R4i 1.4 user screwed up :(

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by SilverxSliver, Apr 14, 2012.

Apr 14, 2012
  1. SilverxSliver
    OP

    Newcomer SilverxSliver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    I just recently (today) got an r4i 1.4 from my friend, and when putting my own SD card in, i launched fwup142c.nds.

    Now, the card doesn't start up :(

    When i start it up with a fresh format, with the 1.55 kernel, i get a ? Menu in a red box.

    Instead of the old Star Wars icon, it's a Spongebob icon.

    What can I do to fix this? :(

    any help is appreciated.
     


  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,820
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    What kind of DS are you using? DSi I assume? Find a DS Lite/DS and update your R4 to the latest update which can be found on the site listed on your flashcard.
     
  3. SilverxSliver
    OP

    Newcomer SilverxSliver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm actually using a DS Lite right now.

    I upgraded it to the 1.55 kernel at r4i-sdhc.com, which is the latest one.

    Still doesn't work :(
     
  4. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,820
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    So r4i-sdhc.com is on your flashcard right? Can you take a picture of it please, if possible?
     
  5. SilverxSliver
    OP

    Newcomer SilverxSliver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    The picture of my card

    That's it, do you need any more pictures?

    Also, going to eat dinner, i'll be back soon.
     
  6. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    your r4 shouldn't be destroyed. and the update shouldn'd even run on your r4
     
  7. Peter Gatens

    Newcomer Peter Gatens Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    menu in the red box problem means you were using the incorrect firmware. And the card you have is an old r4i card. you are using it on your DSi or Just the DS? Another, this card can not work on the DSi V1.44.
     
  8. SilverxSliver
    OP

    Newcomer SilverxSliver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    Well the update ran, that's for sure :L
    The spongebob image instead of the star wars image

    And I know it doesn't work on my DSi, but it should be working on my DS Lite, which it isn't :c


    EDIT:

    The files inside my micro SD
     
  9. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Your micro sd card is setup correctly, as far as I can tell. BUT, the flash card you have, updates are embedded into the kernel, so my question to you is where did you get the "fwup142c.nds" update file from? It appears like you can semi-bricked your flash card by using an incompatible flash file.
     
  10. SilverxSliver
    OP

    Newcomer SilverxSliver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    awesome sauce, thanks :D
     
  11. Peter Gatens

    Newcomer Peter Gatens Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    I checked the screenshot of your card, why your card is a blue one. have never seen a blue one, as far as i know, the official r4i -sdhc card should be the black one. or it is just the camera problem? or it is a fake r4i-sdhc card?
     
  12. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,820
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    There's a blue one, it's just a fake of the fake r4i heh...
     
  13. SilverxSliver
    OP

    Newcomer SilverxSliver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    the cart itself is black, with a red backing place near the gold connectors.

    The only blue on the card is on the Wi Fi symbol.

    it's probably my camera, it's an ipod touch camera, 0.7 mpx :P

    As for the 1.4.2 update, i'm not really sure where i got it from :( I screwed up. The friend who gave it to me said to update it so it'd work with my DSi, but....I didn't read up on it before doing it >_> should have.

    Is there any way to cancel the fwup thing? like downgrade back to what it used to be?
     
  14. Peter Gatens

    Newcomer Peter Gatens Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, clone of clone, things become more complicated, then i am afraid i don't know how to deal with the clone of clone card. the only thing i can suggest is to format the SD card and put the V1.55b again.


     
  15. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,820
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
     
  16. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Not possible. And unbricking your card is going to be tough because the team embeds the update into the kernel, so another card would have to run that specific kernel before you could do a switch out and put your semi-bricked card into your DS Lite and re-flash it.
     
  17. SilverxSliver
    OP

    Newcomer SilverxSliver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    Here's a picture in better lighting

    card

    So....There's nothing i can do unless i get another R4i? :(
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I'd suggest a new one in the first place, one you can update and unbrick if required.
    http://gbatemp.net/t290097-which-flash-cart-should-i-get
     
  19. SilverxSliver
    OP

    Newcomer SilverxSliver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    I also have an r4-king, which is a clone of a clone, is there any way i can use that to unbrick my r4i?
     
  20. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If there's an update for the original cart, but if what was posted in the thread is correct and there's no update, then no. The other cart would just be used to run and apply the update, the update still needs to exist.
     

Share This Page