R4 SDHC keeps freezing on my DS

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by MattA-l, Mar 21, 2012.

Mar 21, 2012
  1. MattA-l
    OP

    Newcomer MattA-l Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    So, I heard you guys were gods so hopefully one of you kind people can help me out...
    So I've had my R4 card for around 2-3 years and prior to this "incident" it has worked fine, maybe a freeze or two but only playing on it for prolonged amounts of time. Today I started to play on it again (after like 7 months) after buying a new micro SD card reader but when I put it into my DS it freezes.
    It doesn't freeze at the same time though, it freezes randomly, usually within like 5 minutes. Thinking it was the micro SD I reformatted it and tried again but it didn't fix it. Thinking it was a faulty download (firmware, a game etc.) I re-downloaded new (the latest) firmware and new games and formatted it all over again. Again this hasn't fixed the issue.
    (Also when I switch on sometimes, the screen will just be black (not even the very first DS screen will come on.)

    Now I started to think it was my R4 card so I tried it in my brothers DS... It worked fine and the game ran perfectly not even any sort of pauses or anything, totally seamless. So I thought it'd be my actual DS, and before falling deep into insanity, I tried some normal games in my DS... All work freaking normal!

    Sorry for the long story but i've been trying to fix it all day... Anyone have any ideas? The DS settings? something to do with mars and venus not aligned?

    (An overview)
    I tried reformatting, downloading new firmware, new games all over again.
    Tried the R4 card in another DS and it works
    Tried other games in my DS and they work
    but the R4 card doesn't work in mine without freezing within 5 minutes (Or a totally black screen when I power on)

    (My card is, as far as I believe, an R4-SDHC card)
     
  2. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Your slot-1 needs to be cleaned with rubbing alcohol and q-tips if everything you wrote is true. The only other thing it could be is a contact issue with the flash card itself. You need to clean the gold teeth with the same thing you do the slot-1 (rubbing alcohol and q-tips). Also, it could be the connection between the card and the DS...if that's the case use the "tk saturn paper trick" (google it). Simple fix most likely. :D The black screen issue is what is bothering me the most. This is an indication on the DS side, meaning your DS is starting or is braking.

    Are you using the Panasonic sd formatter v3.1 to format your micro sd card? If not, you should be.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Certainly sounds like a contact issue.
     
  4. MattA-l
    OP

    Newcomer MattA-l Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I will try this, since it could possibly be due to the long time I haven't played it but surely if it was this, then other games wouldn't be playable via slot-1 and the R4 wouldn't be playable in another DS?
    Yes, I have used that but I know it's not the SD card.
    Will look up those options nevertheless. Thanks for the help man!
     
  5. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    You are welcome. Good luck. You know, maybe it's the micro sd card itself. Try another one before you do any of the steps I suggested.
     
  6. MattA-l
    OP

    Newcomer MattA-l Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I know it's nothing to do with the card because it worked on a different DS.

    I couldn't find any Q-tips around the house or rubbing alcohol so I improvised with some tissue and a cocktail stick (without the sharp ends) and wiped the slot-1... And I rubbed the game catridge's teeth and I've just been playing on it for the last 10 mins (much smoother and with no pauses)... I think it is fixed :D. I will properly do it with some Q-tips though when I get them :D. Hopefully it'll stay working now :D.

    Thanks again, I seriously thought my future DS gaming was a goner (without spending lots of money).
     
  7. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    You see! Simple fix! :D
     

Share This Page