Question about Game Speed

Discussion in 'EDGE' started by AmyGrrl, Dec 12, 2008.

Dec 12, 2008

Question about Game Speed by AmyGrrl at 2:30 AM (1,728 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. AmyGrrl
    OP

    Newcomer AmyGrrl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Canada
    I bought a EDGE last week. My first ever flashcart. I really like the EDGE and how easy it is to use. My question is... Most of the games run good but some seem a little choppy to me. I wanted to know if this is normal (like does the choppy-ness happen when playing from an original cart) or this was due to the Micro SDHC Card. I bought a 8GB Kingston Micro SDHC Card. Does the transfer rate of the Micro SDHC Card affect the Game's Speed (Not being able to read the data fast enough). I was thinking of buying a ATP Card that has a transfer rate of 22.5MB/s. I don't want to spend any more money if it won't make a difference.
     
  2. moodswinger

    Member moodswinger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Philippines
    Can you tell us what specifically these games are? We can't really tell if it's normal or not if we don't know what games are you playing. Games which were known to have slow downs doesn't occur on my EDGE, like the Castlevanias. [​IMG]
     
  3. AmyGrrl
    OP

    Newcomer AmyGrrl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Canada
    I can only think of 2 that seemed slow to me.... Rayman DS and I tried the new Call of Duty - WaW... I haven't played that many games on it yet...

    But...judging by your responce... it sounds like the transfer rate of the Micro SDHC Card doesn't make that much of a difference...
     
  4. AmyGrrl
    OP

    Newcomer AmyGrrl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Canada
    Please can someone answer this. I really want to know if the speed of the SDHC Card will make any difference.
     
  5. violent

    Newcomer violent Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    I have an edge card on the way ill tell you my results with a class 2 8gb sandisk
     
  6. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its best to get a class 6 card from what i hear
     
  7. violent

    Newcomer violent Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    yeah but price
     
  8. Tall Alien

    Banned Tall Alien Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    rayman ds has bad framerate, you can fall through walls at some levels

    game is still playable tho
     
  9. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dude, a 8gb SDHC card class 6 costs less than a DS game.
     
  10. violent

    Newcomer violent Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    i cant afford a ds only reason i have one is cause i got it for my birthday.

    but no slow downs thus far on my class 2 card. writing took awhile but its all good


    Edit:oh DS GAME.... well i couldnt find any at all let alone resonable priced. found class 4 for 40 which is more than double i paid for my class 2.
     
  11. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you got ripped off there...... even in rip off Britain I can find a 8gb class 6 transcend for £10 (about $20)
     
  12. violent

    Newcomer violent Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    i paid like 18 for my class 2 im happy with it. no slow downs in games except castlevania por freezes.
     
  13. Big Green

    Newcomer Big Green Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    I have a Class 4 4 Gig Kingston for only 9 something at DX(It dropped to 8 just two days after I bought it.)
     

Share This Page