PSP AV Cable Questions.

Discussion in 'PSP - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Majorami, Jan 19, 2012.

Jan 19, 2012

PSP AV Cable Questions. by Majorami at 9:45 PM (865 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Majorami
    OP

    Banned Majorami Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a noticable/performance difference between Component and Composite video cords for the PSP?

    The PSP isn't HD so I'm curious to know if there are any quality or performance drawbacks between the two types of cords. I'm also big into DJ Max, so I need to know if theres any latency/lag issues, or if my TV/cords/whatever requires progressive scan and such...

    Whats more is other than playing on my HDTV, I also wanna play it on my PC via capture cards. Do they make component video cards that support progressive scan and such? Do they make extension cables for component like they do for composite? Should I worry about blah blah blah?
     
  2. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    Component is needed to to do tv-out for games (if you of OFW)



    Composite may work if you usr the right plugin (fusaSD) so CFW is needed
     
  3. Majorami
    OP

    Banned Majorami Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    I'm CFW, but theres still the whole matter about latency/image quality issues.

    Its my understanding that Composite is Standard, and Component is HD, but the PSP isn't HD, so don't know if component is necessary for the best picture/performance.

    Also found something: http://www.etronixmart.com/lkv8000-psp-to-hdmi-converter-full-screen-display-on-hdtv-p-170.html
    Seems like the best thing for HDTV, though it be pretty expensive compared to $5 cables I can get off eBay.
     
  4. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,736
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    If you want to play it on the PC then all you need is RemoteJoy. For the TV, anything other then fusa will result in nasty quality.
     
  5. Majorami
    OP

    Banned Majorami Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Well that PSP HDMI thing boasts that it upscales games to 720 full screen, and uses its own unique cord, but its not worth $80.

    As for remoteJoy, tried it, not impressed. There are awkward lines that abstruct the visuals of the PSP image in the window, and theres a very noticable lag. Though perhaps this is my USB cord's fault (it has write speeds of 4-5 MB, so its very slow). Is it really any better if I for sure have a USB 2.0 cord?
     
  6. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,736
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    That feature is available only for the 3000 and the Go as far as I know, 2000 is excluded so keep that in mind.

    Any USB cord should suffice, really. If RemoteJoy lags then you set it up wrong.
     
  7. Majorami
    OP

    Banned Majorami Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Well it was on default settings. I didn't "set" anything. and up until literally 5 minutes ago, my 6 year old computer had only 1GB of ram, and the USB cord I do have is a low quality USB 1.0 cord I bought off ebay for 50 cents. I'm more certian that its hardware limitation's fault for lag rather than just sheer incompetance with remotejoy settings.]

    Also my USB cord is only 6 inches long, so even should It work right, I still would have issues with it. I do have USB extentions, but they make the feedback to remote joy even laggier.
     
  8. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,736
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Are you using a separate distribution of RemoteJoy or is it the one in Custom Firmware Extender? If so, which version?
     

Share This Page