R4 Theme Problem

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by assassin98, May 1, 2011.

May 1, 2011

R4 Theme Problem by assassin98 at 12:30 PM (1,884 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. assassin98
    OP

    Member assassin98 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Pakistan
    I have an r4i-yes ,but i dont know how to change the change the main theme of it......i can only change the game menu theme of it
     
  2. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Can you please give us the file structure of the firmware?
    Or a screenshot of what the theme looks like?
     
  3. assassin98
    OP

    Member assassin98 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Pakistan
    its the same as r4i sdhc ,but except there isa wifi button at the bottom right screen and an internet button instead of settings
     
  4. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    And this is the file structure and what the theme looks like how?
     
  5. assassin98
    OP

    Member assassin98 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Pakistan
    its a 2d yellow man standing and wearing glasses
     
  6. gautam

    Newcomer gautam Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    The R4 Themes dont work,maybe you R4 is a fake,so bad.
     
  7. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    He knows it's a clone. He mentioned that it was an "R4-yes". Any R4 which is not called just "R4" on the box is a clone.

    Besides, he's not trying to run an R4 theme on it- he's trying to run a R4i-SDHC theme (the right, or close to it, clone).
     
  8. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    ...doesn't help...
     
  9. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Would this happen to be your R4 clone?
     
  10. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've had a look at the kernel and because it's a mix of a customized menu and TTmenu (ttmenu for games which is why you can change the theme for that) so R4i-SDHC skins will not work on your card and they cannot be adapted either as the customized menu uses it's own skin so unless the manufacturer of your card comes up with some sort of skin designer and skins I think you're stuffed.
     
  11. Zekrom_cool

    Member Zekrom_cool I respect faith, but doubt is what gets you an edu

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    Heaven [N's Castle]
    Country:
    India
    cud u give the basic structure of ur root ?
     
  12. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why not just download the latest kernel and examine it?

    Here is what Waleed Ahmed has to put up with:-

    Beup (folder)
    Moonshel(folder)
    NDSMail (folder)
    Plugins (folder)
    Skin (folder) (Don't get too excited all it contains is an .ini file and background images for the top and bottom screen)
    svsip (folder)
    System (folder)
    ttmenu (folder)
    0000-BACK R4MENU.NDS
    r4i.tp
    r41.dat
    r42.dat
    Read Me.txt
    TTMENU.SYS


    From what I can tell you can easily change ttmenu skin but then that's only for the game menu. For the main menu you cannot change any of the buttons but you could change the background images. you would just need to rename 2 256x192 BMP images to the same as the ones already there.

    It's a total mess of a kernel which has the need for two usrcheat.dat's as it seems to be almost a dual boot sytem.
     
  13. assassin98
    OP

    Member assassin98 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Pakistan
    YEP!!! dats my clone.....and im using the latest firmware
     
  14. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know.

    TBH the only way you are going to be able to change your startup menu (looks like you can only do the background and not alter the buttons) is to find a skin that you like for another R4 system and find out which of the files is the background images for the top and bottom screen, makesure that they are in BMP format and rename them so that their name is identical to the BMP files in the skin folder of your root directory and replace them. You could alter the colours by editing the .ini file in the same folder but I wouldn't really recommend that.

    There's no easy way of doing this as TBH I personally think you've bought a very bad R4 card. If you want one where you can change skins on it you should really look at the manufacturers website before you buy to see if they have any skins or skin makers on there.
     
  15. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
  16. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well spotted. The R4i-Yes is a clone of the R4ipocket. And I agree with what you said about the r4ipocket kernel that it is some "messy shit".
     
  17. assassin98
    OP

    Member assassin98 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Pakistan
    Well, i searched a lot in my r4 root but i could'nt find the background image. all i found was the game menu theme,which was named game_topp and game_down
     

Share This Page