Problem with game

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Shpinxis, Jan 27, 2011.

Jan 27, 2011

Problem with game by Shpinxis at 5:30 PM (1,204 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Shpinxis
    OP

    Newcomer Shpinxis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    My wii is on 3.3 and I'm trying to run monster hunter tri (the retail disc) on my wii through the loader channel. The gam eruns and everything even after blocking updates but when I try and press new game it freezes and makes a buzzing noise. I know this happened with back-up copies but this is with the original game. If I updated to 4.3 would it start working?
     
  2. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,912
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    It is safe to update to 4.3 as long as you are using the latest version of the Homebrew Channel (1.0.8). You will most likely need to reinstall any cIOS you use after the update. However, an easier method would be to install the latest version of each IOS following this guide. Skip to the part that says Update to 4.2.
     
  3. elricorico

    Newcomer elricorico Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Canada
    Which "loader channel" are you using. If it is not the latest NeoGamma, I would suggest updating NeoGamma and your cIOS 249 to one that is known to work with Monster Hunter Tri. Running a system update won't help unless you are using the actual disc channel.

    If it has been a long time since you've done any of the softmodding on your wii I would suggest using ModMii and following the suggested steps.
     
  4. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    for neogamma use cios 223 base 37
    for launch without loader you need update ios's (not sys menu)
     
  5. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands

    Guys, he's using the ORIGINAL GAME! So no need for Cios talk here.
    He just has to update his official ios.
     
  6. Shpinxis
    OP

    Newcomer Shpinxis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I just updated my wii using YAWM Multimad Batch and the game still doesnt work. I know the wii loader channel is still going to ask for an update but I'm loading through neo gamma and the same error comes up. Monster hunter tri should only be running on 4.2 correct? why is this still happening?
     
  7. Nintendo_Chick

    Member Nintendo_Chick GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Country:
    United States
    Updating passed 4.1 doesn't have any effect on any games. Try deleting your save (or moving it to an sd card.)

    Did it work at all, or did it do this the first time you tried to play?
     
  8. Shpinxis
    OP

    Newcomer Shpinxis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    ya i just tried erasing the save data because I really thought that might work because I think I still had a japanese save. But it still freezes when trying to press new game.
     
  9. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    for neogamma use cios 223 base 37
     
  10. Shpinxis
    OP

    Newcomer Shpinxis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    I have that installed but that has nothing to do with it because I have the retail copy not a back up. I'm just using neo gamma to bypass the disc update. The game still freezes for some reason as if its trying to load the japanese characters, thats what the problem was when trying to play the japanese game. Does anyone know a solution to this.
     
  11. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,542
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    You are using a retail disc? Then use gecko OS:
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Geck:wtf:S
    Everything will work perfect, I don't understand why nobody here helped you...
     
  12. Shpinxis
    OP

    Newcomer Shpinxis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    nevermind finally solved it
     

Share This Page