R4 kernel v1.14 Released + M3 Simply

Opium

PogoShell it to me ™
OP
Former Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2002
Messages
8,202
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Australia
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
1,163
Country
Australia
R4 kernel v1.14 Released + M3 Simply
Improved game compatibility
r4ds.png
m3dssimply.png

The R4 Team have released a speedy compatibility fix for Final Fantasy IV. There are no other changes in this kernel but if you have been hankering for some Final Fantasy IV action be sure to update.

[title:Changelog]Update R4 v1.14 kernel 2007-12-19
1?Solved the 1834 problem

You can grab the update locally from GBAtemp below. Thanks to 486 for the news tip!

*Update* As to be expected the M3 Team have released an update for the Simply as well.

download.gif
Download (r4DS)
download.gif
Download (M3 Simply)
 

amptor

Banned!
Banned
Joined
May 2, 2003
Messages
2,552
Trophies
0
Age
34
Website
Visit site
XP
173
Country
United States
wow another update for both units so soon, guess I need to get downloading soon
smile.gif
good to see that they still focus on their previous products, I like this company a lot.
 

Banger

Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?
Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
1,781
Trophies
0
Age
36
Website
Visit site
XP
184
Country
United States
Surprised there are not haters yet saying "It only fixes one game so it is crap and the R4 sucks!!!". Glad to see them update when ever an issue comes around.
 

warbird

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
289
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
94
Country
I agree, its good to know they're still updating, if only to fix compability issues. Thats all I ask for (don't really care about anything else. As long as it runs roms and homebrew as it should, I'm happy)
 

Playset6199

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
625
Trophies
1
XP
206
Country
United States
You know what, I might feel a little sad when I get rid of my R4, updates like these separate the dedicated teams from the rest.
Never mind that it only fixes one game, an update as fast as this one is excellent.
 

sidneyyoung

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
894
Trophies
0
XP
3
Country
Bangladesh
How about a fix that makes the needs for an update every few roms : unnecessary ?

C'mon R4 team all the other slot-1 makers can do it, what's up with you ?
 

Hairy

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
71
Trophies
0
XP
158
Country
It's not really a big deal to me if I need to update the firmware every now and then for a particular game that I really want to play. It only takes about 30 seconds to download the firmware and put it right onto the microSD. I personally am 100% satisfied with the R4 and the R4 Staff's dedication to their product.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But I have a $1 off coupon so that's nice.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Debating with myself.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Veho, Whatchu after, Veho?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Anbernic rg35xx SP.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I don't mind the price, but there is a very real chance I won't ever touch it once it gets here.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Because my brain is fucked up.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    $100 for a console is not a lot. $100 for a plastic brick to put on a shelf is a lot.
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I got a Pi5 Veho, loaded like 400GBs of games tested a few and now it sits lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Next to the Pi4
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Although the Pi5 features 2TBs of Nvme goodness
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I had hoped Killer Instinct Gold on the N64 would improve..... It did not, so not a speed issue, emulation issue
  • Veho @ Veho:
    On the Pi?
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I was kinda sad about that, got it all set up and fired it up. Side by side Pi4 vs Pi5 and there is literally zero difference
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Although I will say Dreamcast seems to work better
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Maybe there's some single/multi core bullshit that one emulator knows how to use and the other doesn't.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Things where speed was the issue and not the emulator
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Veho probably but based on what I read even on a PC that one game is tough to emulate
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Probably microcode
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The N64 was ahead of it's time with that BS lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    FPGA N64 emu when?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's amazing how annoying those old consoles are to emulate. Like, you can emulate Gamecube and Wii on a calculator, but like the SNES still has trouble.
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think that one company made one?
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Yeah the issue from what I understand is they used old hardware that was more finicky about timings and speeds, newer stuff was more about shaders and APIs lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And half the stuff relied on weird interference inside the chip and not actual intended functionality.
    +1
    Veho @ Veho: And half the stuff relied on weird interference inside the chip and not actual intended... +1