    512 MB of GDDR3 RAM.
     
  14. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    One thing that was mentioned in an interview from a developer about the handheld was that it had a lot of RAM in it.

    With that, I want to say, minimum for all categories, 80MB system RAM, 16MB VRAM, and 1GB internal storage.
     
  15. LapisLazuli

    Member LapisLazuli Thrills, chills, kills!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    634
    Location:
    Twoson
    Country:
    United States
    128MB ram would be amazing. You could run MapleStory with that shit.
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Actually PC games assuming you're running a fully-fledged OS underneath them and that they're running alongside other programs, which is why consoles can get away with the same games on much weaker specs.

    You could do a maple story port on 64 megs.
     
  17. ChuckBartowski

    Member ChuckBartowski GBATemp Nerd Herd Specialist

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    Country:
    United States
    512 is the only acceptable amount. Phones have that much, some newer unreleased ones have even more.
     
  18. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    3DS? I expected a multi tasking system (Or at the very least, multi threading) so around 32MB - 64MB sounds about right. You don't need alot of RAM for menu to run in background with a game (Not including the graphics ram, obviously..)
     
  19. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    256 plox
    if my ipod touch can do it then a "next gen" can

    also, if they try pulling that 512mb nand bullshit they pulled with the wii then i will rage
     
  20. Blastoise

    Member Blastoise GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Country:
    Australia
    Im gonna go ahead and say 512.
     

Share This Page