R4i RTS Penta Boot

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Gaboros, Dec 31, 2010.

Dec 31, 2010

R4i RTS Penta Boot by Gaboros at 11:55 AM (7,456 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Gaboros
    OP

    Member Gaboros GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Hungary
    R4i RTS Penta Boot​
    WoodR4 for M3 1.23​
    YSM3 6.46 with the dat files of RetroGameFan​
    R4i RTS 2.8a​
    iTouch 3.9​

    M3 Sakura 1.12+1​


    This is a 5 in 1 firmware pack for R4i RTS. It contains the official R4i RTS and iTouch firmware, the M3 Sakura (porting higher Sakura isn't possible), and mine WoodR4 for M3 and YSM3.

    Instruction:

    Copy every file on your SD card.
    Default the iTouch firmware will boot.
    When booting hold X for WoodR4 for M3.
    When booting hold Y for the original firmware of R4i RTS.
    When booting hold B for M3 Sakura.
    To boot YSM3 load any of the other firmware and load YSM3.nds.

    Know bugs:
    Currently soft reset doesn't work on iTouch, R4i RTS, M3 Sakura if you use this pack.

    Download:
    Code:
    hhttp://filetrip.net/f23788-R4i-RTS-Penta-Boot-1-3.html
    Supported cards:
    R4i RTS Penta Boot supports:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    R4i RTS Penta Boot doesn't support:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    You can read further information about my WoodR4 for M3 and YSM3 from here:

    Code:
    http://gbatemp.net/t268715-woodr4-for-m3
     
  2. Gaboros
    OP

    Member Gaboros GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Hungary
    R4i RTS Penta Boot 1.1 Released:

    The booting is done in a totally different way, and in this way the soft reset works on iTouch, R4i RTS, M3 iSakura. [​IMG]
    So all of the Firmwares functional correctly, but the booting is like when you use M3 Sakura! [​IMG]
    R4i RTS users would be very happy about that! [​IMG]
     
  3. .Chris

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Just asking, but will this work on R4?

    But anyway, awesome job! Keep up the good work gaboros!
     
  4. Gaboros
    OP

    Member Gaboros GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Hungary
    Only on R4i SDHC & RTS, R4i SDHC, R4 SDHC from this site: www.r4rts.com.
    You know this cards are M3 card with R4 name. That is why I were able to port these firmware to that card.
    It could be ported to M3 easily but not to other R4 cards. It was fully optimized to the cards mentioned above. I only have that card and I have tested on that and everything seems to work. [​IMG]
     
  5. .Chris

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, thanks.

    I didnt know that those R4's are M3's (except for R4i RTS)!
     
  6. Gaboros
    OP

    Member Gaboros GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Hungary
    Strange but they are. Just using different encryption in the loader. [​IMG]
    From that firmware pack the original R4 has Wood and YSMenu. I think porting that version of sakura is possible but it won't load the games, but I'm not sure about. Higher version isn't possible even to these R4.
    About porting the R4i RTS original firmware and the iTouch I don't have any idea. [​IMG]
     
  7. Gaboros
    OP

    Member Gaboros GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Hungary
    R4i RTS Penta Boot 1.2 Released:

    http://filetrip.net/f23511-R4i-RTS-Penta-Boot-1-2.html

    Change log (v1.2):

    - Removed the unnecessary files from the SYSTEM folder.
    - YSM3 is updated to YSM3 6.43d.

    YSM3 6.43d changelog:
    - Homebrew loading is fixed. Looks like I have screwed up the latest m3dldi.dat which is refer to the homebrew loading. - Thanks to andryndrew for reporting this issue. [​IMG]
     
  8. Gaboros
    OP

    Member Gaboros GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Hungary
  9. tkg21

    Newcomer tkg21 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Brazil
    Can't I change the default boot FW?
    I like the R4i RTS, so I wanted it to boot by default, and switch it with the iTouch, so when I press Y it will be booted.
    It is possible?

    I also getting various error messages of missing files.
    The only FW that boots correctly is the Wood... =/
    R4i says it's missing /_system_/_sys_data/R4i.sys
    Normal boot (iTouch) says "System error !" in red in the very bottom of the bottom screen (redundant? u.u)
    Sakura says "Application halted!!" on some part at the upper screen.
    The YSM3 does not load some games (Golden Sun Dark Dawn, Ghost Trick, Plants VS Zombies): [Rom loading failed] -> load rom errcode=-4 ->> Please reset system.

    And... that's all for now =]
     
  10. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks! Will try it now.
     
  11. Gaboros
    OP

    Member Gaboros GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Hungary
    Of course it is possible to change the booting order.
    defaultn ---> default loading, here touchpod
    defaultx ---> x button loading, here wood
    defaulty ---> y button loading, here R4i RTS

    Just rename defaulty to defaultn and the original defaultn to defaulty. Or as you wish. That is it.


    About the errors:
    I will check it when I got home because I'm not at home currently. Last version worked for me without any problem and this should work as well...
    Anyway I will check it. [​IMG]

    Which card do you use? It doesn't work an M3 card just the R4(i) SDHC and R4(i) RTS which is made by the M3. But doesn't work with the M3 cards.
     
  12. Gaboros
    OP

    Member Gaboros GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Hungary
    My testing resaults:

    iTouch DS working
    Sakura working
    R4i RTS working
    WoodR4 for M3 working
    YSM3 working
    everything working

    This package only fully compatible with the R4(i) RTS R4(i) SDHC which is made by the M3 team. Only the WoodR4 for M3 and YSM3 working correctly on the M3 cards.

    Edit: first post updated with the list of the supported cards.
     
  13. xmun

    Newcomer xmun Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Malta
    I own an iTouch2DS and I extracted the files into the SD card but I get the error message no boot.xxx.
    Do I need to rename a file or copy a file from somewhere else?
    Thanks for the help and sorry if this is a stupid question.
     
  14. Gaboros
    OP

    Member Gaboros GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Hungary
    This is for R4i RTS not for iTouch. But you can use some of the firmware on iTouch, too.
     
  15. xmun

    Newcomer xmun Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Malta
    Oh I thought that the supported cards list above meant I could use it. What would I need to do to make it boot on the itouch?
     
  16. Gaboros
    OP

    Member Gaboros GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Hungary
    You can partly use it and you will need the boot.eng from the original iTouch firmware. This will only boot into the iTouch and you have to install wood ysm3 nds file to boot them.
     
  17. xmun

    Newcomer xmun Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Malta
    Using that method I only managed to launch YSmenu, the other firmwares don't load. I managed to find a modified boot.eng from another multi-boot compilation that at least allowed me to boot Sakura and Wood
     

Share This Page