Hacking Question about 360 chip and updating

elcarajos666

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
101
Country
Mexico
Hi, I just bought a 360 Fat, and the seller said to me the 360 has LT 3.0, runs original games and backup games without problems. I want to play online and update this Xbox, is there any risk of ban or the chip is going to be deleted? Has 2.0.17559.0 Interface, I am new hacking on 360, it's my first time I own a 360.
 

magico29

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2017
Messages
1,581
Trophies
0
XP
1,777
Country
United States
Did you ask the seller? ask him first. He is the person who knows how/what he installed on it. Maybe you will lose the LT if the xbox360 gets udpate, you need to erase the LT 3.0 from the dvd drive before update , install Microsoft update and then reinstall the LT 3.0.You will need to do that every time a new dashboard update comes out.
But ask the seller and find out before try anything, you could either lose the LT or get banned if you go online and try to update if the xbox360 doesnt have any protection.
 

elcarajos666

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
101
Country
Mexico
Did you ask the seller? ask him first. He is the person who knows how/what he installed on it. Maybe you will lose the LT if the xbox360 gets udpate, you need to erase the LT 3.0 from the dvd drive before update , install Microsoft update and then reinstall the LT 3.0.You will need to do that every time a new dashboard update comes out.
But ask the seller and find out before try anything, you could either lose the LT or get banned if you go online and try to update if the xbox360 doesnt have any protection.
I'm sorry, I am new on hacking 360. How do I reinstall LT? Is there a tutorial how can I reinstall LT and update the 360? I asked to the seller and he told me it's fine to playing online, there is no risk of banning. He told me also has LT 3.0 as far he remembers.
Tomorrow I will remplace thermal paste, so I will check what chip it's installed. How do I know what chip has installed?
 

magico29

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2017
Messages
1,581
Trophies
0
XP
1,777
Country
United States
I'm sorry, I am new on hacking 360. How do I reinstall LT? Is there a tutorial how can I reinstall LT and update the 360? I asked to the seller and he told me it's fine to playing online, there is no risk of banning. He told me also has LT 3.0 as far he remembers.
Tomorrow I will remplace thermal paste, so I will check what chip it's installed. How do I know what chip has installed?
I answered your questions/doubts, i told you to ask the seller and collect as much info as you can from him, if you dont get me what i need to know i can't help you.
Have you been online?
Is the xbox banned?
LT doen't require any chip to be installed, you need to connect your dvd drive to your pc and you need the tools and the program to do that. But i cant point you to any direction if you dont get what i need.
Next time buying ask questions before buy anything please.


its recommended to flash your xbox to stock before updating your dashboard cause it may lead you to getting banned online but if you are already banned online or dont care about online there are no risk.
 

elcarajos666

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
101
Country
Mexico
I answered your questions/doubts, i told you to ask the seller and collect as much info as you can from him, if you dont get me what i need to know i can't help you.
Have you been online?
Is the xbox banned?
LT doen't require any chip to be installed, you need to connect your dvd drive to your pc and you need the tools and the program to do that. But i cant point you to any direction if you dont get what i need.
Next time buying ask questions before buy anything please.


its recommended to flash your xbox to stock before updating your dashboard cause it may lead you to getting banned online but if you are already banned online or dont care about online there are no risk.
No, I haven't been online yet.
No, the console isn't banned.
I asked before buying and he just told me that.
I haven't updated yet neither. All I just did was test backup 360 games and original and worked both.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

isn't 17599 the latest? it's been a long time, but from what I remember, you don't have to reinstall or uninstall the dvd firmware unless it was 13599.
How can I know what version I have? Do I have to connect it to the PC and use a tool?
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,074
Trophies
1
XP
15,185
Country
United States
isn't 17599 the latest? it's been a long time, but from what I remember, you don't have to reinstall or uninstall the dvd firmware unless it was 13599.
 

magico29

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2017
Messages
1,581
Trophies
0
XP
1,777
Country
United States
No, I haven't been online yet.
No, the console isn't banned.
I asked before buying and he just told me that.
I haven't updated yet neither. All I just did was test backup 360 games and original and worked both.
how do you know is not banned if you haven't been online?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

No, I haven't been online yet.
No, the console isn't banned.
I asked before buying and he just told me that.
I haven't updated yet neither. All I just did was test backup 360 games and original and worked both.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


How can I know what version I have? Do I have to connect it to the PC and use a tool?
you dont need to connect anything to pc to know your dashboard version.
http://www.consolerepairguy.com/check-your-xbox-360-kernel-or-dashboard-version
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,074
Trophies
1
XP
15,185
Country
United States
No, I haven't been online yet.
No, the console isn't banned.
I asked before buying and he just told me that.
I haven't updated yet neither. All I just did was test backup 360 games and original and worked both.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


How can I know what version I have? Do I have to connect it to the PC and use a tool?

iirc, you can use jungle flasher to check the firmware version, but if you mean dash kernel, it's in system settings. I think you're fine. is it asking you to update or something?
 

elcarajos666

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
101
Country
Mexico
iirc, you can use jungle flasher to check the firmware version, but if you mean dash kernel, it's in system settings. I think you're fine. is it asking you to update or something?
Not really. I just want to update it and also want to play online some games, and know if there is any risk of ban using backup games.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

never been banned, but I'd imagine you'd get a message signing in.
Yeah, sometimes.
 

magico29

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2017
Messages
1,581
Trophies
0
XP
1,777
Country
United States
2 options now.
1-Go online and try to update dashboard and see if backups still working.
2- Get info from the seller cause he knows what he did before sold the console.
its up to you now.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,074
Trophies
1
XP
15,185
Country
United States
there's a new update? backups will probably still work. I have the last several update NAND flashes on my pc:

upload_2020-6-11_23-46-4.png
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
24,074
Trophies
1
XP
15,185
Country
United States
yes, it's the only way to know for sure. I know you can use I think the serial number to unlock parental settings by filling out this small form online. I don't know about checking if you're banned in some way.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://pcsx2.net/download/releases/windows.html Vlkan on the nightly build kicks ass