R4III Upgrade fake?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by JamesTrain, Mar 29, 2010.

Mar 29, 2010

R4III Upgrade fake? by JamesTrain at 4:36 AM (1,367 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. JamesTrain
    OP

    Newcomer JamesTrain Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so I have an R4 here and the box says that it's an R4-III Upgrade (The box looks like this)
    [​IMG]
    And the cart looks like this
    [​IMG]
    So my question is; Is this version of the R4 the real deal, or is it just another clone?
     
  2. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    Clone
     
  3. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    LOL
    All R4 that you buy now-a-days are all clones
     
  4. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Do NOT buy an R4 card. At all. Ever. Get a REAL card, like an AceKard.
     
  5. DreamTrooper

    Newcomer DreamTrooper Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah man R4s, tho cheap, are not worth the effort. AK2is are the way to go, if you look hard you can find them for cheap [​IMG]
     
  6. JamesTrain
    OP

    Newcomer JamesTrain Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    lol yea thanks for the responses and I know R4's suck... but I got it for a present a while back and I just don't feel like I need a new one that badly. Ill just wait for the 3DS to come out and get the first cart compatible with that [​IMG]
    Also my question now is, should I use YSmenu or the R4-III firmware?
     
  7. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
  8. Gunmaster51

    Newcomer Gunmaster51 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    If it can support SDHC its a CLONE!!!!!!!! The original R4 team disbanded in 2008. The R4's on the market today are all clones using patched versions of firmwares other developers have created. Please read this for more details http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=106232
     

Share This Page