Pushmo/Pullblox Level Editor

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by elisherer, Jan 9, 2012.

Jan 9, 2012

Pushmo/Pullblox Level Editor by elisherer at 7:35 PM (10,889 Views / 4 Likes) 50 replies

  1. elisherer
    OP

    Member elisherer I ♥ 3DS

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    778
    Location:
    3dbrew.org
    Country:
    Israel
    Just finished making it...

    Website: http://code.google.c...hmoleveleditor/


    [​IMG]

    Functions:

    * Open from QR Code
    * Make QR Code / Card
    * Load/Save in a binary format
    * Import from a picture
    * Full 'Pushmo Studio' editing...

    To come:

    * Translations
    * Undo / Redo

    Release Log:

    v1.3.1

    * fixed check for updates on startup
    * fixed new file saving bug
    v1.3
    * Accurate palette (thanks to dukesrg)

    * Language file is the same as 1.1.9
    v1.2
    * Added modification by caitsith2 for the Palette editor
    * Fixed a localization bug..where ini in folders are read too..
    * About box updated..
    v1.1.9
    * Added checking for updates (can be disabled)
    * Retro palette is now accurate (thanks caitsith2)
    * Changed manhole logic: Upside-down determined by the location
    * All pushmo's flags are now documented
    * Added 'Large' flag in the properties (doesn't seem to matter)
    * Fixed some bugs
    v1.1.7
    * Added credits for more sources
    * Added localization
    * Added show grid checkbox
    * Modified the look of the QR Card (nicer)
    * Modified the workspace for background and transperancy
    v1.1.5
    * fixed: transparency when importing
    * fixed: pullout switches change of color
    * added: save button
    v1.1.0
    * fixed: error when dragging to away from the top or the left
    * fixed: error when loading a picture which Height > Width
    * fixed: error when importing a picture, palette doesn't update
     
    4 people like this.


  2. frogboy

    Member frogboy lacking both style and grace

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,249
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome! *gets to work*
     
  3. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    This is absolutely amazing! Great work, my friend. ^_^

    I found a small bug though. If you click and drag off the chart you get a unhandled exception 'out of array bounds' error. The program doesn't crash though, so you can probably just ignore it. :P
     
  4. vashgs

    Member vashgs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    United States
    I'll work on getting your exact values for you later, Eli :) Nice release, buddy! The picture importing still needs a bit of work, it looks like. Looks like you're using the logic we discussed last night :)

    EDIT: Import from image seemed to work perfectly for me ;) I'll keep trying to produce the errors others are experiencing and see if I can pinpoint it in your code.
     
  5. frogboy

    Member frogboy lacking both style and grace

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,249
    Country:
    United States
    Whenever I get this error, it's always on the same picture. I've only gotten the error on one picture, I'm not sure if it's a compatibility issue with certain file types or something else completely.
     
  6. elisherer
    OP

    Member elisherer I ♥ 3DS

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    778
    Location:
    3dbrew.org
    Country:
    Israel
    its being fixed don't worry about it:

    * error when dragging to away from the top or the left: FIXED
    * error when loading a picture which Height > Width: FIXED
    * error when importing a picture, palette doesn't update: FIXED

    new version soon...
     
  7. elisherer
    OP

    Member elisherer I ♥ 3DS

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    778
    Location:
    3dbrew.org
    Country:
    Israel
    v1.1
    * fixed: error when dragging to away from the top or the left
    * fixed: error when loading a picture which Height > Width
    * fixed: error when importing a picture, palette doesn't update
     
  8. celcodioc

    Member celcodioc Major A$$hole

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    Sweden
    Another great program, good job eli :D

    But hey, why did you remove that dynamically colored pullout switch icon? It was in r11...
    EDIT: And a suggestion: A regular "Save" feature, it's kinda annoying to have a dialog pop up every time you want to save something...
     
  9. Achilles

    Member Achilles GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    United States
    Holy freakin' awesome! GREAT WORK! The only issues I see so far are an incorrect color pallete (importing an image looks great in your app, but the colors are wrong in the game) and adding a "save" feature would be great so we don't need to write out QR codes any time we want to save our in-progress level.
     
  10. elisherer
    OP

    Member elisherer I ♥ 3DS

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    778
    Location:
    3dbrew.org
    Country:
    Israel
    Sorry for the mess..now it's 1.15...
     
  11. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Just 'save as' bin file and 'open bin' to retrieve it.

    Also, the color pallete of the game is very limited so the app has to approximate color values. (The adjustment could be made in real time though) I think we're spoiled enough as it is though, this is so awesome.

    Lol, 2000 snail droppings ^_^

    :grog:

     
    1 person likes this.
  12. Seaking

    Member Seaking GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    857
    Country:
    United States
    ladders do not work correctly in game, choosing an upside down one on the program makes a normal ladder in game.
     
  13. caitsith2

    Member caitsith2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    a secret location 93 million miles from the sun
    Country:
    Canada
    Bug fix for you. Bug is if you zoom the QR code preview, then move the mouse into the right or bottom half of the preview image.

    Code:
    private void pictureBox_MouseMove(object sender, MouseEventArgs e)
    {
    var clr = _bmp.GetPixel(e.X / (btnZoomIn.Checked ? 2 : 1), e.Y / (btnZoomIn.Checked ? 2 : 1));
    lblColor.Text = string.Format("RGBA({0},{1},{2},{3})", clr.R, clr.G, clr.B, clr.A);
    }
    
    While we are at it, inside of btnZoomIn_Click, at the end of the existing code, insert this line.

    Code:
    btnZoomIn.ToolTipText = (btnZoomIn.Checked ? "Zoom Out" : "Zoom In");
    
     
  14. tlyee61

    Member tlyee61 le dancing Tyranitar~

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for all the hard work elisherer!
    Here's a Pushmo QR I made of a shiny Giratina origin forme from Pokemon:
    [​IMG]
     
  15. caitsith2

    Member caitsith2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    a secret location 93 million miles from the sun
    Country:
    Canada
    Actually they do. Chances are, the game is enforcing its rules on what type of ladder it is. Its an upside down, if and only if it is placed on the bottom side of a block, that has at least one other block of the same color above it, otherwise, its right side up. This means, if you placed an upside down ladder on a block that is only one pixel wide vertically, the game is going to render it as a right side up ladder instead, when you go to actually play the level.
     
  16. Seaking

    Member Seaking GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    857
    Country:
    United States
    ah! i did not know that :( thanks.
     
  17. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    This might make my buy this game. But I wanna save for in case there is a new VC release that I may want. ._.
     
  18. Majorami

    Banned Majorami Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Does this allow you to "cheat the system" by any chance to allow the game's engine to load a level that features more than 8 colors, or multiple pull-out buttons?
     
  19. caitsith2

    Member caitsith2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    a secret location 93 million miles from the sun
    Country:
    Canada
    No chance of that, and max colors is 10, not 8.

    Multiple pull-outs of the same color? For that, intentionally make more than one of your pallete entries the same color, then you can use that many pull outs of that color.

    The one system you can cheat though, is the level editing/sharing lock.
     
  20. elisherer
    OP

    Member elisherer I ♥ 3DS

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    778
    Location:
    3dbrew.org
    Country:
    Israel
    Thanks... this is the same imagebox from 3dsexplorer...i guess i havnt zoom ever...


     

Share This Page