Quick questions about certain parts.

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by someonewhodied, Jan 15, 2012.

Jan 15, 2012
  1. someonewhodied
    OP

    Member someonewhodied Lazy Person

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    869
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone heard any updates on Neal Tew's 3ds capture device? I can't find anything recent on it.

    and are there any unofficial 3ds replacement shells yet? I want a purple 3ds =3.
     
  2. YamiHoshi.nl

    Member YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Why not asking him about that?
    I mean, my colleague is having great contact with Neal, and even to him, he only says he's making process.
    We're the first people to know about the process, so there won't be more information, until I say so.
     
  3. celcodioc

    Member celcodioc Major A$$hole

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    Sweden
    Wasn't his capture device for the original DS? Since the 3DS actually uses a real GPU unlike the earlier systems, I doubt modifying the device to work on the 3DS would be easy...
     
  4. YamiHoshi.nl

    Member YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    He already finished the DS Capture one a while ago for the public, but it doesn't mean he's not working on the 3DS Capture Device.
    Actually, it's only thanks to us that he's making one, as we've requested him to make one, 2 months before the Japanese launch, and he started to make it on day 1 since USA launch.
    Also, it's also thanks to me in special that the whole world knows about the fact he's working on a 3DS Capture Device (plus I'm the one who leaked 2 prototype photo's, but we're asked to not do that until he says so).
     
  5. YamiHoshi.nl

    Member YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Update:
    I'll be Beta Testing it in a few weeks.
    It won't be able to do any video recording yet, but it can do screenshots, according to Loopy.
     
  6. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    So, that's hardware then?
     
  7. YamiHoshi.nl

    Member YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    The Capture Device is hardware that needs to be soldered on the 3DS.
    According to Loopy, the soldering must be no problem for a first timer, and the only tricky part, is putting the 3DS back together.
     
  8. YamiHoshi.nl

    Member YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    It won't be soldered, until Sunday.
    In the meantime, just enjoy the not installed version of 3DS Capture Device.
    Image: http://www.cw-server.eu/files/images/CTR-CAPT-1.cwgi

    Sorry for the crappy quality, the photo was taken with my PS Vita.
     
  9. camus24

    Newcomer camus24 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Colombia
    Can anybody tell me what the function of the 3ds capture device, what is the main function?? it allow the 3ds to connect in a tv or pc o I'm wrong?
     
  10. YamiHoshi.nl

    Member YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Just like you, and the name, say.
     
  11. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    Oh give him a direct answer will you >:/
    A capture device (or capture card) is used to record the data being transfered to the screen, pretty much allowing you to directly record your gameplay right off the screen without using a cammera or something like that. Think of it as fraps for 3DS. And no it doesn't connect your 3DS to a TV or PC.
     
  12. YamiHoshi.nl

    Member YamiHoshi.nl I'm MKGirlism.

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Actually, it does (TV: HDMI, PC: USB).
     

Share This Page