PS3 Firmware v3.55 Released

Discussion in 'PS3 - Games & Content' started by Sephxus, Dec 7, 2010.

Dec 7, 2010

PS3 Firmware v3.55 Released by Sephxus at 3:16 AM (12,273 Views / 0 Likes) 90 replies

  1. Sephxus
    OP

    Member Sephxus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Pomona, CA
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    Yes, the long awaited update finally arrives.

    Source
    Sony's Blog
     


  2. 431unknown

    Member 431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
    Who didn't see this coming? Cat and mouse time.
     
  3. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    I plan to update. Since I like my PSN+ :x
     
  4. .Chris

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Heh, all these companies getting exploits and then hoarding them for themselves, and by the time they're ready to be sent out Sony's already patched the hole. XD
     
  6. Sephxus
    OP

    Member Sephxus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Pomona, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I know. [​IMG]
     
  7. Unfortune

    Member Unfortune GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Country:
    Pakistan
    I was about to buy a PS3.
    Screw this. I'm getting a 360.
     
  8. Technik

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    Black ops online and the upcoming Lbp2? You bet i NEED my psn.
     
  9. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Has anyone tried the downgrade yet?
     
  10. gifi4

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Even if I had it, wouldn't risk it, betcha Sony's watching...
     
  11. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    The DNS method still works (set 67.202.81.137 as the primary/secondary DNS in your PS3's network settings) for now. Not that it matters as I still have a 3.15 fat ps3 for hacking purposes (I got a slim to use for psn as soon as I heard that an update that removed otheros was coming out).
     
  12. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    Some people have, and while you can still enter (and leave) service mode the downgrade itself does not work. It looks like they will need a new .pup file.
     
  13. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    upgraded

    no "hidden" secrets .. *sigh*

    could really go for some:

    Grouping friends in the XMB
    instantly opening msgs when i receive them
    faster XMB

    ... is that too much to ask for Sony huh .. i dnt want cross game chat or whatever the shit that is anyway.
     
  14. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    explain what you mean by this? and what the purpose of it is
     
  15. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Screw you, Sony. I was going to update to play some PSN, since I also knew the downgrader was out ther, but now I won't anymore. I don't want to lose the ability to use homebrew :/

    I thought it was disabled long ago?
     
  16. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    It means that if you have firmware 3.50 you can get on psn without having to update to 3.55. While it was disabled long ago for earlier firmware versions, it works fine if you are on 5.50. Note that I have not tried using the psn store yet, I just used it so I could watch Netflix without having to wait for the update to finish.
     
  17. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,441
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    They disabled the proxy method in April 2010.
    And the DNS method more recently (October I think).

    Few hours ago, I read another forum stating that the method doesn't work anymore (with fw3.41). But maybe the proxy doesn't work and DNS is.
    Or maybe the PSN allows only 3.50+, they should have a method to detect the correct firmware now (since spoofing doesn't work anymore).
    I'll try the Proxy method myself this evening (I'm on 3.41).

    ps3-updatelist.txt for 3.55 Europe :
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  18. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Let us know if it works, Cyan. I'm on 3.41 myself, and I would love some PSN [​IMG]
     
  19. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    yes if you can get PSN to work on 3.41 please eleborate, i just bought my ps3 and thought i would love it as much as my wii/psp/nds/gc once unsigned code and homebrew was enabled, but sony is now starting to make me regret my decision of purchasing the ps3
     
  20. Majin Vegeta

    Member Majin Vegeta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    Germany
    I can confirm the DNS method works perfectly on 3.50. Just bought my PS3 with 3.50 and I guess I shouldn't update too hasty.
     

Share This Page