PSP Slim Component Out...

Discussion in 'PSP - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Rydian, Feb 1, 2011.

Feb 1, 2011

PSP Slim Component Out... by Rydian at 8:35 PM (1,308 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    So my grandparents got a new HD TV and I wanted to see if I could get proper video-out from my PSP to the TV.
    PSP Slim (TA-085) with 5.50 GEN-D3 (Prome-4) using official Sony Component video cables.

    Upon trying to run Cave Story and Burnout Dominator, no signal...

    So I got the FUSA plugin from here (FuSa SD v1.0.50b).
    http://foosa.do.am/load/

    Activated it and I can play Burnout Dominator, but it's a bit slow (depending on what's on-screen), and has a graphical glitch or two (the lens flare is green and the colors look a bit washed out).
    I can play Cave Story with it as well, but it's slow in-game, and the graphics are garbled (probably from crappy upscaling).

    When playing these games the TV reports it's in 480i mode.

    How do I turn off the upscaling? I assume that's the main issue.

    I do not have composit cables.
     
  2. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    Silly question, but did you adjust the "Connected Display Settings" on the PSP? You shouldn't need to use FUSA with a component cable on an HDTV.

    edit...
    I guess I skipped the very last line assuming you had the component cable. The slowdown and color wash is from FUSA. You won't get a "perfect picture" without component cables and even then any psp games will only fill up a portion of the screen.
     
  3. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, I am using component cables.

    Okay, I checked those settings and it works just fine. ^^; Whoops. Man, games ran better than I thought they would, though I wish I could fullscreen stuff.

    Thanks. ^^
     
  4. daxtsu

    Member daxtsu -

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,288
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Does that HDTV perhaps have a zoom function? Maybe that way you can cut off the borders[at the cost of picture quality, of course..].
     
  5. kiafazool

    Member kiafazool GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    i agree with rydian

    it should've been full screen
    sony failed
     
  6. antwill

    Member antwill Better Than You

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Because I'm sure Sony should have known everyone wanted to see incredibly pixelated images that are so hard to even recognise...
     

Share This Page