Questions about updating and CFW

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by pengewl421, Jul 24, 2017.

1. pengewl421
    OP

pengewl421 Member

Newcomer
    Jul 24, 2017
    United States
    Hello, I'm trying to get some answers for some questions about updating to 11.5 and installing CFW on my New 3DS. My 3Ds is currently at 11.3.

First off, I already hacked my 3DS and I have homebrew installed with Soundhax (And obviously other games and emulators with it) I wanna install CFW but I don't know if having already homebrew installed if it would affect anything.
    I'm fairly new to 3DS hacking.

My question is: Does updating to 11.5 (or 11.4 as I stated before I am a noob at this stuff), have any more or better benefits then 11.3? And can you even get CFW on these newer versions? And I do want freeshop IF possible. I don't know any other benefits of CFW!

2nd question: Will getting CFW, or updating affect anything I currently have, and is there any way I can keep/update it?

Sorry if I sound noobish. Thanks

2. proflayton123

proflayton123 Undeclared Shitposter 2.1

Jan 11, 2016
    Japan
    日本
    1) You can get CFW on 11.3 as its more easier opposed to 11.4/11.5. Soundhax is a userland exploit but 11.3 has a kernel exploit. Id ideally tell you to follow https:3ds.guide like anyone else would.
    2) Yes its possible to update with CFW you won't brick/lose it. CFW has many benefits, too many to explain :P - Getting CFW will not affect anything with installing it brick wise, but other things you do yourself e.g playing a game online before release can have a ban imposed.

Anymore questions feel free to ask

3. Lilith Valentine

Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Wolfdog™ ☠️Grunt☠️

Sep 13, 2009
    Antarctica
    Between insane and insecure
    Ok first, if you are having issues installing a CFW, check out The Guide. That's the best place to start and has most of the basic troubleshooting you will ever need.