Professor Layton Touch Screen Problems

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by mythical77, Jan 26, 2012.

Jan 26, 2012
  1. mythical77
    OP

    Newcomer mythical77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Just redownloaded the first Professor Layton. Unfortunately, the touch screen seems to fail at random times, so I'm unable to touch anything on the screen with the stylus. Then it mysteriously works again, and then not. However, it worked before, so I'm not really sure what's going on. Using CycloDS firmware 2.3
     
  2. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Probably Anti-Piracy, seeing as the CycloDS/iEvo haven't been updated for ages.
     
  3. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't sound like anti-piracy...

    Does this happen on any other games?
     
  4. wasim

    Member wasim ♫ Music addict ♫

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    907
    Location:
    Calicut
    Country:
    India
    As sora asked, does this happen on any other game ?

    Try calibrating your touch screen ( i dunno if it's there in DSi )
     
  5. mythical77
    OP

    Newcomer mythical77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know. Most of the games I play don't use the touch screen, so I can't say.
    D'oh. Haven't thought of that. Hope it fixes things.


     
  6. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    Have you calibrated the touch screen?

    Mine was playing up on my Lite, and recalibrating fixed it...

    EDIT: never-mind...
     
  7. wasim

    Member wasim ♫ Music addict ♫

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    907
    Location:
    Calicut
    Country:
    India
     
  8. mythical77
    OP

    Newcomer mythical77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
     
  9. wasim

    Member wasim ♫ Music addict ♫

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    907
    Location:
    Calicut
    Country:
    India
     
  10. mythical77
    OP

    Newcomer mythical77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
     
  11. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Your touch layer may be going bad. They're not too difficult to replace if you're good with your hands. But if you have the resources to do so, I would try another touch screen game on this cart (Just download Colors! DS homebrew), then test the Layton game on a different card.

    http://www.dealextreme.com/p/touch-screen-replacement-module-for-nds-lite-3245
    http://www.dealextreme.com/p/cross-and-trigram-screw-drivers-2-piece-kit-for-nds-ndsl-and-wii-2905

    All you need to replace the touchscreen on a DS Lite. There is a sticky how-to in one of the DS sections (Hardware and Accessories, maybe?) showing very detailed (with pictures!) how to do a touch screen replacement.
     
  12. mythical77
    OP

    Newcomer mythical77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately, I don't trust my hands enough to do so :P. I really hope it's just my flashcart that's acting up...
     

Share This Page