R4DS to Acekard .SAV

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by ByronFortescue, Feb 12, 2009.

Feb 12, 2009

R4DS to Acekard .SAV by ByronFortescue at 9:39 PM (997 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. ByronFortescue
    OP

    Newcomer ByronFortescue Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi there,

    I just bought an Acekard 2 to replace my R4DS.. Everything works fine, except the .SAV files.. running the latest firmware 4.14

    I first renamed all my .SAVs to .nds.sav

    This doesn't help, Acekard just makes a new .sav file with .nds.nds.sav (that means it actually sees there is already a .nds.sav file)

    Then tried to just make a new .nds.sav with the acekard, trashing that and renaming the old r4ds .sav to .nds.sav

    I took all these pointers from different other topics about this issue here on the forums..

    Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance and greetings,
     
  2. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    It sounds like you may have your ROM's named filename.nds.nds (maybe you don't realize it because you have viewing of the filename extensions turned off on your PC).

    The Acekard 2, by default, will just append ".sav" onto whatever your ROM is named (including extension).

    -Bri
     
  3. ByronFortescue
    OP

    Newcomer ByronFortescue Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Fixed it..

    Mac OS has some nasty habit of putting all kinds of invisible stuff inside folders and drives.. which makes Acekard believes they are not save files or something

    Beware if you are on Mac and trying to get your r4ds .SAVs to work with Acekard, that you have to rename every .SAV to .nds.sav first and then remove all the .* (hidden files), with the terminal for example (get sudo priviliges), then close the terminal window (else finder will say card is still being used), then eject the card..

    If you need more detailed instructions, PM me [​IMG]
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    as of the official 4.14 all saves use .sav extension. .nds.sav is reserved for the multiple save slots. acekard said to rename all main saves to .sav. i would recommend that you actually use akaio as your firmware. it has a vast amount of improvement over the official firmware, it also includes support for both .sav and .nds.sav. so you wouldn't have to do any renaming at all, just set the options in akaio. the 1.4 release which came out a few days ago can be found here: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=134804

    -another world
     
  5. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly why you should use a PC - I have to say, PC>Mac.

    Didn't the latest firmware have capability of using .sav files but with no multiple slots?
    EDIT - Was written while Another World was posting [​IMG]
     
  6. Fat_Matt

    Newcomer Fat_Matt Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My R4 sav files where named '.SAV' in caps; when I added the '.nds' to the extension Acekard still didn't recognise it. In the end I had to change the '.SAV' extension to lower case so that it was '.nds.sav' and not '.nds.SAV'.
     

Share This Page