R4 Fried or Wrong Firmware??

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Cracked egg, Dec 12, 2008.

Dec 12, 2008
  1. Cracked egg
    OP

    Newcomer Cracked egg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have had a good search through the posts regarding the freeze at 'Loading' screen but cant seem to find a solution so have resulted in making this post.

    Just to confirm i have an original R4 card which ive a couple of years so fully understand the files needed to make the card boot up.

    orig R4 works perfectly.

    From www.memorybits.co.uk i bought 2 'R4 SDHC' cards.

    when they arrived i put firmware 1.18 from http://r4ds.cn/ and got the 'Loading' screen but froze there on me.

    then i tried Firmware 1.25, 1.24, 1.23 all from http://www.r4sdhc.com/index-en.htm but now the DS boots up as though nothing is inserted(DS menu)

    i eventually went to memory bits for their Live help and they told to install .. http://www.memorybits.co.uk/r4 (Black)

    same as before, straight to DS menu.

    I tried the DS without the SD card expecting the 'SD/TF' error but again straight to DS menu.

    when it got stuck at Loading screen originally i thought, ok, just need correct firmware but since changing firmware after the 1st time it doesnt even get to the loading screen.

    ...

    DS works fine with other card

    Loading freeze on 1st firmware, all other firmwares boot straight to DS menu as though no cart is inserted.

    Memorybits are happy to refund/exchange if i want to, have been good in the past so that why i use them again. but told them im happy to play around over the weekend and see if it is firmware related or an R4 issue.

    anybody have any ideas on the correct working firmware please?

    again, ive been through the search function and read the sticky but to no avail.

    Thanks
     
  2. oxenh

    Member oxenh The most unknown member of GBAtemp

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Chile
    mmm the card that you mention is a fake/clone R4...
     
  3. Cracked egg
    OP

    Newcomer Cracked egg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i figured that when they arrived, was an original chip i purchased a while back but thought they were not the gen thing when i seen them.

    just seen a post mentioning about formatting to 'FAT' and not 'FAT32' so am just trying that and see if that works, if not i think they will be going back n ill get an m3 or simplyDS or similar.
     
  4. oxenh

    Member oxenh The most unknown member of GBAtemp

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Chile
    better change it anyway because the r4 is dead with no future updates
     
  5. Cracked egg
    OP

    Newcomer Cracked egg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just formatted FAT and nothing.

    if i put the SD into my orig R4 card it goes to the Loading page but then freezes (as i would expect as it wont have the correct firmware on it to run original R4)

    [​IMG]

    Posts merged


    Sounds like a plan [​IMG]

    Any recommended online sellers for as simple DS Cart i.e. M3 or Simply DS?

    seems memorybits dont stock other carts anymore.
     
  6. Zarkz

    Member Zarkz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    King Taco
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.16142
     
  7. oxenh

    Member oxenh The most unknown member of GBAtemp

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Chile
    Mmm in terms of online sellers i can't help you.
    In tems of flashcard i've testing the ezflash V and the acekard, te two works fine and the price isn't too high
     
  8. Cracked egg
    OP

    Newcomer Cracked egg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Zarkz & oxenh.

    will be getting one of them the by the looks of it.

    thanks for the pointers.
     
  9. ComplicatioN

    Member ComplicatioN Broken Barriers

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    Thousand Sunny
    Country:
    Australia
    Ur Card is unfortunately a clone original R4's don't have SDHC function
     

Share This Page