Hacking Quick question does R4 comes in different version?

jikah

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi, I am a newbie here and I was wondering is there an english version and chinese version of R4, or is it all just the same (only 1 version for all)?

Thanks!

jikah

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So technically I can buy a chinese R4 package and dl the english software to make it the same

as if I buy the english R4, right?

leetdude_007

Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
The version number dictates the functions that are available in the R4. There are different languages that are released at different times. In short, v1.11 will come out with all the same features but with different languages at different times with differences in time changing depending the R4 team.

jikah

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I am planning to buy an R4, but some sites or dealers just doesn't make known (display on their site) if the R4 is chinese or english or ect. Thats why I asked the question.

leetdude_007

Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Ooooooooooh, you're talking about hardware. Well, there is a chinese and english version. You must ask because the Chinese version is physically different from the English version. I don't know if there are other languages that are locked. Maybe the English version supports French, for example? I suspect that because the iQue has character sets, and therefore Chinese games cannot be played on the DS.

illuminarok

Newcomer
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
deleted
r4dshack4yg0.jpg

jikah

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Cool, thanks guys!
bow.gif

Soldering is easy enough to do so that I dont have to worry which version i will buy.

roguetrip

Trophies
XP
Country
United States