Qualified testers needed

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by WiiPower, Dec 1, 2008.

Dec 1, 2008

Qualified testers needed by WiiPower at 4:22 PM (3,412 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I want to find out which of the games not working with the cIOS36rev7, work with cIOS37 or cIOS55. For this purpose i have written a multi cios_installer which modifies IOS36, IOS37 and IOS55. This installer lets you choose between IOS36 and IOS37 dip(IOS55 dip is incompatible with the patch) and where to install the cIOS. There's a slight chance some of the newer games will work with cIOS37 or dcIOS55. Rock Band for example seems to work with cIOS37. Please post only about games which require a newer IOS than IOS36, the old games not working like Red Steel need to be patched to use IOS249(or wherever the cIOS is installed). The new Need for Speed does not work with this dcIOS55, a new dip is required for this.

    Notes:
    - There's no trucha support for IOS55, and don't ask me to do this, my coding skills are very limited
    - Just use 1:1 copies: decryption, update removing, brickblocking and whatever cause only problems
    - You can see the required IOS in SoftChip while booting("IOS requested by the game:") and with Wiidiscinfo
    - i call the cIOS55 from this installer dirty custom IOS(dcIOS), because it does not use its own dip
    - online and offline installation supported, look at the readme.txt


    Requirements for testers:
    - 3 or more backups working
    - 0 or less bad burn problems in the past
    - knowledge about how to compile SoftChip
    - handling of multiple installed cIOS
    - basic understanding of what this installer does
    - not being a pirate

    If you don't fulfill all of these requirements, please don't ask me for help, just be patient and wait for the results


    Download:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/170220766/mult...er0.21.zip.html

    Please feel free to upload the installer elsewhere!

    -------------------------------------------------------------
    -------------------------------------------------------------
    -------------------------------------------------------------
    Results:

    working
    Rock Band works with cIOS37(requires IOS37)


    not working
    Need for Speed Undercover does not work with dcIOS55
     


  2. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I hope this gives useful results, i love progress [​IMG]


    SOFTCHIP FTW! [​IMG]
     
  3. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    I could help, but I bricked my wii yesterday.... With a bad channel....
    ...Waiting for triwing to take apart my gc pad to use the recovery-mode using savemiifrii.
    I'm sure at the end of the week I can test your multi cios installer, which is quiet a good idea, I guess.

    Although I'm running on patched IOS37 for some time, now and I experience same issues as on IOS36 with same games...
     
  4. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] no starfall? ah well i guess it's more of a choice not a mandatory thing to do.
    after you fix it you might wanna starfall it.
     
  5. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Hey Wiipower... got a question...
    Couldn't you just patch the games to use a different IOS with Waninkoko's IOS Version Patcher v1.1 before you burn them?

    -Kitt050383
     
  6. IronMask

    Member IronMask Official WiiStuntman First to Test ciosCorp!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Location:
    Somewhere in USA
    Country:
    United States
    Dude that sucks...seems like alot of us banner editing fools and experimenters have bricked there shit... When I saw Forsaekn had done it a couple times I starfalled both of my Wii's... hope that helps me if it come close to one.. and the way I tinker around... damn I hope I didn't just jinx myself! Doh!
     
  7. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    You remember installing starfall.... ? not ringing any bells... ? oh wait, you didn't install it [​IMG]

    starfall your wii man [​IMG]
     
  8. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I could, but i'm interested in newer games. The games which need to be patched are the old ones(as far as i know). Oh, and i prefer REAL 1:1 copies, i still want to add on the fly patching for this, but it's more complicated as it seemed first. Waninkoko's IOS Version Patcher patches the tmd inside the dvd. It seems that the games load the tmd themself, there's no way to hand it over to the game for now.
     
  9. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the fast reply Wiipower....

    k... gotcha...

    Well I meet your requirements I'll test it out for you....

    -kitt050383
     
  10. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    0 or less bad burns? Thats pretty strict.
     
  11. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    so it's older games that need testing with cios37 and newer ones that need testing on dcios55 and cios36?
     
  12. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    No, the old games don't need to be tested, you could test them patched with Waninkoko's IOS Version Patcher, but i'm more interested in newer games.


    Please always add the IOS requested by the game, thank you

    PS: cIOS36 is unchanged from WiiGator's one
     
  13. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    ok i will see about getting some new games this week sometime to test, i take new releases will be needing testing most of all for this.
     
  14. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ive about 60 backups with only 3 bad burns (2 of which were SSBB DL) I dont really care Im too busy to help you anyways, but 0 still seems strict ^^
     
  15. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    3 out of 60 sounds good, but if i wrote write something else in the 1st post, the people with 50% or more bad burns would flood the thread with games working with cIOS36. Sorry for being negative.
     
  16. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    plus SSBB DL doesn't count....that game as a whole is a pain.
     
  17. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    lol wiipower you know im good [​IMG] i tested the cios 55 already yesterday if you have somthing new im always on softchip channel
     
  18. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    Well... I have starfall installed... but as i didn't have a gc pad, I didn't patch the recovery mode...
    ...I know... bummer.... a big one... But I have all other starfall patches at place. So I think when I get a gc pad tomorrow, I'll try the savemefrii method to get into recovery mode and then hopefully, my original zelda will autoboot...
    If not, I'll get me a modchip.

    So after I'm back again, I'm going to test out the multi ios patcher.
     
  19. Tgames

    Member Tgames GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    France
  20. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany

Share This Page