PS2 with Chip

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Master Mo, Aug 14, 2008.

Aug 14, 2008

PS2 with Chip by Master Mo at 8:48 PM (1,917 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Master Mo
    OP

    Member Master Mo F.R.E.E.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Location:
    Man Mo Temple
    Country:
    Germany
    I got a little Problem. I have a PS2 with a Matrix Infinity chip. When I turn the PS2 on it automatically boots the chip menu.

    Now my problem is, that my memorycard is full and I need to erase some saves to make space but I have no idea how to get into the original menu, because the chip-menu is automatically booted.

    I really would appreciate if someone could help me. I have a "Shadow of the Collossus"-sessions in front of me [​IMG]

    Thanks in advance [​IMG]
     
  2. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Change boot mode to auto in the chips config. Should make it load original menu or if you don't feel like playing in the config , just hold start when you turn the ps2 on to disable the chip. Also if you hold X on bootup , it will ignore whatever it's set to and use auto mode as well (original system menu).
     
  3. Master Mo
    OP

    Member Master Mo F.R.E.E.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Location:
    Man Mo Temple
    Country:
    Germany
    Unfortunately somehow this does not work [​IMG]

    I have "auto boot" on and tried to hold start and X while pressing the power botton but the ps2 always boots the game (I`m dying to play it [​IMG]) or when I remove the disc it boots the chip-menu...

    I`m not sure what I could do wrong [​IMG]
     
  4. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Strange , never come across that problem before. Just to check , you held start or X separately right?. Not both together? , as holding down start should turn off the chip [​IMG] , I really don't know why it isn't [​IMG].
     
  5. Master Mo
    OP

    Member Master Mo F.R.E.E.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Location:
    Man Mo Temple
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, I do it separately. Once I tried holding start while turning the PS2 on and once I held the X-button.

    Strangely I don`t find anything on the whole web about this... [​IMG]

    EDIT: I found this site http://www.mod-chip.bz/PS2/matrixreadmed.html but none of the buttons do what they are suppose to when I press them while turning the sytem on... Maybe my chip is not a Matrix Infinity?! But I was told that it is...

    Maybe someone could help my, when I describe the menu: It is a blue menu with a "bm"-logo in the background. In the upper right corner there is "bm v1.7" written

    The menu has the following options:
    -boot media
    -application browser
    -memory card manager
    -configurations

    I hope someone could help me identify this chip [​IMG]

    Thanks in advance [​IMG]
     
  6. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not a matrix infinity. That's a crystal chip , what's coming up is the crystal chips boot manager. Under applications there should be something along the lines of ps2 browser , that will take you back to the ps2 screen. If it's not got it for some reason (should do as it's a default thing) , try taking out the memory card before booting the ps2 and it might go to sony menu (if the bm is installed to the card and not the crystal chips flash). If nothing still then you can disable the chip by tapping reset 6 times , but really shouldn't have to as somewhere in the bm should be the option to get back to the sony menu.
     
  7. Master Mo
    OP

    Member Master Mo F.R.E.E.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Location:
    Man Mo Temple
    Country:
    Germany
    Wow, that was it! I really thought it was a Matrix Infinity.

    I just removed the MC and the disc and I straight got into the original menu. Thank you very much Armadillo for your help [​IMG]

    Now I have some "Shadow of the Collossus"-sessions I have to catch up on [​IMG]
     

Share This Page