Hacking Question about using 2tb external

Bernhard

Psycho
OP
Member
Joined
May 2, 2016
Messages
825
Trophies
0
XP
1,361
Country
United States
Hello there tempers :) !

i ve read that only 1 tb can be used in external usb ?
i ve thought about that...
and i dont know if it works
if i formate 1 tb in fat 32 and another 1 tb in ntfc(the other fileformat i dont know how it is called so pls dont blame me xD )

i hope someone can give me a good answer to my question :)
best regards :D
 

defrb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
232
Trophies
1
XP
589
Country
Netherlands
Hello there tempers :) !

i ve read that only 1 tb can be used in external usb ?
i ve thought about that...
and i dont know if it works
if i formate 1 tb in fat 32 and another 1 tb in ntfc(the other fileformat i dont know how it is called so pls dont blame me xD )

i hope someone can give me a good answer to my question :)
best regards :D
A bit late. but better late then never :) Lately i format a 3TB hd with "guiformat" 64K clusters in FAT. And my ps3 3 slim 2.xxx is able to see the full 3TB disk. You can also format as ntfs and fat as partitions but that will need another program, ntfs seems to be better for the ps2 emu on slim consoles. But when you dont really care for ps2 or have a seperate ps2 console, i would just format it as fat, with the "guiformat" tool.

Goodday!
 
Last edited by defrb,

Bernhard

Psycho
OP
Member
Joined
May 2, 2016
Messages
825
Trophies
0
XP
1,361
Country
United States
A bit late. but better late then never :) Lately i format a 3TB hd with "guiformat" 64K clusters in FAT. And my ps3 3 slim 2.xxx is able to see the full 3TB disk. You can also format as ntfs and fat as partitions but that will need another program, ntfs seems to be better for the ps2 emu on slim consoles. But when you dont really care for ps2 or have a seperate ps2 console, i would just format it as fat, with the "guiformat" tool.

Goodday!

thanks for response!
you re right better late than never !

so you can play games just fine? even with 3tb external hdd? :D this is amazing!
 

kumikochan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2015
Messages
3,753
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Tongeren
XP
3,311
Country
Belgium
Hello there tempers :) !

i ve read that only 1 tb can be used in external usb ?
i ve thought about that...
and i dont know if it works
if i formate 1 tb in fat 32 and another 1 tb in ntfc(the other fileformat i dont know how it is called so pls dont blame me xD )

i hope someone can give me a good answer to my question :)
best regards :D
Yeah i've been using a 4tb single partition drive
 

Ohgr

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
152
Country
United States
Can someone tell me exactly what drive to get. I have 2 4tb drives that just do not work. Can't format larger than 2tb MBR. Also as either fat32 or ntfs the drives are not visible to me on PS3
 

kumikochan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2015
Messages
3,753
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Tongeren
XP
3,311
Country
Belgium
Can someone tell me exactly what drive to get. I have 2 4tb drives that just do not work. Can't format larger than 2tb MBR. Also as either fat32 or ntfs the drives are not visible to me on PS3
Well, it used to be 1.5 tb per drive max. With a lot of tinkering in the past i managed to format it as a single 4tb fat 32 drive wich was a bother to do
 

defrb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
232
Trophies
1
XP
589
Country
Netherlands
Check out guiformat, i had also troubles formatting, till i used that tiny program. Also it seems to be best to have a 2.0 usb drive, not 100% sure but i had troubles with 3.0 card readers, it only "eat" usb 2.0 it seemed.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: I dont think a candle is ever going to work on there.