1. Mayaaaaa

    OP Mayaaaaa Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    Hey !

    I recently bought a Mariko Switch, with the project to use it for Switch games as well as Emulation (PS1, GameCube, Wii, Nintendo 64, PSP, GBA...) on the go and at home.

    I can get a SX core and have it installed, yet I'm utterly confused.

    With 3DS there were plenty of tutorials and you knew where to look in order to understand everything, the Switch is much more of a difficulty.

    I see that some homebrew are labelled "Must have" yet I see that for SX OS those can cause bricks ? I wish to use emulation yet I see that SX OS doesn't support Overclock which is used for PSP, GC and some PS1 games !

    Also, can the SX core + Overclock for emulation (a bit only) damage the console ? Should I wait to see if a Software hack is developped ? (It always happens, our devs are that good). I just don't want to put a modchip in and be left in the dust like the Gateway was when BL9 was discovered... But at the same time I really want to have an emulation console on the go and play some Zelda/Pokemon !

    I think if someone could make a tutorial for Modchipped Mariko it would help so many people, I would thank them for sure !
     
  2. MajinChibi

    MajinChibi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Germany
    Was in the same situation, but reading the release threads of the software usually contains all needed information. (but not always in the start thread)

    1.
    Overclock:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/sys-clk-under-overclocking-sysmodule.531372/

    "How do I use it?

    Installation is pretty straightforward - just copy the config and atmosphere folders at the root of your SD card and reboot your console.
    The sysmodule will be active and running out of the box."

    Just rename "atmosphere" to "sxos"

    2.
    You need the Tesla overlay for OC too (respectively for showing the overlay Options)
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/tesla-the-nintendo-switch-overlay-menu.557362/

    Download nx-ovlloader.zip https://github.com/WerWolv/nx-ovlloader/releases/tag/v1.0.6
    --> Copy the content of the atmospehre folder to your sxos folder (which should be at the root of your sd)
    Download ovlmenu.zip https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Menu/releases/tag/v1.1.3
    --> Copy the switch Folder to the root of your sd

    3.
    i recommend status monitor. It Shows CPU/GPU Load Clocks and tempratures in the Overlay Menüs

    Download Status-Monitor-Overlay.ovl https://github.com/masagrator/Status-Monitor-Overlay/releases/tag/0.6.1
    --> copy the Status-Monitor-Overlay.ovl to (SDROOT)/switch/.overlays/


    To open the Overlay Menü and Show the Status/the OC options
    --> Reboot Switch with SD and hold down L and DPad Down and push on the right joy stick


    EMULATION
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/retroarch-switch.492920/


    Click on "Latest Switch builds", scroll down, download the latest Retroarch build
    Copy The two folders to the root of your SD
    Then create a new folder Called "ROMS"
    Inside that folder make a folder for every System, which you like to emulate (SNES, NES usw)
    Copy your NES games to the nes folder, your snes to the snes folder and so on.

    Put your SD Card back in the switch --> Reboot --> Album --> Homebrew --> Retroarch
    Now you can add the Systems you like to emulate
    Import content --> manual scan
    Content directory: choose the rom directory of the first system (for example /ROMS/NES/)
    System name: the Name of the system (for example Nintendo - Nintendo Entertainment system)
    Default core: which emulator should be used? (for Example Nintendo - NES / Famicom (FCEUmm)
    After that you can hit "Start scan"
    Retroarch should find all the Roms and you should get the menu entry "Nintendo Entertainment System" on the left side.
    Repeat that process for every system.
    After that, you can choose your systems and roms from the home menü of retroarch.

    Conclusion
    You can use overclocking on the mariko switch with sx core.
    You can Emulate stuff with mariko switch with sx core.
    You can use the overclock option in retroarch.
    You can watch the temprature yourself :) (if reassembled correctly, recommend to cleanup the
    thermal paste and apply something like Arctic Silver 5 or MX2, moderate overclocking shouldnt damage your switch.)

    I have not regretted it for a minute, using the sx core :)
     
    MasterJ360 likes this.
  3. MasterJ360

    MasterJ360 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,050
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah sxos can emulate just fine last game I emulated was FF7 Crises Core as an nsp, but still required Retroarch to run it.
     
  4. Mayaaaaa

    OP Mayaaaaa Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    Thanks ! That is a detailed answer ! Although I asked my local shop to do everything on the SX core... Should I ask them for the thermal paste too ? I have some artic silver 5 already
     
  5. MajinChibi

    MajinChibi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Germany
    I think it’s common to remove the standard thermal paste and applying new, when somebody removes the cooler.
    ...but to be sure: why not? :)
     
  6. squee666

    squee666 Advanced Tech Pleb
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,032
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah its standard we replace the thermal paste
     
  7. Mayaaaaa

    OP Mayaaaaa Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    I just had my SX CORE installed and I'm wondering what to do next ^^
    I'm dumping my nand as we speak, should I have updated it from 9.2 to 10.4 beforehand ? Should I have cleaned the boot 0 etc before hand ? Anyone has a guide to establish all of it ?
    I'm going to do emunand next, I know I can always update said emunand afterwards but well...
    Also, on MAC, should I format the card to exFAT ?:O
     
  8. MajinChibi

    MajinChibi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Germany
    FAT32 , exfat is known for data corruption
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Purchase,