R4i-Gold pro Help!

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Camplord, Sep 14, 2014.

  1. Camplord
    OP

    Camplord Newbie

    Newcomer
    75
    13
    May 14, 2013
    Guatemala
    Location? Screw that.
    Hello there, in advance apologies if this thread shouldnt be here, its just that in the Thread Section this card wasnt listed so if it gets moved by any means do so.

    So here is the issue, it happened to me before, i updated my 3DS Firmware without updating the R4 first so the ending result was a blocked card D:, had to borrow another DS to update the card.

    The thing is i never made an update since then, and when i go to the R4s official webpage i found out the domain changed and i get lost there, i dunno if the update for the card will match up with the 3DS update, also to make matters worse i cant tell my R4s actual version.
    IMG_20140913_183932.jpg

    The site the card tells me to go is :
    www.r4i-gold.com (which changed domains)

    BTW, my 3DS current firmware version is : 4.4.0-10U (way too old, i know)
    Any help is appreciated...anything you need to know ill be watching this thread so ill answer as soon as possible.
     
  2. Ryft

    Ryft GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    540
    186
    Nov 21, 2013
    United States
    Illinois
  3. Camplord
    OP

    Camplord Newbie

    Newcomer
    75
    13
    May 14, 2013
    Guatemala
    Location? Screw that.

    ok just quick question then : will i be able to update my 3DS then?
    EDIT: and btw...in the site there are 3 cards which appear identical to mine...thats what lost me. Anyways i downloaded the file R4i-3DS V1.70b ( i hope thats the one).
     
  4. VerseHell

    VerseHell GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,067
    1,067
    Jun 29, 2014
    France
    Don't update your 3ds if you want to play 3ds roms someday.
     
  5. Camplord
    OP

    Camplord Newbie

    Newcomer
    75
    13
    May 14, 2013
    Guatemala
    Location? Screw that.

    3DS roms? those that mean theres no hope for 3DS roms if i update it? xD
     
  6. Ryft

    Ryft GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    540
    186
    Nov 21, 2013
    United States
    Illinois
    All 3DS flash carts for 3DS games require 4.1-4.5 firmware as of now. If you update, you wouldn't be able to use a flashcart for 3DS games. If you don't ever plan to buy a Gateway/MT-Card, etc. then you can go ahead and update.... problem is, a lot of R4 cards for DS games ALSO don't always work on later firmware. Just have to do your research. That's why I refuse to ever buy anything R4... so many damn revisions and they aren't really designed to be future proof.
     
  7. Camplord
    OP

    Camplord Newbie

    Newcomer
    75
    13
    May 14, 2013
    Guatemala
    Location? Screw that.

    I see, figures. As of now i dont plan to buy Gateway, it will have to wait a year or so. I donwloaded the needed file, but i found somewhat a concerning thing, the file in which i downloaded "Upgrade Firmware Area" says 3DSV7.0.0-13. IM betting my ass it hasnt updated all the way to the 3DS current firmware 8.1.0-19, which is why im on hold.
     
  8. Ryft

    Ryft GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    540
    186
    Nov 21, 2013
    United States
    Illinois

    Odds are they won't be able to make it work with 8.1 but don't quote me on that. It is common with the R4 cards and why they have to do multiple hardware divisions. I recommend the Supercard DSTWO if you want a future proof DS card. It has special hardware and they have never had to make new hardware versions... they just release new firmware quickly and it always works so far.
     
  9. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member
    14,135
    9,478
    Sep 23, 2013
    Pretty sure no cards where blocked between 7.x and 8.x....so if it works on 7.x it should also work on 8.x
     
  10. Camplord
    OP

    Camplord Newbie

    Newcomer
    75
    13
    May 14, 2013
    Guatemala
    Location? Screw that.
    Well, thx for the recommendation, if i see no updates from my card might aswell change.


    Hmm..meaning the file i downloaded prolly gonna work with the recnt 3DS update?
     
  11. Ryft

    Ryft GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    540
    186
    Nov 21, 2013
    United States
    Illinois
    You might as well just try the card update. Worse that will happen is it just won't load the card. Then just remove the update and try a different download. If you don't play many 3DS games, just don't update the 3DS. Gamesquest is probably right though.
     
  12. Camplord
    OP

    Camplord Newbie

    Newcomer
    75
    13
    May 14, 2013
    Guatemala
    Location? Screw that.
    Well i tried the update and bam.

    [​IMG]

    This is while the 3ds hasnt updated to 8.0.1 yet.

    Then i updated the 3DS and, still the same error appeared. Good thing i backed the old R4 card data to the PC so i can just delete the updated files.
    The question is: the 3DS format system returns to old firmware?
     
  13. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member
    14,135
    9,478
    Sep 23, 2013
    no a system format will not restore the old FW....everyone would have 4.x consoles if it did :lol:
    so what firmware was it on, you kind of implied it was 7.x in which case nothing should be blocked between 7.x-8.x s far as i am aware
     
  14. Camplord
    OP

    Camplord Newbie

    Newcomer
    75
    13
    May 14, 2013
    Guatemala
    Location? Screw that.

    The first try was when my 3DS was on 4.4.10 firmware, the second attempt was when i updated the 3DS to 8.1. Which i assume it HAS to be a faulty r4 card update.
     
  15. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member
    14,135
    9,478
    Sep 23, 2013
    might of been blocked with 4.3, iirc 4.3 killed off a lot of cheapo R4 card, i thought you meant it was working on 7.x already,

    best advise would be to just get a new r4 card that supports 8.x, or a DStwo which has extra features like half decent snes emulation etc
     
  16. Camplord
    OP

    Camplord Newbie

    Newcomer
    75
    13
    May 14, 2013
    Guatemala
    Location? Screw that.

    Yeah, might aswell. I heard DStwo could emulate GBA games, so far thats what im inclined to get. Anyways thanks for all the help given and recommendations.
     
  17. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Member
    14,135
    9,478
    Sep 23, 2013
    no problem, hope you get it sorted, but just so you know you can get one of the really cheapo R4 cards like this
    http://www.dsgamerworld.com/r4i-gold-3ds-rts-flashcard-p-2.html
    it would do the job if you dont want to pay the $40 that the DStwo is, but then ofcourse you loose the cool GBA and Snes support, i have been meaning to pick a DSTwo up for a while, but im kinda guessing with the advent of 3DS mode homebrew we will be seeing some just as good if not better emulators running in 3DS mode