Quick question does R4 comes in different version?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by jikah, Aug 1, 2007.

Aug 1, 2007
  1. jikah
    OP

    Newcomer jikah Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, I am a newbie here and I was wondering is there an english version and chinese version of R4, or is it all just the same (only 1 version for all)?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Zombie_Mario

    Member Zombie_Mario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Country:
    United States
    Their software comes in:

    English
    Chinese
    Korean
    French


    Edit: Are you talking about the product itself or the firmware updates?
     
  3. jikah
    OP

    Newcomer jikah Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    So technically I can buy a chinese R4 package and dl the english software to make it the same

    as if I buy the english R4, right?
     
  4. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    The version number dictates the functions that are available in the R4. There are different languages that are released at different times. In short, v1.11 will come out with all the same features but with different languages at different times with differences in time changing depending the R4 team.
     
  5. Zombie_Mario

    Member Zombie_Mario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Country:
    United States
    Hopefully someone else can clarify this. I know for sure you can do what you want to do though.
     
  6. jikah
    OP

    Newcomer jikah Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I am planning to buy an R4, but some sites or dealers just doesn't make known (display on their site) if the R4 is chinese or english or ect. Thats why I asked the question.
     
  7. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    Ooooooooooh, you're talking about hardware. Well, there is a chinese and english version. You must ask because the Chinese version is physically different from the English version. I don't know if there are other languages that are locked. Maybe the English version supports French, for example? I suspect that because the iQue has character sets, and therefore Chinese games cannot be played on the DS.
     
  8. illuminarok

    Newcomer illuminarok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    East, TN
    Country:
    United States
  9. bouzekry

    Newcomer bouzekry Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    France
    i tried it and it works fine [​IMG]
     
  10. jikah
    OP

    Newcomer jikah Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Cool, thanks guys! [​IMG]

    Soldering is easy enough to do so that I dont have to worry which version i will buy.
     
  11. Spikey

    Member Spikey Your Special Someone

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,284
    Country:
    United States
    All the new ones don't have those spots on them anymore... they have long since been removed...
     
  12. jikah
    OP

    Newcomer jikah Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Aww! back to square one. Gotta find a reputable dealer that clearly states English R4.
     
  13. Zombie_Mario

    Member Zombie_Mario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Country:
    United States
    Why do you just get it from realhotstuff? That's where I got mine from.
     
  14. L_o_N_e_R

    Member L_o_N_e_R GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    AFAIK new ones dont have the m3 coverter but has the chinese one...

    idk lemmie check lol
     
  15. roguetrip

    Member roguetrip GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    You can buy a chinese card cheaper, then patch the english kernel to work on the chinese card, its what most of the guys do with them.

    If you can search my username, i have a thread that gives the link to the patcher for kernel 1.11 to work with chinese R4.

    you drop your _DS_MENU.DAT in the directory with the program
    start the program and it will ask if you want to patch it to m3, say NO
    next it will ask if you want to patch it work on chinese or japanese, say chinese
    finally it will ask if you want to auto dectect sav file size, input whatever you want, i don't change it and just put no.

    Then just copy the new _DS_MENU.DAT over to the microsd card with the rest of the kernel your using.

    EDIT: link to the post for newest patcher: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=564...ndpost&p=722139
     
  16. illuminarok

    Newcomer illuminarok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    East, TN
    Country:
    United States
  17. roguetrip

    Member roguetrip GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Well, everything from DealExtreme.com said it didn't work when they shorted the land area's, but i looked into my R4DS and see the area (mine was just ordered about 1month ago so i believe its 3rd gen), i pulled out my solder iron and shorted the land area's together, removed the patched kernel with the original and tried to boot it up...........................SUCCESS!!!! This rocks now, but be warned, they say that warranty is voided if you open the R4DS, but i figure i've had mine long enough to know if its gonna work fine for me. So i figure if you order a chinese card, used patched firmware for atleast a week or so to make sure its gonna work okay for ya.

    Thanks for info! Patching was a bit of a hassle anyways!
     
  18. arsehat

    Member arsehat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Australia

    I've examined units ordered from DealExtreme about one month ago and about two months ago, and the ones ordered a month ago seem to have had the R4/M3 and Chinese/English pads in place - and I think had "R6" painted on the board near the "06 48" - the ones ordered a month before that were marked "R5" on the board in that same place, and didn't have ANY of the solder pads, but they weren't potted so someone with a steady hand and some fine wire would have been able to bridge pin 6 up from the bottom on the left of the chip (I *think* that's the one, anyway...) to GND.

    I purchased a dark grey English one a while back from a local mail-order supplier (gamerswonder) and that was marked "RC" I think, and has all four sets of pads.

    Does anyone have a definitive listing of board revisions and the language and brand variant they were found in?

    I haven't had a good look, but they're only double-sided boards rather than multi-layer aren't they?

    Are there any through-board connections under the chip, perhaps that are present on the potted or padless versions of the R4 but which aren't present on the versions with the pads? I'm wondering if that's how they do the language and type settings on the padless ones.
     
  19. illuminarok

    Newcomer illuminarok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    East, TN
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page