PS3 folder's icon

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Cyan, Oct 4, 2010.

Oct 4, 2010

PS3 folder's icon by Cyan at 6:43 PM (1,692 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Cyan
    OP

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,422
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I see there's a way to group games, homebrews etc. withing a sub-folder. That folder has an icon.
    Is there a way to customize that icon ?

    For the moment, I only noticed that it took the same icon as the first application I gave the "homebrew" category.
    if I update that "main" homebrew with a one including a new icon, the folder icon is updated too.

    So, I was wondering if I could use a user defined icon without using one from an installed game/homebrew.
     
  2. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, what you can do is create a dummy homebrew (may only require folder + icon) using the icon as your formatted icon and set that to be the main one.

    I'm guessing it will work that way
     
  3. Cyan
    OP

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,422
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Thanks.

    So it's not possible natively [​IMG]
    I don't know how to make homebrew myself yet, I'll wait for a legal SDK.

    In the meantime, I'll use the current icons [​IMG]

    Or, I'll try to create an empty folder, that could work too !



    I found this topic with few homebrew icons :
    http://psx-scene.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65842

    using ftp server to modify the ICON0.PNG in the homebrew folder seems enough.
    I'll use this method to change the icon of one of my homebrews, that'll do the trick [​IMG]
     
  4. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome, thanks for the information. I was going to do something similar when I had the chance but now I see exactly what can be done!
     
  5. ChokeD

    Member ChokeD The Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    967
    Country:
    United States
    Also another option is to play around with the Firmware Launcher that is going around and edit the proper .rco for the specific folder your looking for. This could be done and wouldn't effect the individual games.
     

Share This Page