r4i noobs question

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by digipokemaster, Jan 16, 2010.

?

how did you get your r4?

  1. us postal

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. ups

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. fedex

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Jan 16, 2010

r4i noobs question by digipokemaster at 8:57 PM (1,156 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. digipokemaster
    OP

    Member digipokemaster Innocent Uke

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    hi i was wondering if it a r4 will any of the r4 firmware work for it or just theirs and second question how did r4 user get theirs r4?
     
  2. digipokemaster
    OP

    Member digipokemaster Innocent Uke

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    i guess no one can help me at all
     
  3. Todderbert

    Member Todderbert GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    411
    Country:
    United States
    I asked this same question before, and it looks like only their own firmware works on it.
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Real, official R4s can run a few firmware.
    I -know- that they can run the official firmware, the R4li firmware and YSMenu as well as Moonshell2.

    R4li has better ROM compatibility than the official firmware, but has a pretty major sound bug where volume plays at a low level and is NOT effected by the volume control (at least on a DS "phat"). YSMenu typically has better compatibility than R4li, but R4li does run some games that YSMenu won't.


    Supposedly, the official R4s can run any firmware from cards that have been cloned from the R4 if you rename and encrypt the .DAT file, but I have not tested it personally so I cannot give a better answer. This seems to be contradictory as the R4 cannot run the DSTT firmware, which I believe is an R4 clone.
    However it should be noted that not all "R4"s are clones of the original R4. Some of them are AceKards.


    As for the opposite, I don't believe the official firmware will work on clones.
    YSmenu will run, but not as firmware, though you can set it up to auto-boot on startup.
     
  5. PhoenixT

    Newcomer PhoenixT Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Italy
    No, the official firmware won't run.
    Depending from what r4i is, YSMenu will work, and you can "take over" the Multimedia menu by editing the *.ini file inside to open YSMenu.nds instead of the Moonshell. Less hassle, spares you from having to search in the romslist.
     
  6. digipokemaster
    OP

    Member digipokemaster Innocent Uke

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    how long did u guys/gals had to wait before it got at house
     
  7. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    well, my cousin ordered an r4 which was dumb nd he got it in like 7 or 8 days
     
  8. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Depends on WHO you order it from, not really how it's shipped.
    I got mine from Divineo a while back, and it took forever (over a month).
     
  9. digipokemaster
    OP

    Member digipokemaster Innocent Uke

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    i got mine at kickgaming site
     

Share This Page