R4i Gold with AKAIO...?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by ShinyLatios, Sep 13, 2010.

Sep 13, 2010

R4i Gold with AKAIO...? by ShinyLatios at 2:49 PM (4,455 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Please don't start with 'buy an acekard' comments. I have an Acekard, and my bro has a r4i-gold... well, one of the many 'r4igolds' out there, and he NEEDS AKAIO firmware. He will buy an acekard soon, but he really wants to play Pokemon Battle Revolution. please tell me how...
     


  2. azure0wind

    Member azure0wind 7 years flew so fast.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Country:
    Indonesia
    well there is AKAIO for clone cards if memory served.
     
  3. Clookster

    Banned Clookster Your Clookster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Suisse Romande
    Country:
    Switzerland
    No problem, dude! Take his R4 Gold, and give him your Acekard! [​IMG]
     
  4. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,745
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    But it's horribly out of date.
     
  5. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    it's akaio 1.5
    I remember normmatt was pretty upset about it
    even threaten to stop updating akaio..

    but R4igold came out with a new firmware recently, maybe that might work....maybe
     
  6. azure0wind

    Member azure0wind 7 years flew so fast.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Country:
    Indonesia
    yeah, AKAIO 1.5.1 MOD. still in the net. but i would suggest him not to download it...
     
  7. xakota

    Member xakota GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, maybe you don't understand the concept of FIRMWARE.
    Firmware must be written for one particular device, it's not just general software that will work on anything. AKAIO was ONLY written for the Acekard, so it will ONLY work on the Acekard.
     
  8. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Never!!! but the problem is that he wants to play megaman zero collection, but his r4igold says: rom loading error. errcode -4.

    i know theres one for clones and i tried it, but it won't boot. is there a trick to it? there was a trick to YSmenu...

    even though it is out of date, it would still be able to play some games and has ds-wii compatibility.
     
  9. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,745
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Why would you want an R4 clone so badly? Why not just buy better a card with better support instead of keeping a card with crappy support.
    Also I doubt it and it's not even worth trying since that AKAIO is just horribly out of date. Try Ysmenu, it's being updated regularly.
     
  10. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't understand the concept of Firmware yourself.

    AKAIO isn't firmware, it's an operating system/ OSMenu/ Kernel. The Acekard's firmware is stored on it's 2MB flash memory, not the MicroSD card.
     
  11. azure0wind

    Member azure0wind 7 years flew so fast.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Country:
    Indonesia
    why there are many viewers if the title are "R4", "AKAIO" "R4 GOLD", etc...
     
  12. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    HE WILL GET AN ACEKARD!!! He's only 11, he didn't know better to buy an overly popular card, for his dsixl.
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    'Cause some people try to crack/modify firmware for one cart to run on another (especially AKAIO as it's generally got the highest compatibility), but that's generally thought of as bad... so people want to try to make sure it's not being encouraged, and if it does happen they can catch it early.
     
  14. azure0wind

    Member azure0wind 7 years flew so fast.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Country:
    Indonesia
    hey don't mad. use the AKAIO MOD for him or YSMenu, but i recommend YSMenu. it has more game supports. than the ol AKAIO 1.5.1 MOD
     
  15. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    this doesn't even answer any of my questions -_- I just need to know what I have and how I get AKAIO working on it. there's too many r4igolds out there...
     
  16. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    here
    http://r4ids.com/r4i-download-e.html
    go down the list of download until you see akaio

    Then extract its contents with winrar to the root of your micro sd (akmenu4.nds and the folder __aio). Put your micro sd on your R4i and your R4i into your Ds. Turn on your Nintendo Ds and open akmenu4.nds like a normal game. AKAio should load
     
  17. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    okies I'll try this, and report back if it works/fails

    EDIT: I can't find my bro's DS anywhere [​IMG] i guess he took it with him when he went to play outside...
     
  18. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    just like with YSMENU, nothing will work as planned with this crappy overrated cart. so no AKAIO either.

    oh well, if theres some kind of other trick to it, please post it.
     
  19. tranfeer

    Member tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Austria
    Hi,boy.
    The offical web site of r4i gold has changed to www.r4ids.cn.
    The latest kernel can be downloaded here.
    The version number is V1.35.
     
  20. ShinyLatios
    OP

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    not working either... can some tell me what kind of crappy cart I have, and where to find new firmware for this... thing?
    LINK GONE!
     

Share This Page