r4PATCH.DAT - no boot loader

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by sweetyamb, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. sweetyamb
    OP

    sweetyamb Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jun 29, 2009
    United States
    Hey,

    I am new to this forum, I just brought a R4 DS I have done everything I was suppose to do but i am still receiving this error message r4patch.dat no boot loader each time i click on a game to play. Plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz can someone help me.

    Thanks in advance
     


  2. KingdomBlade

    KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Member
    2,941
    98
    Apr 24, 2009
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Tell me the files you have on you card and the games you are trying to boot.
     
  3. sweetyamb
    OP

    sweetyamb Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jun 29, 2009
    United States
    Hi, thanks for the reply, the files that I have are as follows:
    -systems- folder
    Moonshi
    -ds-menu
    _DS_MSHL.NDS
    default.nds
    DEFAULT.SAV
    TTMenu – folder
    One of the game that I am tryng to load is New Super Mario Bros (E).sav .
     
  4. Sanderino

    Sanderino I guess you only know what you got 'till it's gone

    Member
    773
    0
    Sep 10, 2008
    Netherlands
    the Netherlands
    you can't boot a .SAV file. Don't you mean an .NDS file?
     
  5. Akiyo

    Akiyo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    160
    0
    Jan 30, 2008
    you cant load a .sav file. Get a clean firmware or whatever you call it and install it.
     
  6. sweetyamb
    OP

    sweetyamb Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jun 29, 2009
    United States
    thanks for your help
    but even if the game is named as Real_Football_2009_EUR_NDS-XPA.nds, i still get the same error message.
     
  7. Akiyo

    Akiyo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    160
    0
    Jan 30, 2008
  8. sweetyamb
    OP

    sweetyamb Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jun 29, 2009
    United States
    thanks, i downloaded and extracted the files to my sd card, bt i am still getting the same error message, so confused......
     
  9. elixirdream

    elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Member
    10,007
    2
    May 27, 2008
    Malaysia
    6th Dimention
    format your micro SD card with the panasonic sd formatter!

    google yourself! is not hard to get!

    then drag and drop the firmware as suggested by Akiyo

    EDIT: make sure you are talking to us about R4 not those clones like r4i, r4 sdhc and etc
     
  10. Akiyo

    Akiyo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    160
    0
    Jan 30, 2008
    I am not even sure if he is using an R4, theres TT folder there.

    Unless its yasu menu....
     
  11. elixirdream

    elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Member
    10,007
    2
    May 27, 2008
    Malaysia
    6th Dimention
    .....
    ysmenu?

    he/she should at least have (this is my version)
    YSMenu(folder)
    TTMenu(folder)
    TTMenu.sys
    ttdldi.dat
    _DS_MENU.dat
     
  12. Akiyo

    Akiyo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    160
    0
    Jan 30, 2008
    odd,I only have the YSMenu folder, but i boot it through a .nds application after entering the original booter.
     
  13. KingdomBlade

    KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Member
    2,941
    98
    Apr 24, 2009
    In Vulpes' Fur
    That means it's only a sub-loader. Maybe he should make YSMenu auto-boot. As in, rename it to DEFAULT.nds.
     
  14. Akiyo

    Akiyo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    160
    0
    Jan 30, 2008
    i new user who just got his r4 for less than a day already knows how to install Yasu? i doubt it.
     
  15. KingdomBlade

    KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Member
    2,941
    98
    Apr 24, 2009
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Not that hard. Just open R4YSAuto with some files, then.... the end, just transfer everything.
     
  16. Akiyo

    Akiyo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    160
    0
    Jan 30, 2008
    lol, my point would be more on "how did he knew it existed" but clearly, this isnt the point of this thread.

    Is it working, TS?
     
  17. elixirdream

    elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Member
    10,007
    2
    May 27, 2008
    Malaysia
    6th Dimention
    maybe he already solved his problem [​IMG]
    this is why he/she is so quiet
     
  18. sweetyamb
    OP

    sweetyamb Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jun 29, 2009
    United States
    Thanksssssssssssssssssssssss so much, it worked [​IMG]
     
  19. elixirdream

    elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Member
    10,007
    2
    May 27, 2008
    Malaysia
    6th Dimention
    so after formatting and using the 1.22 firmware = work?

    congrats then
     
  20. sweetyamb
    OP

    sweetyamb Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jun 29, 2009
    United States
    Yup after formatting and using the 1.22 firmware it worked. Thanks again.