PS3Break from gamekool.com !!!

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by rawdog805, Sep 21, 2010.

Sep 21, 2010
  1. rawdog805
    OP

    Newcomer rawdog805 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    They are shipping out NON WORKING PS3Break units that are knock offs of the original PS3Break.


    I ordered the PS3Break from gamekool.com, and it is not working at all... I am doing all of the proper steps, but the light will not turn on when it's connected to the ps3.. Also when I connect it to my PC it doesnt even recognize it as a USB device..

    Needless to say im pissed.. I e-mailed them about the problem, but they have not responded. Depending on whether or not they respond quickly enough to rectify this situation, I will be filing a claim via PayPal so that I can get my $30 back..

    SO guys and gals be weary of gamekool.com they are selling fakes that do not work at all and they obviously haven't even tested the units before shipping them out.
     


  2. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Did you completely shut off your ps3 with the switch in the back (or if it's a slim, with the power cable disconnected) and while it's off plugged in the usb, and then quickly pressed power and then eject?

    This is probably a PEBKAC..
     
  3. MrDiesel

    Member MrDiesel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    My PC :)
    Country:
    Belgium
    Alone by looking at the site design, I would close it immediately.

    I could be wrong though
     
  4. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Actually, Gamekool is recommend by many members on this site.. it's legit, though it is possible they can be selling false merchandise unaware.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    These jailbreak devices (and the homemade devices when in jailbreak mode) will not be recognized by a PC.

    That is normal, because they're not flash drives.
     
  6. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States

    For some strange reason, I think you missed a detail or two in the steps vs the dongle not working.
     
  7. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Just for shits and giggles what is your current firmware?
     
  8. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    I really hope this user knows how to look it up. I think you might be right =P
     
  9. rawdog805
    OP

    Newcomer rawdog805 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Im on 3.41 firmware.. I also did make sure that the switch was off on the back of the ps3.. I then plugged the USB stick in, turned the switch back on, then hit power and quickly hit eject with no disc in the drive.

    Any more suggestions..
     
  10. xmrnogatcox

    Newcomer xmrnogatcox Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    Did you make sure that there weren't any USB devices plugged in when you boot the PS3 up (OTHER than the PS3Break)?
     
  11. rawdog805
    OP

    Newcomer rawdog805 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States

    Yup..
     
  12. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    try pausing a second before hitting eject, I've heard slims require a little more of a gap than the FAT models before hitting eject
     
  13. rawdog805
    OP

    Newcomer rawdog805 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States

    i have a FAT..
     
  14. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    put a disk in.
     
  15. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    If its even broken it has nothing to do with Gamekool almost all these chinese shops are getting the PS3jailbreak devices from the same source. You are probably just setting up your stuff up wrong.
     
  16. Gobnoblin

    Member Gobnoblin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    Cambodia
    can't remember if you have to unplug the fats but i know with the slim you have to totally unplug it to begin the break process......
     
  17. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    ^backwards. OG PS3s just need to turn the back switch off. Slims needs the plug pulled
     
  18. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,294
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    You don't need a disk in on startup, at least I don't with my dingoo.

    The timing can be a bit tricky to get right when pressing eject. What I suggest until you learn the proper timing is just to press the on button and as soon as you do that tap eject a few times quickly.

    And no you don't need to unplug the phats from their power source.
     
  19. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    0.0 timing is involved? xD. Anyways I said that cause when a disk is inside you have a blue LED light on. When you eject it blinks. It's just a visual aid for those using an OG PS3.
     
  20. rawdog805
    OP

    Newcomer rawdog805 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I there was supposed to be no disc in the drive?? I'm at work right now so I can't try it.
     

Share This Page